We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cellai to your Saves list
Hotel Cellai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via 27 Aprile N. 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #98 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tour of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Enjoying our stay here. Staff is very accommodating and has helped to arrange plans for us. We had an AC issue in our room and because it wasn't reparable, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite, without issue. Wonderful breakfasts, too! Lovely lounge areas. Definitely check out the 4th floor veranda area and honor bar with a beautiful view of Il Duomo.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    112
    34
    18
    9
See reviews for
69
174
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel delivers all I need and much more - very impressive design, friendly service, nice room, clean and well equipped bathroom, perfect breakfast, nice bar always ready for very long night chats:-)

I spend wonderful weekend in this hotel! I am sure I will be back soon!
Ela

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hidden gem in a great location. I have stayed a few times in this hotel before with my girlfriend and the experience has always been very pleasant.
This boutique hotel radiates an old world relaxing atmosphere, which I rarely found in bigger hotels.

Our room was very spacious and very tastefully decorated. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Everything in this hotel is lovely. This is place makes us connect with the beauty and charm of Italy.

We will definitely go back when in Florence.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving at Hotel Cellai my initial impression was optimistic and positive. I thought it was a lovely little hotel with interesting and quirky furnishings and art work....sort of "Italian Shabby Sheik"! There is a lovely dining room...small sitting areas scattered on the first floor and an honor bar with comfy seating. The room we were assigned was very small and the bathroom was absurdly tiny. I found that the rooms were not cleaned properly each day...cups and spoons never washed or tea bags replenished. We had to repeatedly request soap. The temperature in our room was stifling and extrememly stuffy. We were informed the air conditioning could not be turned on yet since it was only April. Opening the window turned out to be a bad idea due to the constant street noise, people fighting on the street in the middle of the night and the stench of the sewer. We inquired about upgrading our room or moving but were told nothing was available. The area near the elevator smelled musty and unpleasant. If you love carbs and sweets you will enjoy their breakfast buffet. The afternoon tea was very lovely. Hotel Cellai has a great location and the staff is pleasant, however, I would never stay there again, I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: Not in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueHotel_Cellai, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cellai, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guests, I red your review with great attention as your comments are very important for us an I discovered that you enjoyed all relevant aspects of our Hotel: decoration, art works, buffet breakfast and the kindness of the staff. Unfortunatelly you asked for air conditioning in april when the heating system was still on. April in Italy has very cold nights and mornings and may have ome unusual warm afternoons. We look forward seeing you at Cellai Hotel during your next trip to Italy.
Best regards
Maria Cristina Bianchi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel delivered on all it promised. Centrally located, knowledgeable and friendly staff, good food and nicely furnished room. Would definitely return and recommend if you want a venue within walking distance of all the major tourist spots

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really loved this place and I want to thank the lovely people that made our stay in Florence so special. This is a very special spot with a very special soul that made us feel beeing in the florentine home of our dreams. Our room was clean, bright, elegant and relaxing. We loved the decoration of the entire hotel and spent lovely moments on the roof garden. Everybody has been so kind and took great care of us. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Funky, wonderfully appointed rooms. Amazing breakfast. The honor bar is very nice. Have drinks in the common areas (there are many). The roof garden is a beautiful spot to relax. I can't say enough about the staff. The front desk staff was incredibly helpful, and kind. Great location. Close proximity to everything. Can't say enough about this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Address: Via 27 Aprile N. 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
#47 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cellai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.