We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel from Italy's standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arizona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arizona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Arizona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Carlo Farini 2, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Surrey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel from Italy's standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed here in May and overall were very satisfied. The hotel is about 20 min walk from the train station or 10 Euros by taxi. The hotel is in a quieter area of Florence. This is actually a jewish neighborhood. There is a historical jewish synagoge next to the hotel. The main attractions such as duomo and the ponte vecchio are 15 min walk away. There are two super markets at 5-10 walk from the hotel.
The room itself was good size, clean and nicely maintained. The washroom had a tub which is rare for italy. Other hotels we stayed had a tiny shower only. The beds were comfortable aw well. The room had an operational AC and cooled the room well for the May temperatures. The sound proofing was good as well. The front desk staff was helpful and polite. The breakfast was good compared to other hotels we stayed in Italy. They even made minor changes in the menu on the second and the third day of our stayed, which was good. There is free wifi and even two computors in the lobby for the guests.
The family that owns the hotel works there and takes care of it. The only thing that was odd was that the owner had two little dogs that roam the lobby all the time. Some guests might mind it.
Overall for the price we paid compared to what is being offered, the hotel is a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    26
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
69
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Helpful front desk, rooms OK , location quiet ideal for walking to city .
Old TV and the thin walls made it a bit noisy .
Buffet breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: Pizza Taxi is about 5 minutes walk do lovely pizza If you driving use their car park its the cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

A nice hotel....clean, neat and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Buffet breakfast was good. This hotel is a bit of a hike from the main train station. It took us about 20 minutes each way. The neighbourhood is good and quiet. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would stay there again

Al and Charlotte Lawrence

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

My stay would have been much more pleasant had we had an airconditioner that acutally cooled the room. We had not control over the unit at all with exception to turing the power on and off and I sweated my butt off all night. Luckily we only stayed one night in Florence or I would have packed my bag and found another place. Other than the AC problem, the room was ample, had free wifi, and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed one night late July, 2011. About a €12 taxi ride from the train station. Close to the city center (well, Florence is very compact anyway). Rooms are typical European...tight. However, this is one of the few hotels which can/will accommodate 4 in one room (2 twins, 2 foldaways). Bathroom seriously sage (layout)...all 4 pieces were running into each other. Full tub/shower. AC is controlled from front desk...even then, it's a bit warm. Free wifi in room, and there are 2 desktops set up in room off of lobby. Breakfast was ample...assortment of cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, pastries, yogurt, etc. We paid €150, which is better than most (although we only paid € 73 for a hotel at Malpensa).

Room Tip: Room 10 accomodates up to 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

They said we could park outside the hotel, but you have to find it first!
No places, but Daniele took my keys & 30 mins later the car was parked outside.
Smallish but well appointed room with a/c. Wifi Friendly staff. Good breakfast.
Close enough to all the attractions without being city centre.
I was delighted overall & told them so. They were pleased.
Very good value for Firenze!

Room Tip: we asked when booking. I think the room was 18 end of corridor 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Small but serviceable and clean bathroom. Bed not perfectly flat (old?), but clean and serviced daily. Free wifi for guests, telephone in room available for both incoming and outgoing calls overseas. Dial 0 not 012 as it said on my handset sticker. Air conditioning a blessing in spring/summer, not just for heat but general ventilation. No flyscreens (rare in Florence), means its impractical to open windows unless you don't mind being bitten by mosquitoes. Pity, because those windows are a beautiful feature of Florence. Curtain impedes window opening properly anyway. Small lift a bonus if you have heavy bags or are less mobile. Unexpectedly, two vegetarian restaurants right outside ('Il Sedano Allegro' and Ruth's Kosher one attached to the Synagogue). Hotel breakfast selection and room are good. Courteous staff. 20 minute walk to train station and all major museums in city. Overall, a nice little temporary home in a fascinating city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arizona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arizona

Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini 2, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arizona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arizona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arizona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.