We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing city amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing city amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved Florence as soon as the taxi driver drove into the old town. It is a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The hotel is beautiful, staff very pleasant and helpful..our room had a view of the river and the ponte de veccio. I spend ages hanging out the window looking at the view. The room was huge but had a dressing room which made up for it. The breakfast next door at the Art Hotel was lovely. I thought this a beautiful hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    126
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
282
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is my second time staying at The Continentale, and a lot has changed. First the good, the location is top notch in front of the Ponte Vecchio and REALLY close to all the big attractions. This time I got a great deal online for a single room. The room was tiny but everything was great and modern and EXTREMELY clean the way I like it. There wasn't a view, but then again I wasn't planning on sitting in my room and watching the view. Now let's go the the bad... The staff since last year must have completely changed and not for the better. They were cold and VERY unfriendly. I asked for them to make a restaurant reservation for me and all they did was write it down and they never contacted me about it again. The next day I asked then to make another reservation for me very early in the morning, since it was my last day I really wanted to have dinner at this place. At ro

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We checked into the hotel and it was in the evening. It is a small and a cozy hotel, nothing grand and huge, very intimate settings. The staff recommended us to a restaurant nearby to take care of our stomach first and it was great.

We got the penthouse which is probably the best room at this hotel. The penthouse was seriously amazing! It is bi-level, with bed and desk on the first, and bathroom, showers and bath tub on the second. The room is very lofty and you get to enjoy the view of Florence - Major view!

Very close to the center, walkable distance to the rialto and the tourist spots. Everything is just a few steps away.

Clean clean sheets, everything is clean, neat and just right. They don't overdo the details and just give you a place to chill and relax. If we have time, we would through a wine and cheese night in the room.

The staffs were quite helpful, since we stay at the penthouse, there are 2 extra flights of stairs to walk up to get to the room. They helped us haul all of our luggage and shopping bags and I can tell it is hard work.

Anyone appreciate tips, that helps too with so many stairs to get to our sky room.

Breakfast across the street at their other hotel, I think it was the Art hotel? and the breakfast was also great, with a great selection and tons of fresh juices and cheese and more! Something to look forward to everyday.

Room Tip: We booked through Visa card as all the rooms were sold out already. The penthouse was nice - but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Continentale belongs to the Ferragamo hotel chains. It has a great location in the heart of Florence, it couldn't be better. It's very near Ponte vechio. Our room was very comfortable, modern and trendy.
However the service was unfriendly. The recommendation were very impersonal. They give you a list for everyone independent what you prefer for restaurant..but, some of them below to the hotel chain.
If they change this issue for sure it will be a place to stay. Enjoy Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

After spending two weeks @ one of the most exclusive, partial ownership palazzos in Florence, I needed a place for the last three nights before departing my favorite city. The concierge from my Palazzo called the Continentale as their recommendation. This small boutique hotel, one of the Ferragamo family group, was a lovely surprise. It's fresh, hip. very intimate (including the lounge elevator) with a taste of good,modern, Italian design. My room wasn't large but it's exciting, innovative design w/ great use of every inch was very comfortable and enjoyable. Great outdoor, rooftop bar and nooks around many corners for reading, T.V., meditation, cocktails, conversation, etc. The staff was fab, courteous and helpful. After 2 weeks of ultimate luxury, this place was a great way to spend my last 3 nights in a fun and modern Italian experience!! Wonderful location and also a great value for a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Continentale its on a great location in front of the ponte vechio and close to all touristic places in florence. Hotel rooms are nice , clean and confortable. On the 5 th floor they have a wonderfull lounge overlooking the ponte vechio. No doubt i would stay in the continentale if in florence again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is part of the Ferragamo chain of boutique hotels. My room was huge and big. I have noticed that some of the room furnitures were not well maintained. In particular the very nice mini bar trunk was partly broken. Apart from that the room was really nice, modern and cozy. Very nice view from sky-bar!
Breakfast was not included and the price was shamefully pricey!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#31 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Family Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continentale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.