We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continentale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Continentale to your Saves list
Continentale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Continentale its on a great location in front of the ponte vechio and close to all touristic places in florence. Hotel rooms are nice , clean and confortable. On the 5 th floor they have a wonderfull lounge overlooking the ponte vechio. No doubt i would stay in the continentale if in florence again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicosanjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is part of the Ferragamo chain of boutique hotels. My room was huge and big. I have noticed that some of the room furnitures were not well maintained. In particular the very nice mini bar trunk was partly broken. Apart from that the room was really nice, modern and cozy. Very nice view from sky-bar!
Breakfast was not included and the price was shamefully pricey!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Continentale Hotel and was bowled over by the hospitality as well as the trendy touches at the hotel. The location was perfect - close to the main street but yet not overly noisy. It was difficult trying to drive to the hotel as most of the small lanes leading to the place as pointed out by our GPS were closed. So if you are driving, best to flag a local taxi and get the driver to guide you there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joannesim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

An absolute disappointment.

On our recent two week trip through Italy this was my wife and my LEAST favorite stay by far. The Continentale bills itself as being a personal and catering establishment and we found it anything but. Cold, impersonal, unfriendly—and with the exception of a few moments—unhelpful. And that is just the staff. I can’t tell you how surprised I am at the favorable reviews on TripAdvisor.

I’ll lead with the positives. The location is great.. The Sky lounge upstairs, is ridiculously overpriced but a very cool spot. There is very accessible free wifi. And the room size was fine. We did manage to find one friendly and helpful concierge who did get us advanced tickets to the Uffizi and the Academia, and that was very, very helpful.

Everything else was pretty much a disaster. As I said the service was cold and unapproachable. One evening we asked to have dinner reservations made the front desk simply forgot to do it, and then suggested we just “try someplace else. How about the restaurant in our sister hotel.” We inquired about a driver to take us to our next stay in Montepulciano and were informed that was not possible. (Our next hotel arranged it without a hitch by the way). There is usually only one person at the desk at a time, so the line for service tends to build up.

As for the room. Again, size was ok. Décor was, well ridiculous. Maybe some will appreciate the over the top euro-trendy style of the room and the main hotel (complete with elevators straight out of a Kubrick film) but it was not for us. However, that is not really my complaint. The room SMELLED. Whether it was the cleaning solutions used, or as I suspect MOLD, it was pretty unpleasant. (I’ve attached pictures of mold growing in the shower—that I suspect was the culprit.)

To make matters worse, one afternoon we returned to our room to find a worker dismantling the ceiling in our bathroom. NO WARNING from the front desk that we just passed. In fact when we went down to complain we were told “No, there is no one in your room.” When I finally convinced them that there was in fact a gentleman in my room. They agreed, and said he’d be done in a few hours. No apology, no suggestion of how to remedy the situation. Nothing.
All and all an unfriendly, unpleasant stay at a hotel that is desperately trying to be trendy and cool—in a way that just comes off as forced and cold. The location is terrific but there has to be better, more accommodating hotels in that area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jpchanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of Florence ...the location can not get better. The rooms and bathrooms are very well thought of and comfortable , especially the switches to bring up and down the black-out curtains from the bed-side. The white upholstery is very refreshing, the beds are fluffy and the curtain around the bed adds to the peaceful look of the rooms. The in-room furniture is moveable which gives a lot of space in the room. The view is also fantastic (of the Ponte Vecchio and the River Arno). Breakfast is available at their sister hotel opposite the hotel which is also very sumptuous. This place is highly recommended for tourists as all the exciting sightseeing and museums are around the corner and so are all the shops. The staff is also very alert and quick at service.

Room Tip: room facing the bridge is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B3Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our honeymoon recently. Very modern hotel that is located right across the street from the Ponte Vecchio. All the major sites and restaurants are within walking distance.

Breakfast is included with the room and you have the option of going to any of the Lugarno locations. Each of them are a little different so try all of them if you get a chance.

The only problem with being in the heart of Florence is that many people use the Ponte Vecchio at all hours of the night. After the first night, we used our earplugs and had no problems after that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here the second week of October and it was lovely. Our room was pleasant with very modern finishes that made it seem top notch. The room was elegant and bright. the bathroom was big and comfortable. The rooftop lounge has great views of the river and the city. The location in Florence is amazing.
My only complaint is that when asked for a restaurant recommendation the staff nominated the BSJ (Borgo San Jacopo) which is located in another hotel across the river. The BSJ was dreadful! We later found out that the BSJ is owned by the same group as the Continentale. A detail they did not mention. The restaurant experience was so bad that it not only spoiled the Continentale but the entire florence experience.
Although the service in the hotel was adequate this sort of dishonesty is inexcusable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mccawii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Pitti
Hotel Lungarno
Hotel Lungarno
#17 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#2 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Uffizi
Gallery Hotel Art
Gallery Hotel Art
#61 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Degli Orafi
#21 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continentale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continentale

Address: Vicolo dell'Oro 6r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#34 Family Hotel in Florence
#35 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Continentale 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, Low Cost Holidays, MrandMrsSmith and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Continentale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continentale Hotel Florence
Continentale Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing