We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk Everywhere!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S Maria Novella 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 461 hotels in Florence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Walk Everywhere!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is close to everything! It is in a wonderful location, super close to the train station and all the sites. There are great restaurants nearby and even a laundromat. We had rooms that overlooked the piazza. They were on the first floor and it there was A LOT of noise late into the night and early in the morning. I hesitated to move because we were right beside the elevator and had just read a review by someone who said they were down a long hall and their room was broken into. In retrospect we should have moved. We had absolutely no problems and felt very safe the entire time. We would definitely stay there again, however we would request a room not on the piazza or at least a higher floor. Also, one of ours rooms was newly remodeled and it was lovely but the other one was older and very dated.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    143
    53
    17
    11
See reviews for
76
116
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location to walk to the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Accademia and other sites; and it's location right on the Piazza was a wonderful bonus. It is a short (5 min) walk to the train station if traveling to other areas in Italy. Their breakfast is a nice way to start the day. Although not a huge buffet, there was far more than we needed and a good variety of choices. The staff is pleasant, helpful, and efficient..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel has a great location. From the time we arrived, I could tell something was "off" with this hotel. It had a very Eastern European feel, the bar was never open, and the hotel felt very dark. The coffee was the absolute worst and our room had nasty carpet and was also extremely very dusty. We were there for a 3 night stay and on our last night, several people on our trip had their rooms broken into and lap-tops and i-phones stolen. The hotel claimed to have nothing to do with it, but in fact, they were the keeper of the keys in the lobby. It's not a way to end a trip that's for sure. We will never stay here again and highly recommend you don't either.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Roma is so convenient to everything! Besides being within the wonderful Piazza Maria Di Novella, it is close to everything within the historical part of beautiful Florence. There is a laundry mat just around the corner. Just a short (walking) distance to the Santa Maria Novella train station. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We could walk to all the attractions, Uffizi, Accademia (the beautiful David), the Arno (walk down towards the Arno, cross over and find the best Gelato), and the beautiful Duomo! This was our first time in Florence so we were unfamiliar with where to eat, but found so many wonderful eateries within the Piazza. We took a must see day trip (walk to the station and there's the buses) to the hill towns. Our experience was so wonderful, we are going back next year in April.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayreville, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We just returned from Italy and spent two nights at this hotel. It was very nice and we would highly recommend it. The room (we had a triple room) was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and quite good. The staff were helpful in terms of recommending restaurants, getting cabs and buying train tickets.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Hotel Roma is only a few minutes walk from the main railway station and is situated on a lovely square. All the staff we met at the hotel were very welcoming and helpful. There was a particularly lovely man who we met both serving in the bar and also in the breakfast room. He couldn't have been nicer - and seemed genuinely to be interested in helping the guests. Our room, like a lot of the rooms, overlooked the square which was a super view however even on the 3rd floor there was quite a lot of noise overnight from people in the square and then the inevitable cleaning up that goes on. If you're sensitive to noise you might like to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel. The room and the bathroom were both a reasonable size and both were very clean and pleasant. The breakfast was what you typically find in an Italian hotel and there was lots of choice. If you choose not to include breakfast there are plenty of places around for a lovely coffee and pastry before you begin your day's exploring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter but would lack a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Splendidly located albergo - Piazza Santa Maria di Novella,this explains everything.I did stay at this hotel three times and I do consider it as acceptable place to spend couple of nights,remembering,that the main reason to be in Florence is to be OUT of hotel.Hotel room is a place to sleep,change and get ready for the next adventure.However,if you want highly sophisticated place,with SPA,swimming pool and all that jazz,this is not THE place.Staff is very friendly,helpful and professional,location ( as said above),second to none.The ambiance of old oppulence still persist and is very pleasant.Be aware,that the bus load of tourist can block reception area for an hour,but this does not happen all the time,only morning (departure ) and evening (arrival).
Rooms are adequate (see purpose of staying),clean and well appointed,batrooms as well.
For guests arriving by car - valet parking available and garage will arrange all formalities related to entering traffic restricted zone.
Breakfast typical for hotel fare,quite forgetable.
Good value for money,great location and professional staff

Room Tip: As for all hotels located at the Piazza Santa Maria di Novella - if you are noise sensitive,avoid pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma

Address: Piazza S Maria Novella 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#129 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#135 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma is a 4-star hotel in the centre of Florence. It is housed in an ancient 18th-century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, one of the not-to-be-missed places for those visiting Florence. The hotel is the ideal place for every type of stay: for artistic and cultural tourism, business, fun and shopping. Hotel Roma of Florence is in an excellent location and has all the amenities while preserving the charm typical of historic Florence hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;