We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not so good service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brunelleschi to your Saves list
Hotel Brunelleschi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not so good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four days as a treat. The hotel itself was very good in terms of cleanliness, food, position etc. We were told that we had been upgraded on arrival, but the room was still small - although to be fair it was adequate for our needs. Breakfast room next day can be a little cramped depending on where you sit, but given that we were soon going out to explore this was not a major problem. The only issue I had was with desk staff who appear to be quite cold and sometimes rude. I never had this myself but witnessed it with other guests. My 'huge' issue was when we left. We left our room in perfect condition, yet on our return home were contacted by our holiday company Italia to say that they had received a complaint from the hotel that we had broken the shower door? This of course was absolute nonsense as everything was fine when we left. I received several messages on my phone and tried to contact the hotel directly but they never once returned my call. I explained to Italia that this was a load of rubbish as we are a middle aged couple and not in the habit of breaking things, neither would I not pay for something if we did. I can only assume that either this was caused by the cleaner or next guests, or possibly the broken door occurred in the original room from which we were upgraded. Either way it put a dampener on the stay. We never heard from the hotel or Italia again once I stated my case. Having said this, the hotel is in a lovely location and anyone should not be deterred from staying here as it is really nice. I would stay here again, but will be taking pictures of the room before I leave.

Room Tip: take pictures upon arrival and when you leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    357
    80
    26
    23
See reviews for
270
920
46
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel lived up to everything I expected of it & more. We were given a free room upgrade from a superior executive room to a Junior executive suite - loads of room and everything excellent, although I would have to agree with another reviewer that the internet was a little slow. Also be aware that if you qualify for a free meal, 1 bottle of wine can turn it into effectively a half price meal.

Having said those things the staff were very friendly & helpful when needed without being at all pushy. A great experience & would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here last year and was so pleased we returned with our daughter. We thought as a returning guest we would have a nice room, however the first room we were given wasn't, nearly big enough for two people. We complained, were given another a bit larger, but still not very impressive. Our daughters room was also quite small. Also, both rooms had no draw space for clothes so we had to live out of suitcases.

Internet was also different this year. Lots of problems and very slow. Not up to first class hotel.

On the positive side, location is absolutely the best in Florence, and staff is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralmanagerFi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Brunelleschi with us. We can assure you that the information you have taken the time to provide us with will help to improve our quality of service.

All information and details that you have given will allow us to offer our guests a higher level of service. Your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated and valued. They give us the opportunity to reflect on the current situation and to broaden our concept of hospitality.

We are very happy to learn that you did enjoyed your last year stay with us so much to book it another one this year. It is a commitment to upgrade our repeaters Clients and always try hard to do it; I do apologize if this has not been possible for your last stay. For the internet issue we would pass your comment to our head engineer as we did not change anything in our IT structure; thank you again for the information provided.

We are so proud that you find our staff to be excellent; this is so important to us as the service is the heart of our hospitality concept.

We would be honored to have you as our guest again in the future and please feel free to refer to the feedback you have provided us with when you make your next reservation. Doing so will allow us to offer you a special welcome in what we hope will be your home during your stay in Florence.


Claudio Catani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were in a car so needed to drive to the hotel - a bit scary as streets are v narrow and pedestrian only (except for access) - but you realise how central it is as you drive round a corner and see the Duomo!

Once we'd given them the car (phew) we wondered around - all the sights are within 5 min or so yet because of its location, the hotel was really quite.

Beautifully decorated room with a great bathroom!

Cost about €38 for car park over night - this included registering the car to let you drive on the pedestrian streets.

Would definitely choose this hotel again for Florence

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooftop dining experience was divine. We spent our last night (after 3 weeks) in Florence having dinner at the hotel. The service and food was really great. The view was amazing and watching the sun set was priceless!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel says that it is in the heart of Florence--and it is! The location could not be better. Virtually all the main sights and modes of transportation, including the train station, are within easy walking distance. The rooms are very nicely appointed with modern touches. The staff is excellent. It is true that the entrance is indeed on a side street and therefore hard to find, but that can be misleading; many of the rooms are in fact along one of the main streets of old town Florence--which is very festive with street performers and musicians, but can also be noisy with street cleaners and vendor trucks. Fortunately, the hotel has a modern ventilation system that does a nice job of providing "white noise" if desired, and the upper floors are more removed from the street. We understand that rooms with a view of the Duomo are on the quieter side, but the upgrade charge can be hefty. We stayed at the hotel for a week and enjoyed a very nice room on the street side, where the views are not bad in any event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely hotel central but quiet, staff excellent, food first class.

Bed linen and towels changed every day, good breakfast (unusually for hotels, especially foreign ones, they did great scrambled egg!)

Good location (Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi and Santa Croce all within 5 minutes walk).

Medium/high price but worth every Euro

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunelleschi, in the heart of the Florence's historic center, is more than just one of the most beautiful luxury hotels in Italy. Its history, origins and location in the historic Pagliazza tower make it an absolutely charming location and the epitome of medieval Florence.It is a location of inestimable value chosen by an international literary master. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Splendia, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunelleschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.