We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well preserved hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Paris Hotel to your Saves list
Paris Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Banchi 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Hod Hasharon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A well preserved hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel Paris is a wonderful hotel located right in the center of the old city of Florence.
All the city's famous and must-see sights are close by, the Duomo, Piazza Della Signoria, Uffizi Gallery and Ponte Vecchio can be reached by foot.
The hotel is beaufiful and well preserved, giving a sense of the old life in Italy.
The rooms are big, some even have old, preserved paintings on the walls ans ceiling, and the staff is great and very helpful.
Hotel Paris is a wonderful hotel for those who wish to see and expirience the fabulous city of Florence.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Customers,
we wish to thank you for your so kind review which motivate us to make always the best for our guests.
Hoping you will come back soon to our hotel Paris, warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    329
    144
    65
    42
See reviews for
138
358
43
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed with my husband at this hotel in centre of Florence in March for a week. The hotel is in a fantastic location, literally a short walk from the Duomo and all central attractions. Also close to some super local restaurants, including a great italian right opposite the hotel. The room was well appointed albeit a bit old and in need of some upgrading, (cracked bathroom floor tiles, that kind of thing). But for the money, it was good value being of good size with high ceilings and big windows and even a dining room table and chairs. Downside for me was that the bed was hard, so after a week I had backache but my husband was fine. Great power shower in the bathroom. Some of the plugs did not work, but we reported that. Old fashioned 'hose and box' hairdryer in bathroom. Worked OK. Nice toiletries provided. Liked the fact that the towels were changed every day which was great. We took our own travel kettle, which we were glad of, as nothing provided in the room. Breakfast was great in a nice room with a stunningly decorated ceiling. Staff were polite and helpful and booked our Uffizi tickets (don't even bother trying to queue - its ridiculous!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear customers,
thank you so much for your review that is very useful for us to improve what needs it.
We are also scheduling some kind of upgrading works when possible to make them.
Hoping to welcoming again in the future in our hotel, warm regards.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hotel Paris in Florence is in a wonderful and has spacious rooms. The flaws, mediocre food service, the morning breakfast was lacking and extreemly nosiy, the attendants were rude. The hotel sells wifi service for close to 9 euros a 24 hour period and has only one ancient computer with no printing capability. All the other hotels we stayed in italy prided themselves on free wifi in their rooms.
I would recommend the hotel but caution that you're not going to have a filling relaxing breakfast and be prepared to pay for wifi.

Room Tip: If you're a family make sure you ask for a room with two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Customers,
we thank you for your review and regret a lot that you find our staff at breakfast rude: an attendant stil under test has been dismissed.
We wish to know what in your opinion the buffet of the breakfast is lacking of being a large one with great choice of selected fresh products.
We also would like to inform you that unlimited WI-FI connection is free for all reservations made directly from our official website.
Hoping that you would come back the same at our hotel, kindest regards.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks ago and it really was a good find. Close to the centre of town and the train station. Beautifully decorated and unique - my room had an arched brick roof and a small sitting area by the window with a lowered roof, making it feel like a cross between a cellar and a grotto. The bathroom was interesting and unfortunately it has one of those showers where you're expected to hold the shower head, and it was in what I'm sure was the corridor at some stage, but clean. Yes, the decor could do with some updating (not because its unclean or not nice but simply worn, like the carpet) but I'd stay here again! The breakfast was good by Italian standards where getting anything more than a cornetto, coffee and a cigarette (I don't smoke) is always a good thing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Customers,
we thank you for your kind review: we are taking in consideration to improve the showers system.
The room where you stayed is in a "mezzanin floor".
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel, kindest regards
the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a really good 3 star hotel. It's situated a short 7 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from the Duomo. The rooms are quiet, clean with high ceilings and are reminiscent of a 16th century palace. Breakfast is a good continental spread and the beds are very comfortable. I would definitely consider staying here again if I had a quick trip to Florence. It's not the Four Seasons but is great for a short stay with a lot of charm and great location. One improvement that could be made is showers with fixed shower heads.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear customers,
I thank you together with all the staff for your kind review.
We are going to consider how to improve the showers system.
Hoping you'll come back to our hotel soon, kindest regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent 3 star hotel.
Great location: 5 min walk from Train Station - helpful when taking connecting side trips to other cities. I Googled-Earth the hotel, please do so, aswell. It is a short walk to everything. Can't tell you how helpful this was when you spend the number of hours on your feet as we did.

