We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brunelleschi to your Saves list
Hotel Brunelleschi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel was lovely and in a great location, staff could have been a little more friendly. It advertised a swimming pool and when l asked reception about it they told me they didnt have one, it was at a sport club about 45 min away and you had to make your own way there. When l showed them their web page that said they had a pool they didn`t apologize just said they would have to change it and that it was wrong.
As of today 9/6/14 it is still advertising Hotel in Florence,hotel with pool in Florence enjoy swimming in the heart of the city then in small print says it a few kilometers away at a sports club.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Manager at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi. We are honored you appreciated the Hotel, at the same time deeply sorry that our Staff was not friendly enough .. Possibly the rigidity, at that time, came from the fact that we were managing a very busy moment trying to meet the greater number of requests together and to please our Guests; thank you for your comment, we will spare no efforts to improve our attitude !

We are sorry that the title regarding the ‘Pool’ could be reason of misunderstanding. Our intention was not to deceive our Guests: in fact, as you noted, we wrote in the web page ‘a few kilometers from downtown and the hotel’. Pool at the Sport Club is an additional service during the summer through a partnership with one of the oldest Club in Italy, in the beautiful Park of Le Cascine. Hotel Brunelleschi is located few steps from the Duomo : a walking through the city of masterpiece to reach the Sport Club, or bikes available at the Desk, with extra charge.


We remain at your disposal, looking forward the opportunity to welcome you again at the Brunelleschi, and have the opportunity to give you the best memories to take home.

Best regards
Fabiola Menchetti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    323
    75
    25
    22
See reviews for
235
801
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel right near the Duomo. We had two adjoining rooms, and though they were on the small side, they were comfortable and beautifully appointed. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful in planning transportation and providing directions. Breakfast was lovely. Generally a wonderful experience and I wouldn't suggest they change a thing. Loved the Dr. Vranjes bath products.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We want to thank You for sharing Your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. All information and details that You have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. We are very happy to learn that You did like the hotel and the breakfast and that you appreciated our friendly Staff

We invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Hotel Brunelleschi.

Kindest Regards,

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Been to Florence so many times, but this was my first stay at this hotel. It certainly caught me by surprise. Made the booking because of the location and configuration of the room (we opted for suite room). And although we had to be dropped some distances away and had to walk to get to the hotel, but the porter arrangement was super and didn't mind little walk anyway and which is fully understanderble being in Florence.

Love the way they blend the design of being "hotel" with few centuries old structure...although accessing to some rooms might be confusing. Large toilet and bathroom by European standard but lighting system a bit confusing.

Breakfast were great. Staffs were also efficient specially the concierge and porter.

Look forward to be back at this hotel again whenever in Florence.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn that you appreciated the Staff and the breakfast.

The Hotel Brunelleschi is located in the historic center of Florence and hosts the oldest Byzantine tower still remained in Florence, the Tower of Pagliazza. It is built on the ruins of St. Michael’s Church and another antique church, Santa Maria Nipotecosa. There are several elevators that have allowed us to connect the three buildings together.

Anyway, the Reception Staff is always at our Guests’ disposal to help in case of any difficulties.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The is an enchanting hotel in the heart of Florence. We were upgraded to connecting rooms on the top floor which were so beautiful and comfortable we hardly wanted to leave. The staff can't do enough to help and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We explored the private hotel museum housing the discovery of the city's oldest Roman artifacts, enjoyed the daily breakfast, and cocktails on the patio. For service, cleanliness, and comfort this hotel is exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn how comfortable you found the hotel and how you appreciated the service and the Staff.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have stayed here twice- once in 2011 and once in 2012. Between my two stays the lobby was renovated and though the hotel was always great, it was even more beautiful in 2012! I stayed in a suite the first time which was truly phenomenal, but even the regular room on my second visit was very nice. For European standards is was a normal size, and the staff was great about cleaning twice a day. The concierge was excellent with making reservations for us even when they didn't know the restaurants we selected (we like trying things off the beaten path!). Highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for staying with us and for your kind words—we are delighted to hear that you did like the hotel and that you appreciated the Staff. Providing our Guests with the best possible hospitality has always been our main goal and we are more than pleased we have achieved it with you.

Thanking you again for your comment, we look forward to your next visit for another extraordinary experience and we invite You to visit the Hotel Brunelleschi’s page on Facebook or the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Best regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A lovely hotel, in a great location. Before our arrival the concierge was helpful he arranged tickets and marvelous guides for us. Once in the hotel the staff could not do enough, they were wonderful. The hotel is well located in the heart of Florence, everything is within walking distance. The rooms like most in Europe or smallish, we had the Duomo suite which was quite nice, the bedroom was large and the setting room adequate, with a desk and small couch, but the views were breathe taking, we loved it. The bed and linens were lovely, the bathroom large and modern,with two sinks. To get to the suite from reception was a hike you have to take two elevators and about 20 steps , but well worth it. We had no complaints, everything was great except they charged us 10 euro for a wine bucket (no wine) and ice to be brought to our room; seemed excessive. When I go back to Florence I will stay here again. The hotel is expensive in season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your desire to share with us your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi, it allows us to improve our services. And we are very happy to learn that you did like the hotel location and that you appreciated the staff attitude. We are sorry regarding your feeling about our room service charge, but we are happy that this was the only point of your stay.

We stay at your disposal and we would be honored to have you as our Guest at Hotel Brunelleschi again in the future.

Kindest regards
Rita Panebianco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my sister and we had a wonderful experience at the place. It is definetely really beautiful, staff is friendly and the breakfast is marvelous.

We just have one but at this hotel, which is the size of our room and its view. Our room was definetely on the small size and we had views to a wall, so it felt claustrophobic. So be careful when choosing your room, as it is not a cheap hotel.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing a room, some of them face the wall of the neighbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment; we are very pleased to learn that you appreciated the Staff and the breakfast.

We apologize if you did not appreciate the room. Our Classic Executive Rooms have a minimum size of 18sqm / 195 sq ft but Deluxe Rooms (minimum size of 26sqm / 280sq ft.) or Junior Suites (with an area of about 432 sqft.) are available with extra charge. The Reception Staff is always at our Guests’ disposal to make the most pleasant possible their stay in Florence.

We look forward to have you soon in Florence as our Guest and we invite you to visit our page Hotel Brunelleschi on Facebook to be kept up dated on latest news

Best Regards

Rita Panebianco
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#14 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunelleschi, in the heart of the Florence's historic center, is more than just one of the most beautiful luxury hotels in Italy. Its history, origins and location in the historic Pagliazza tower make it an absolutely charming location and the epitome of medieval Florence.It is a location of inestimable value chosen by an international literary master. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunelleschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.