We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally excellent but for heat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laurus al Duomo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 461 hotels in Florence
Egham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Generally excellent but for heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location perfect close to Duomo and a few mins walk to station. Check in quick and helpful. Rooms spacious. Comfy bed, plentiful storage, good tv, faultless bathroom. Breakfast of very good quality, if not enormous choice, breakfast room has open air terrace (sadly smoking allowed) with views of Duomo. Mini bar contained only water charged at Euro 2 per small bottle. Big problem was the heat of the room, it was like walking into a sauna and no individual room controls, alleviated by opening window (view of brick wall)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Tahnk you for writing your comment about your esperience at Hotel Laurus!
We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. Following your note about the heating we priovided to arrange a check of the temperature on the control panel, and everything was fine. We are very sorry that you had so warm in your room.
Regarding the minibar we took note about it and we will try to make this facilites better than now.
Our main proposal is safisfy our Guests.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    404
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
159
557
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staying here in Florence for 8 days. This hotel is perfectly located to sightsee and enjoy many fabulous restaurants within walking distance. We have been able to walk everywhere from here! Breakfast and wifi are included which is always a bonus! We have enjoyed our stay! MJ

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanky for spending your time writing about your experience in Florence and at the Hote Laurus.
We are pleased to read that you had great time. Our main purpose is satisfy our Guests and all your comments haelp us to do always better.
We hope to welcome you again and have the opportunety showing you beautiful corner or other treasure of our City.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel laurus Duomo in Florence, as part of my long-awaited trip to Italy to visit my daughter who is studying abroad. To make a very long story short...I was, literally, ravaged with bed bug bites such that I needed to go to the ER in Florence for IV antibiotics, steroids, and antihistamines ( I am one of the "lucky" people who are severly allergic to the bites). I was bitten EVERYWHERE! My arms became so swollen that the nurse had trouble finding a vein. I am a nurse practitioner in the US, have treated many bed-bug bitten patients at home, and have never seen anyone with as many bites as I had. This was disturbing, to say the least. We had to leave the hotel hurriedly in the early morning to a different location (not very pleasant). Most upsetting : the front desk staff ( aside for one very nice woman who inspected my bites) was dismissive!!!! Gross, gross, gross!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we remember very well of you and what happened.
In short and in favor of people who read Trip Advisor, we will try to summarize the facts without any personal comment.
You had booked two rooms for 4 nights.
On the morning of the third day you decide to start by saying that the bugs (the third night's stay ...) had bitten only one of the two people in a room and in the same king size bed.
At the reception desk you were asked if you wanted to call a doctor at the expense of the hotel. You said no and wanted the refund of one night.
In the meantime, our staff immediately intervened in the room to check for bed bugs. The room has been completely dismantled and no bug or other insect was found.
We also recall that, after obtaining the discount last night, you came back to ask for more discounts and threatening staff at the reception.
Remember that before you said you were a nurse, then a doctor.
We do not know what disease you have taken (hives, perhaps?) But we are sure that in your room there was no insect and no bug.

We remain at complete disposal for further information.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

First let me start by saying my daughters (20 & 21) stayed at the hotel. The hotel staff, which is fantastic, made arrangements for them to be picked up at the airport with a car service which was terrific. The location of the hotel is excellent right by the Duomo. You can't beat the location. The room was large and very clean. The beds are exactly like other reviews. They are on the harder side but not a major problem. The daily breakfast was very good as well. Here is why I love this hotel---My daughters just moved to Italy to study abroad for 4 months and stayed here their first 2 nights so they were a little nervous as was I. The first morning at breakfast, my daughter got light headed and passed out. The staff came over to help her along with my other daughter and guests. They called an ambulance to make sure she was OK and catered to her like she was their own daughter. Thank God her sister was with her to help her out. I cannot thank the hotel staff for being so helpful with both of my girls! They loved the hotel and the staff and I am grateful they stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your nice words about the Hotel and the Staff. Assist our Guests it's one of the main aims.
We hope to welcome you and your family and have the opportunity to let your next stay more pleasent and assist you in organize nice days in our beautiful city.Thank you again!!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very good town hotel close to Duomo and walking distance to all the major historic sites.The hotel is in superb condition throughout and very clean.Whilst on a main street the triple glazed windows prevented noise.The airconditioning (we were staying in February) was difficult to turn down in temperature......perhaps better instructions for its use would help. Front of house staff were generally good and welcoming..only spoilt by our repeated request for tea and coffee making facilities to be put in our room ( as detailed in the hotel in-room advice book!) never materialised until we asked the very good Romanian lady servicing our room...and it was brought immediately...perhaps she should be a front of house manager! The breakfast room on the sixth floor with a terrace overlooking the city was staffed by very competent people only too willing to help and the American breakfast was of excellent quality. All in all, a very good hotel....only spoilt by the lack of a cup of tea first thing on waking...but then thats a British thing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for the kind comments on the structure and services. Will forward your compliments to the lady in room service and the staff of the breakfast room.
We hope to welcome you soon ... with a good cup of tea when you wake up in the morning!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by train and discovered it was only a 5 minute walk to the hotel. A lovely foyer area with coffee shop downstairs. Staff were very friendly and helpfull, gave us city maps and answered any queries we had.
A lovely breakfast in a nice restaurant was also included in the stay. There are several well priced restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Everything is in easy walking distance of the hotel all main attractions only about 15 minute walk or less from the hotel.
We left our luggage with the hotel for no extra charge while waiting for our train.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sirs

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you wish to recommend our hotel to your friends and family.
Thanks also for the compliments to the rooms, the bathrooms, the breakfast and especially our staff.
Hoping to have other opportunity to welcome you in our beautiful Florence, we remain.

Greetings from all of us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a 3 night stay and short break in Florence. Staff are very helpul and the hotel is clean and tidy, I would rate it a euro 3*.
It has an excellent location for sightseers amidst all of the central attractions and a short level walk from the railway station.
Breakfast was continental, typical of euro hotels.
If there is one down side it was the ambulances parked the other side from the Duomo who immidiately on setting off switch in the tri tone horns at full blast, unfortunately this ocurred twice on our first night and due to the air con not being switched on due to the season meant we had the window open........!
That said, if we were to return we would not hesitate to re-book......

Room Tip: Get an upper floor and if possible to the rear to avoid the noise.......unless in summer when the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in our beautiful city!
Thank you also for the kind comments on the cleanliness of the rooms and the efficiency of our staff.
We are delighted that you would not hesitate to book us again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#45 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laurus al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.