We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cellai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cellai to your Saves list
Hotel Cellai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via 27 Aprile N. 14, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Macau, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not exactly as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

There is nothing extremely wrong with this hotel. The location is not bad, within 10 minutes walk to the train station, 20 minutes to Ponte Vecchio. The street is noisy and polluted, so a room on the back is a must. The bed is quite nice. But the room is extremely small, as well as the toilet. There was a horrible stink in the lift area during the 4 days I stayed, fortunately it did not reach the rooms. The Japanese lady in the reception was extremely nice indeed. It seems to be one of those places that looks so much better in the pictures than the reality. I hesitate between 4 and 3 stars but it is more 3 than 4. Not to be avoided, but not a priority.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    90
    24
    15
    9
See reviews for
53
140
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ischgl, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We found this place absolutely original and out of the usual path as the style appears as an elegant mixt of past and present. We especially enjoyed the morning breakfast with christmas cookies and italian panettone, we also enjoyed a lot the Christmas decoration of the whole Hotel. The People at work are very kind lively and smiling. Everybody took very good care of us, what a nice experience! It was a lovely stay! I can't wait to come back in this unique Boutique Hotel.

Room Tip: silent, clean, beautiful decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
365 helpful votes 365 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is near perfect.  I stayed 12 nights and hated to leave. The location is within walking distance from the historic area and very close to the  Plaza San Marco  and the Accedemia.   Without exception, staff is friendly, accommodating and helpful.  The included buffet breakfast is excellent and generous with lot  of protein available. Serve yourself coffee is available and you can ask for a cappuccino or expresso.  

I had room 302 which was nice-size with a large bathroom  including a tub. The room had a few internal steps.  The view from the room was of rooftops.  There is a wide variety of sizes and configurations of rooms, so ask to see a few rooms before you accept one.  

The cable TV had hundreds of channels and the Wi-fi (free) was excellent 

The public rooms are stunning and you have the feeling of a private club. There is good artwork everywhere as well we art and history books to consult.    The “honor bar” area is comfortable and a nice place to relax after visiting museums all day.    

There was never a problem with hot water or water pressure,  

I would definitely stay here again.    

Room Tip: The building is a former palazzo, and rooms are all different sizes and configurations. Take a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Emotional, charming, romantic, different. We spent a long weekend with some friends. We booked through Transeurope Citytrips and their selection was perfect.
The Hotel is so charming and cosy.
We loved the emotional decoration of the entire house and the special cares we received during our stay from the brilliant staff. We felt like in our florentine home.
Thank you for our wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We loved our room next to the roof garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my husband enjoyed a lovely stay at Cellai Hotel, This was our best stay during our december trip in Tuscany. All the sitting rooms and the breakfast room had lovely Christmas decorations and Christmas songs that created a very special atmosphere. The staff is nice and rooms are clean and cosy. Lovely music background and rich breakfast. Will come again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love boutique hotels with charm. I can genuinely say this is one of the most charming hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is perfect, set off enough that there is not a lot of foot traffic but 5-15 minutes by foot from everywhere you'd want to go. The staff was exceptionally polite. I took a walk and explored each of the winding halls - beautiful. We drank a bottle of wine from the honesty bar on the rooftop one evening...it was so nice! I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have been at the hotel before in family trip and it was a great experience.

I got back in business.
The hotel rooms, service, breakfast and locations were all fabulous.

I want to thank all the staff that made my stay such an enjoyable memory.

I will come back and stay at Cellai for sure

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cellai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cellai

Address: Via 27 Aprile N. 14, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Florence
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cellai 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfortable sitting room with fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Cellai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cellai Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cellai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.