We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laurus al Duomo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 461 hotels in Florence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“January in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Laurus al Duomo and would strongly recommend it. Really good value for money (we booked with Expedia), clean and comfortable. The hotel is a short walk from the main station and only a couple of minutes from the Duomo. We were on the top floor and had a great view of the Cappelle Medicee and San Lorenzo from our window. One floor below us was the breakfast room, which also had great views. Plenty of choice for breakfast.
My husband found the bed a bit firm, but that is a personal thing. The room wasn't large, but fine for a few days. Despite being in the centre of the city, we did not find it noisy at night.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay of 5 nights in our beautiful city!
Thank you also for the kind comments and for recommending us to your friends.
We really hope to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    524
    405
    71
    19
    7
See reviews for
159
561
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the Laurus al Duomo in January 2013. The hotel was clean, organized and very well located. A short walk from the train station and just two blocks away from the Duomo. Uffizi, Galleria and a plethora of interesting places are never more than 10 minutes walking. The room itself is very comforable, with soft beds and central heating, T.V. and little touches such as slippers. The breakfast was very good too. We would be back in a heartbeat, and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Sirs,

we are happy that you recommend our hotel and that you consider it an excellent choice in Florence!

We hope to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is an ideal choice - just 200 m from the Duomo, a newly renovated hotel, breakfast at the roof....!
Nice and clean rooms, modern bath, complimentary free wireless - we stayed a whole week arround Christmas 2012, and we never felt uncomfortable in this place! Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for recommending our hotel, and for the kind comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us a whole week!
Hoping to welcoming you soon, please accept the best greetings from all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
Beds quite hard, but that's a personal thing.
Breakfast, typical continental fare.
Bedrooms spotless, regular clean linen.
Would stay there again, and again, would also recommend to all our friends and family.
Very central and close to the station.
Some comments about noise, it's right in the centre of town, so.....
The rooms are on the small size, but definitely more than adequate for a few days.

Room Tip: rooms at the front probably have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for your kind review about our hotel and our staff and thank you for recommend us to your friends and your family!
We are waiting for you soon!

Greetings from the staff of your "lovely Hotel"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel following a 2 night stay in Venice. we arrived by train and after a 5 min walk arrived at the hotel, we checked in which was smooth and quick, the receptionist offered to have our bags taken to our room which we declined but the offer was a nice touch.

We then went to our room which was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the best thing about it was the view of the Duomo, we faced out to the front of the hotel and it was exceptional. The room had everything we needed and was ideal for our short stay

The location is perfect, literally a stones through from the cathedral and central to a lot of other attractions.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of selection of fruit, cereals meat, cheese and bread with juice and coffee, perfect to start each day and the terrace gave a wonderful view of the duomo. There was also a little café attached to the hotel which was lovely.

Service cleanliness and location make this a lovely hotel to stay at and I couldnt recommend it highly enough, and all for the price we paid would definitely tempt us back should we be lucky enough to return to Florence.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for the great comments about our rooms, cleaning, our staff and our breakfast!
We are happy that you loved your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a few days in Nov 2012. It exceeded our expectations. We were immediately thrilled with the location and with our nice, clean, modern room. It is steps from the duomo and in a central location so it is easy to drop in during the day if you'd like to change, rest, etc. We took a cab from the train station initially and laughed when we realized how close it was. Despite our big luggage we rolled it ourselves the couple of blocks back to the train station upon our departure. Staff was helpful in setting up dinner reservations, discussing day trips (which we did not end up doing based on weather forecast) and other information. Most mornings we ate (the included) breakfast and would walk outside to see the view of the duomo right from the terrace. One afternoon we sat out there drinking wine and eating meat and cheese which we had purchased at the central market - it was perfect. I have already reccomended this hotel to friends who are planning trips to Florence and would absolutely stay here again. There is a little cafe attached to the hotel which we did not have a chance to try as we were always out and about but it looked very cute and convenient to have right there..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thanks for the kind comments! We are happy to have exceeded your expectations!
Thanking for your compliments to our staff, we are looking to welcoming you soon to offer again a wonderful view of the Duomo Cathedral from our panoramic terrace.

Greetings from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Laurus in August 2012. I cannot say enough about this hotel. The location is perfect. A short walk from the train station and right down the street for the Duomo. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very basic but spacious. The rooms only sleep 2 each so our family of 5 needed 3 rooms. The best part of this hotel in the wine bar on the room. We spent every evening up here prior to going to dinner, enjoying local wines and cheeses. The views are great. I truly recommend this hotel for anyone going to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaurus, Responsabile reception at Hotel Laurus al Duomo, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you for praising our hotel and our staff!
We wait for you during your next visit to our beautiful city to still enjoy the wine bar with a panoramic terrace with views of the Cathedral.
And thank you for recommending our hotel for anyone going to Florence!

Greetings from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Laurus al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurus al Duomo

Address: Via Cerretani 54 / R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#55 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurus al Duomo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Laurus al Duomo is located in the heart of Florence, just 70 meters from the Cathedral and 150 meters from the central train station Santa Maria Novella.The hotel is part of the cultural centre "Centro Congressi al Duomo", together with the Auditorium al Duomo, Cafe Astra al Duomo, Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio.Located in the historical via de' Cerretani, between the Cathedral and the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Hotel Laurus al Duomo stays at a short walk from the most elegant shopping streets, and it is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Laurus al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florence
Laurus Hotel
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laurus al Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.