We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 461 Hotels in Florence
West harrison
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at the Continentale for only three nights. It was not enough. The hotel was very clean, beautifully decorated and the service was great. The room was very modern and the beds were very comfy. We had a deck that we could see the Arno river from. We were 100 feet from the Ponte Vecchio. Breakfast was not included and was just across the courtyard at their sister hotel. It was pricey but delicious! The front desk was extremely helpful when we needed something or had a question. The hotel is for all sorts of travelers. I happened to have been with my 20 year old daughter but will bring my husband and younger boys back someday soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    126
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
284
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel in a great location, opposite to Ponte Vecchio. The room has modern decoration but little small. Very clean and spacious bathroom. the relax area of the hotel is amazing with a great view of Arno river. Don't miss the cocktails of the Fusion bar

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

location is the best for the travelers.- in front of the Ponte Vecchio
Small room but the interior is really refined.
Of course, they provide amanities of Tuscan soul, Ferragamo- it was really good!
Service was good- they introduced us a very good restaurant and we really satisfied.
Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Continentale for 5 nights at the end of November. We stayed in a Prestige Arno View Room, which was so beautifully decorated-----hardwood floors, cream draperies around the very large and very comfortable bed and the same cream draperies lining the walls giving the room an ethereal feel. The Continentale is owned by the Ferragamo company and the main store plus Ferragamo museum is a 5 minute walk away. We had free admission to the museum with our stay. There is a sister hotel across the way where they serve breakfast.
A couple of things to note---(1) The hotel is right next to the Ponte Vecchio so it can be very noisy. Even very late at night, we could hear people (some obviously having had too much to drink) talking on the street. (2) We did in fact have a view of the Arno river, but the windows in our room were very small and deep, so to see the river, one needed to be right at the window. (3) Because the hotel is a small boutique hotel, often there was one (sometimes two) receptionist/concierge, so if the hotel were fully booked, there might be a wait for attention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale. After weeks of traveling through Europe, this is by far my favorite hotel we've stayed at.

The rooms were gorgeous and of the baby-making variety. Sweepingly romantic with a sheer drape canopy and in a warm, non-sterile white, you feel completely encapsulated in a private cocoon built for two. The traditional crank windows open to beautiful vistas of the river, Florence's famous bridges and lush hills in the distance.

Once you exit the hotel, all of Florence is at your fingertips from cafes and eateries to small mom n' pops and H & M. The Piazza Della Signora is a 5 minute walk away as is the Piazza Della Republica. Another 5 minutes beyond that and you're at the majestic Duomo.

You can go with a breakfast package for an additional 12 Euros per person a day, but honestly, it wasn't that great and you had to go to the sister hotel across the street. You're better off going to the Signora and going to the Perseo Bar for a traditional Italian coffee experience and a sweet roll for 4 Euros.

Aside from boasting an awesome location, the room's WIFI was free, fast and furious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved Florence as soon as the taxi driver drove into the old town. It is a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful, staff very pleasant and helpful..our room had a view of the river and the ponte de veccio. I spend ages hanging out the window looking at the view. The room was huge but had a dressing room which made up for it. The breakfast next door at the Art Hotel was lovely. I thought this a beautiful hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second time staying at The Continentale, and a lot has changed. First the good, the location is top notch in front of the Ponte Vecchio and REALLY close to all the big attractions. This time I got a great deal online for a single room. The room was tiny but everything was great and modern and EXTREMELY clean the way I like it. There wasn't a view, but then again I wasn't planning on sitting in my room and watching the view. Now let's go the the bad... The staff since last year must have completely changed and not for the better. They were cold and VERY unfriendly. I asked for them to make a restaurant reservation for me and all they did was write it down and they never contacted me about it again. The next day I asked then to make another reservation for me very early in the morning, since it was my last day I really wanted to have dinner at this place. At ro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#49 Business Hotel in Florence
#51 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continentale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.