We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Save Saved
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 461 hotels in Florence
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I traveled through Italy for 2 weeks. This was by far my favorite hotel we stayed for 4 nights and loved it! Great location, accommodating staff, beautiful room very modern. Everything seemed to be less than a 10 minute walk away. I always felt safe coming and going from the hotel even late into the night.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    112
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
34
242
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West harrison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Continentale for only three nights. It was not enough. The hotel was very clean, beautifully decorated and the service was great. The room was very modern and the beds were very comfy. We had a deck that we could see the Arno river from. We were 100 feet from the Ponte Vecchio. Breakfast was not included and was just across the courtyard at their sister hotel. It was pricey but delicious! The front desk was extremely helpful when we needed something or had a question. The hotel is for all sorts of travelers. I happened to have been with my 20 year old daughter but will bring my husband and younger boys back someday soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel in a great location, opposite to Ponte Vecchio. The room has modern decoration but little small. Very clean and spacious bathroom. the relax area of the hotel is amazing with a great view of Arno river. Don't miss the cocktails of the Fusion bar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

location is the best for the travelers.- in front of the Ponte Vecchio
Small room but the interior is really refined.
Of course, they provide amanities of Tuscan soul, Ferragamo- it was really good!
Service was good- they introduced us a very good restaurant and we really satisfied.
Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Continentale for 5 nights at the end of November. We stayed in a Prestige Arno View Room, which was so beautifully decorated-----hardwood floors, cream draperies around the very large and very comfortable bed and the same cream draperies lining the walls giving the room an ethereal feel. The Continentale is owned by the Ferragamo company and the main store plus Ferragamo museum is a 5 minute walk away. We had free admission to the museum with our stay. There is a sister hotel across the way where they serve breakfast.
A couple of things to note---(1) The hotel is right next to the Ponte Vecchio so it can be very noisy. Even very late at night, we could hear people (some obviously having had too much to drink) talking on the street. (2) We did in fact have a view of the Arno river, but the windows in our room were very small and deep, so to see the river, one needed to be right at the window. (3) Because the hotel is a small boutique hotel, often there was one (sometimes two) receptionist/concierge, so if the hotel were fully booked, there might be a wait for attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale. After weeks of traveling through Europe, this is by far my favorite hotel we've stayed at.

The rooms were gorgeous and of the baby-making variety. Sweepingly romantic with a sheer drape canopy and in a warm, non-sterile white, you feel completely encapsulated in a private cocoon built for two. The traditional crank windows open to beautiful vistas of the river, Florence's famous bridges and lush hills in the distance.

Once you exit the hotel, all of Florence is at your fingertips from cafes and eateries to small mom n' pops and H & M. The Piazza Della Signora is a 5 minute walk away as is the Piazza Della Republica. Another 5 minutes beyond that and you're at the majestic Duomo.

You can go with a breakfast package for an additional 12 Euros per person a day, but honestly, it wasn't that great and you had to go to the sister hotel across the street. You're better off going to the Signora and going to the Perseo Bar for a traditional Italian coffee experience and a sweet roll for 4 Euros.

Aside from boasting an awesome location, the room's WIFI was free, fast and furious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved Florence as soon as the taxi driver drove into the old town. It is a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful, staff very pleasant and helpful..our room had a view of the river and the ponte de veccio. I spend ages hanging out the window looking at the view. The room was huge but had a dressing room which made up for it. The breakfast next door at the Art Hotel was lovely. I thought this a beautiful hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#43 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continentale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.