We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Save Saved
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 459 hotels in Florence
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Hotel Continentale. After weeks of traveling through Europe, this is by far my favorite hotel we've stayed at.

The rooms were gorgeous and of the baby-making variety. Sweepingly romantic with a sheer drape canopy and in a warm, non-sterile white, you feel completely encapsulated in a private cocoon built for two. The traditional crank windows open to beautiful vistas of the river, Florence's famous bridges and lush hills in the distance.

Once you exit the hotel, all of Florence is at your fingertips from cafes and eateries to small mom n' pops and H & M. The Piazza Della Signora is a 5 minute walk away as is the Piazza Della Republica. Another 5 minutes beyond that and you're at the majestic Duomo.

You can go with a breakfast package for an additional 12 Euros per person a day, but honestly, it wasn't that great and you had to go to the sister hotel across the street. You're better off going to the Signora and going to the Perseo Bar for a traditional Italian coffee experience and a sweet roll for 4 Euros.

Aside from boasting an awesome location, the room's WIFI was free, fast and furious.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    106
    28
    7
    11
See reviews for
33
220
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved Florence as soon as the taxi driver drove into the old town. It is a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful, staff very pleasant and helpful..our room had a view of the river and the ponte de veccio. I spend ages hanging out the window looking at the view. The room was huge but had a dressing room which made up for it. The breakfast next door at the Art Hotel was lovely. I thought this a beautiful hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second time staying at The Continentale, and a lot has changed. First the good, the location is top notch in front of the Ponte Vecchio and REALLY close to all the big attractions. This time I got a great deal online for a single room. The room was tiny but everything was great and modern and EXTREMELY clean the way I like it. There wasn't a view, but then again I wasn't planning on sitting in my room and watching the view. Now let's go the the bad... The staff since last year must have completely changed and not for the better. They were cold and VERY unfriendly. I asked for them to make a restaurant reservation for me and all they did was write it down and they never contacted me about it again. The next day I asked then to make another reservation for me very early in the morning, since it was my last day I really wanted to have dinner at this place. At ro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We checked into the hotel and it was in the evening. It is a small and a cozy hotel, nothing grand and huge, very intimate settings. The staff recommended us to a restaurant nearby to take care of our stomach first and it was great.

We got the penthouse which is probably the best room at this hotel. The penthouse was seriously amazing! It is bi-level, with bed and desk on the first, and bathroom, showers and bath tub on the second. The room is very lofty and you get to enjoy the view of Florence - Major view!

Very close to the center, walkable distance to the rialto and the tourist spots. Everything is just a few steps away.

Clean clean sheets, everything is clean, neat and just right. They don't overdo the details and just give you a place to chill and relax. If we have time, we would through a wine and cheese night in the room.

The staffs were quite helpful, since we stay at the penthouse, there are 2 extra flights of stairs to walk up to get to the room. They helped us haul all of our luggage and shopping bags and I can tell it is hard work.

Anyone appreciate tips, that helps too with so many stairs to get to our sky room.

Breakfast across the street at their other hotel, I think it was the Art hotel? and the breakfast was also great, with a great selection and tons of fresh juices and cheese and more! Something to look forward to everyday.

Room Tip: We booked through Visa card as all the rooms were sold out already. The penthouse was nice - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Continentale belongs to the Ferragamo hotel chains. It has a great location in the heart of Florence, it couldn't be better. It's very near Ponte vechio. Our room was very comfortable, modern and trendy.
However the service was unfriendly. The recommendation were very impersonal. They give you a list for everyone independent what you prefer for restaurant..but, some of them below to the hotel chain.
If they change this issue for sure it will be a place to stay. Enjoy Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After spending two weeks @ one of the most exclusive, partial ownership palazzos in Florence, I needed a place for the last three nights before departing my favorite city. The concierge from my Palazzo called the Continentale as their recommendation. This small boutique hotel, one of the Ferragamo family group, was a lovely surprise. It's fresh, hip. very intimate (including the lounge elevator) with a taste of good,modern, Italian design. My room wasn't large but it's exciting, innovative design w/ great use of every inch was very comfortable and enjoyable. Great outdoor, rooftop bar and nooks around many corners for reading, T.V., meditation, cocktails, conversation, etc. The staff was fab, courteous and helpful. After 2 weeks of ultimate luxury, this place was a great way to spend my last 3 nights in a fun and modern Italian experience!! Wonderful location and also a great value for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Continentale its on a great location in front of the ponte vechio and close to all touristic places in florence. Hotel rooms are nice , clean and confortable. On the 5 th floor they have a wonderfull lounge overlooking the ponte vechio. No doubt i would stay in the continentale if in florence again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence
Address: Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#62 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continentale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.