We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Laurus al Duomo to your Saves list
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 461 Hotels in Florence
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

One of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip. Location is great (2 blocks from Duomo). Our room was not huge, but it was big enough and recently renovated. Service was good, and price was right. Breakfast was nice; we enjoyed the balcony. Only negative was internet. We could not get a good wi-fi connection in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear R T

Thank you for considering us one of the best hotel of your trip!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Florence and we are waiting to welcome you again!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    403
    74
    20
    7
See reviews for
174
581
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Location is very convenient, less than 1 km to most sights in the center. When you go out, you can see Duomo on the left and Santa Maria Maggiore on the other side of the street. More far, in the same direction, you can see Palazzo Davanzati. The "Al Duomo" and "Centro Congressi" are much better marked outside the building than the "Hotel Laurus"
I had a modern and very quiet room looking in a corner of the inner courtyard, and couldn't even see the sky. Had a double bed, which was harder than my own. In addition, there was a fridge, and I asked to have a kettle, which I got a few hours later. However, the next day it was gone and I asked for it again, this time it stayed until the end of my stay.
I didn't have breakfast included, but enjoyed the good and very affordable coffee in the Cafe al Astra after my early tea in the room. They serve also lunch, pasta an pizza, but if you want something more, there are many restaurants around. Some times there are big groups around, but the other side of Arno is more quiet and there are nice restaurants next to the Santo Spirito. There is a supermarket on the Via de' Melerancio, close to the Medici Chapel, but it isn't marked outside. I stayed in this hotel also 15 years ago, and could stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms without a view have a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
LNPR

thanks for coming back to our hotel after 15 years! How could you see the hotel has been completely renovated by acquiring the Caffè Astra also on the ground floor that you liked and the Congress Centre Audiorium the Duomo.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and please come again before another 15 years!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent 3 days of our Honeymoon in Florence, and LOVED the Hotel Laurus al Duomo...PERFECT location, just a block from the Duomo (everything is in walking distance, including the Ponte Vecchio, Pitti Palace on other side of the River, etc.) Room 702 had a beautiful view of a church with a dome simliar to the Duomo's, along with typical Florence rooftops. The room was quiet (with windows closed at night), clean, comfortable enough king bed, fine sized tub/bath/shower, and plenty of closest space. Recommend closing the windows at night, as there are lots of little mosquitos, which definitely bite. Signage was difficult to find the hotel, if you're walking along their actual street. Look for 'Life Beyond Toursim,' rather than the Hotel name.
Francesca at the Front Desk was VERY helpful and spoke great English. We had a very early flight to go home, so they ordered us a taxi the day before, as well as left a bag breakfast in our little fridge.
Breakfast each morning was lovely on the 6th floor terrace (or indoors, if raining)...great view of the Duomo! There eggs, bacon, toast, pastries, fruit, juice, coffee, etc.
We do not know anything about A/C or heaters, as the October temperatures outside were perfect, and inside the room was great with the windows open (closed at night).
Short walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station...just print out walking directions from Google Maps.

Room Tip: Room 702 was great (top floor, ABOVE the 6th floor breakfast terrace, so no noise)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Deb S

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon in Florence!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the really great review!

Francesca and all the staff await you during your next trip to our beautiful city!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Location is just perfect, short walk from Santa Maria Novella train station and all the main attractions are literally round the corner (Capella Medici, for instance). Breakfasts rather on the humble side and the choice is quite limited. Very good (and cheap!) coffee/tea place downstairs, where we enjoyed our coffees every afternoon. Attentive and polite staff.
The only major downside was lack of air conditioning, which we desperately needed as it was +24C outside, quite unusual for the end of October. We had to open the windows, and the kid ended up with quite a few itchy mosquito bites, unfortunately. However, would happily stay there again (hopefully the air conditioning will be on)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear RusLadyLondon

thank you for your good review and for your compliments on our staff.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We like to inform you that the air conditioning was running, it was turned on again on October 28 as the exceptionally warm spring ...in Autunm!
Perhaps you did not notice because the air can be adjusted directly from the room and automatically turns off when you open the windows.
Hoping to welcome you soon, we remain.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel on the basis of the location, which, as a tourist is indeed very good down the street from the duomo. The hotel is however, terrible value for money and in no way a 4* by British or American standards.

As I type it was 24 degrees in Florence today yet the hotel had no air conditioning as it was turned off some weeks ago. Instead of turning it back on the front desk staff tried to placate us by switching on a "fan" in the room, that didn't do anything.

The beds were very uncomfortable and resembled hard planks of wood as well as being two singles evidently pushed together and covered with a single sheet.

The wi-fi failed to reach our room on the fifth floor and breakfast bordered on inedible. Good location but this hotel has little else going for it considering its €200+ a night price range. The man on the front desk laughed at my fiancé as she asked if we could have some form of refund if we left early.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Chrisjg24

we are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience in our hotel.
We turned off the air conditioning on 22 October as we thought (like many other hotels in the center of Florence) that temperatures would have fallen as usually happens . Instead , unfortunately, we found a hot spring .
We apologize for the vagaries of weather .
We regret that you have not notified us of the beds too hard , we could certainly provide you with softer mattresses .
I remember you, you were only one night ( your prepaid reservation was for 2 nights ) and have left the afternoon of the second day. That was me at the reception and I asked what had happened and if we could do something, you answered that you went away because of the air conditioning, but have not asked for any form of reimbursement , and especially none of us laughed .
Our staff is always available to guests trying to do everything possible to meet their needs .
We would like you give us another opportunity to serve you better, and I remain at your disposal if you want to contact me directly at the hotel to provide the highest possible discount on your next stay in Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely hotel, in centre of Florence, it was clean, comfortable, and ideally located yet pleasantly quiet. The staff were very helpful, and pleasant and friendly to deal with.
We were a short walk from San Lorenzo Market, al Duomo, bus station and train station and lovely restaurants. the area it was located in was alive and vibrant, we had a wonderful time and wished we had stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Jennifer610

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that you loved our hotel and our staff, and we hope to welcome you soon ... for a longer stay!

Greetings from your "lovely hotel in the center of Florence"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great stay at this hotel. The service was good, beds very compfortable and roomy for Florence. Highly recommend! The "Life beyond tourism" thing was a little odd, but we just ignored it and it didn't impact our stay at all. The rooms were clean and the bathroom had a nice roomy tub which was a lovely change from tiny showers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear joanna_lessard

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments and compliments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to have another opportunity to be able to explain more of our guidance, "Life Beyond Tourism", also for this reason we would be happy to welcome you again in our beautiful Florence!

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laurus al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.