We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice quality vs price in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laurus al Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best choice quality vs price in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I would definitely recommend it for turist visits in Florence. The best possible location just 1 min away from the Duomo, very friendly and customer oriented staff, clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast is very complete as well.

I would just improve 2 things:
- the remote control for the TV is irritating. Too few options, very old fashioned.
- Internet connection is quite unestable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Cesar B

thank you for recommending our hotel and for the kind comments and compliments, thanks also for your feedback!
Hoping to welcoming you again, we wish you an Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    453
    81
    24
    9
See reviews for
199
660
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel if you want to be in the heart of the town but in a quiet area as well.Very clean and comfortable room.Friendly and helpfull staff.My first choice for my next trip to Florence.You should visit it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Penny L

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being your first choice for your next trip to Florence!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend for my fiancee's 30th birthday. I spent a bit more money for 'a room with a view'. Unfortunately the room we were taken to originally was facing scaffolding and white cladding! Upon a complaint to the reception (which wasn't warmly received) we were moved to a more central room which was much better. I would add that the extra spent on the room wasn't neccesary as the church opposite isn't that exciting.

The room was spacious, clean and tidy. The location is great. It's worth noting that when we were there was lovely weather and air-con would have been nice, however they can only have it on at certain times in the year.

We took breakfast on the open terrace upstairs that holds great views of the Duomo, the food was nice and the choice of hot and cold food was an added bonus.

Overall recommend this hotel, but as mentioned before the extra for a view isnt what you'd think for the extra cost.

Room Tip: If you do go for a room with a view make sure you are in a central room or as you look at the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Chris H

we are happy that you chose our hotel and thank you for the kind comments and compliments about our rooms, our services and our staff.
Please note that our rooms are with views overlooking the main street and in front there is the Church of Santa Maria Maggiore, a thousand years old Church and prior to the construction of the Duomo cathedral ....
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a three night stay and it was a pleasure , the hotel is perfectly located, the breakfasts were lovely , the staff very helpful, the rooms clean and well kept. A lovely city to visit and I cannot think of anything to complain about in regard to this hotel. Well done to the hotel and its staff.. Ron Nicholls

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Ron Nicholls

We are really glad you enjoyed your three night stay with us and thank you very much for the wonderful review.
Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff.
We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you soon.

Greetings from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Super hotel and you couldn't get any closer to the Duomo , just a two minute walk. We got a great deal flights from the uk and three nights for £330 for both of us. Great bar on the sixth floor with views of the Doumo and the staff were really helpful. The room was spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. Loved it

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Andy H

really thank you for the great review!
We are delighted that enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for kind comments and compliments about our services and our staff!

Greetings from your Super Hotel in Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton Falls, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Surprisingly quiet hotel in a busy area. Short walk from train station. Comfortable accommodations with nice enjoyable breakfast area with great rooftop seating with view of Duomo. Friendly staff, easy check in, Wifi not so good in room but okay in lobby and breakfast area. We had a king room, plenty big with large bathroom. Very clean. The weather was comfortable so no issues with heat, as we didn't need any. Wished we had more time to spend in Florence. When we do we will return to Laurus Al Duomo it was more than comfortable and the location is fantastico!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear grammydisney

Thank you for choosing our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all the kind comments and compliments!
We really hope to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I arrived in hotel Laurus Al Duomo 2 days ago on a cold and windy day. Check-in went fine, the room I was given was nice, however it was extremely cold. I asked the receptionist if they can put the heating on in my room and the lady informed me that there was no heating yet in any of the rooms in the hotel since they were ''surprised by such cold weather'' (in mid-November and with all weather forecasts available these days?). She told me that she spoke to the General Manager and that the heating will be on tomorrow. They've sent me 3 additional blankets.
The day after, there was still no heating in the room. That evening another receptionist told me that the heating will be available ''maybe tomorrow'' and that it wasn't their fault. At that point I asked to speak to the General Manager but s/he was not available at the time. The receptionist added; '' The General Manager knows about this problem but he cannot do anything about it''. Enough said!
This morning, I woke up at 6 a.m. because I was cold in my bed under 4 blankets. The temperature in my room was about the same as outdoor. I will not ask them about the heating anymore, because I don’t want to hear ''maybe tomorrow'' again.
Overall the hotel as a building is good, rooms are comfortable and very clean (Housekeeping department is doing an excellent job), the location is central and the staff is polite.
However, the management obviously cares more about cutting costs than caring about their guests. And that makes it a poor value for money. For 150 € per night, I think I should not be freezing in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Marija M

we are sorry that you've had these problems of cold during your stay with us. In fact, in the period between October and November we had a "crazy" weather that has forced us to turn off and turn on the air conditioning and then turn the heat on with urgency. This has unfortunately led to some complaints from customers. You have been proposed several times during your stay for a room change with a room on the lower floors and the front of the hotel (rooms are warmer) but you said you wanted just the covers. In the meantime, we called for heating engineers that are able to attend two days later.
Thank you for having enjoyed the central location of the hotel, the room cleanliness and friendliness of our staff and we hope you give us another ocassion to welcome you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#57 Business Hotel in Florence
#58 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#63 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laurus al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.