Hotel is an old palazzo, centuries old. Very charming. They rate it at 3 stars superior. I agree.

1.- I booked it through Expedia in May of 2012 for travel in March 2013. Great rates for a European hotel with the weak US dollar. Paid $238 for 3 nights.
2.- Room 450 was the one I was assigned. Cute. Nice and functional. Toilet is good for one flush. I am a two-flusher, usually. Takes a bit of time for the toilet bowl to fill. Be patient.
3.- Shower fills up with water easily. Slow drain, aswell. Be patient.
4.- Hair dryer fine for me (male) not good for my wife. Takes her an hour. Bring an adapter with a converter. We didn't. We had only an adapter. The power converter will control the power surges.
5.- Great breakfasts from 7:30 - 10:00. Has an internet computer room
6.- Check their website for more details.
7.- As I mentioned, I was there in March (I love the cold weather.) Had window open all night. Room 450's window opens facing about 80 feet from a busy street. Street noises are expected. If you close window, noises will be abated.
8.- Bed was firm - not Chinese beds firm, but more firm the the ones we have in the states.
9.- Staff assistance - excellent.
10.- Requested ice; delivered immediately. Funny, though, the cubes ( more shaped as ovals ) were packed in plastic. Never seen anything like it. HIlariously funny. Make sure you ask for ice if you wish to have a good laugh.

All in all, I will gladly stay there again, and will gladly recommend this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel has 67 rooms, according to their website. This old palazzo has 4 floors, but was designed by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Customer,
we thank you for your kind review that could be helpful to other guests.
Wishing to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel Paris,
warm regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We recently got married in Florence and stayed in this hotel with our guests, and I have to say, we all loved it! Yes the hotel might seem a bit old fashioned to some but that is what is so great about this hotel - it has a beautifully unique old Italian feel to it. The Presidential Suite is simply breath taking although some of the standard rooms for single people are very very small. The bathrooms were small too (even the one in the Presidential Suite which I was surprised at) and don't all have a shower. The hotel was clean and simply a pleasure to stay in.

The staff were beyond friendly and not only helped us out on the day of the wedding, but also recommended real nice local restaurants.

We all loved this hotel and its quirky nature. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MACFIRENZE, Direttore at Paris Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Customers,

thank you so much for your kind review: it was a pleasure for us to have you and all your family and friends as guests at our hotel above all on a such particular occasion.
Wishing you all the best, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Hotel

Address: Via Dei Banchi 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#142 Family Hotel in Florence
#156 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paris Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a historical building of the 17th century, the Paris is a luxury boutique hotel featuring frescoed ceilings, stained glass windows and and Florentine tile floor, all original of the 17th century. It lies 300 metres from Florence Cathedral and next to Santa Maria Novella Square: it is an excellent location walking distance from all the major attractions of the city and also from the congress and exhibition centre of Florence.Rooms at Hotel Paris are richly decorated with antique furniture and equipped with appropriate amenities. Each room has flat-screen satellite TV & PAY TV, minibar, WI-FI connection. The superior categories offer a view on the cathedral or on Medici chapels, others have exposed wooden beams on the ceiling. The classic marble bathrooms come with either bath or shower, they include personalized toiletries and hair dryer.Breakfast is served with a rich buffet in an enchanting room on the first floor with complete frescoed ceiling and stained glass mosaic all original of the 17th century. There is also a hanging garden on the 1st floor, which offers views over the historic centre of the city.Free & unlimited Wi-Fi connection provided through all the hotel, an internet point (to be paid) is at guests’ disposal on the first floor.Firenze Santa Maria Novella Train Station is a 5-minute walk from the Paris. For guests arriving by plane, the hotel can arrange a shuttle to Amerigo Vespucci Airport, 10 km away. Important information Hotel Paris is located in a controlled traffic zone. Guests may drive to the hotel but must park their car into a garage located within the ZTL that provides to inform the car registration number to the office of competence.City tax must be paid in cash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.