We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendor under the Duomo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brunelleschi to your Saves list
Hotel Brunelleschi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendor under the Duomo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is surely one of the best, if not THE best, hotel in Florence. Perfectly situated, it sits in a small, quiet square a short distance from both the Duomo and Piazza Della Signoria. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and the suites in the tower – Florence’s oldest standing building, have amazing views of the Duomo’s roof and dome. The hotel’s first floor restaurant definitely deserves a place among the thousands of incredible restaurants in Florence. What truly stands the Hotel Brunelleschi apart from all others is the impeccable service. All staff were friendly, very responsive to customer questions and problems, attentive yet unobtrusive, and extremely knowledgeable, especially about where to eat. Their restaurant recommendations were bang on target. We’d particularly like to commend the Front Desk staff, including Paulus, Aline, and Antonella, who truly catapulted this visit from wonderful to memorable. I don’t usually speak in superlatives, but there are no other words to use for this hotel.

Room Tip: If the Tower Suite is available I highly recommend it. The views are stupendous and the room is ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    357
    80
    26
    23
See reviews for
270
920
46
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were given a room on the south side of the hotel, it was very noisy as the street is pedestrian. With a big smile the hotel upgraded us to a huge room with a view of the Duomo on the north side. The bathroom was the size of a bedroom with a huge walk-in wet room.
The location is smack in the middle of everything. We came by car, and could not find out how to get to the hotel, which is in a pedestrian area. So we called them, they sent out a doorman, who guided us and then they valet parked the car!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This will be the hotel I will stay in whenever I am lucky enough to return to Florence. It was an enjoyable experience from our entry to our departure. The staff is attentive attractive and friendly. The rooms are clean and beautiful. The breakfast is delicious. All this and the location couldn't be better. It is a short walk to the main piazza and Duomo yet the hotel is completely sheltered from the noise and crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Brunelleschi is fantastically positioned, you really can't get much better. The staff were friendly and helpful. Housekeeping were particularly good, our room was always immaculate within about 15 mins of us leaving. Breakfast was fine, it had everything you need. The hotel was clean and decor modern. We really liked the bicycle service they offer, you can rent a bike from the hotel for ?15 which you have use of for 24 hours. My only comment would be if your thinking of upgrading it may be worth it as the standard room was smaller than I expected. Overall if your looking for a well kept hotel with a central position this one is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The history of the hotel as a women's prison should have put me off, but I found some irony in it as I was staying at the hotel with my new husband on our honeymoon! Our taxi driver told us it was the best hotel in Florence and as we emerged out of what seemed like an alleyway into Piazza Santa Elizabthea we were awestruck at the sympathetic way a perfectly equipped modern hotel had been built around a Bezentine tower. The greeting at reception was exceptional and the room luxurious (for a city-centre room). The location in the heart of everything Florence has to offer cannot be rivalled, not with the quality on offer. The restaurants offer something for every budget from traditional Tuscan menus and the ice-cream is a must! We returned for our first honeymoon this year and were pleased to see nothing had changed. The staff (many of whom were recognisable from the year previous) continued to deliver high levels of customer service and the quality of accommodation had not changed. We will return for our second anniversary for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, the hotel: beautiful. Better than it looked on the website, which is unusual. Good sized room, lovely clean bathroom, tea and coffee, huge tv, excellent cleaning and turn down service, and great air conditioning. The staff were very courteous and polite. Breakfast was much better than I've seen elsewhere in Italy, and I enjoyed taking my time over it with coffee, prosecco and pages from an English paper provided by the hotel.
Unfortunately there was a hiccup when I arrived, when I was taken on one side and told there had been a problem with my booking, which had been lost. Would I mind going to another hotel? I wasn't entirely surprised as I had read on trip advisor that this had happened to other travellers. I replied that no, I would not be happy to do this, and was quite genuinely upset. I guess I was lucky as I'd arrived early in the day (4pm) and the hotel accomodated me and fixed their problem another way. As I left, two days later, the duty manager sought me out and came and apologised again, which was nice.
It's an amazing hotel and the moment the problem was fixed I had a great experience. I think it would be well worth the management trying to fix this 'recurring' problem because it is not a true reflection on the general standard.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th (top) floor which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed at the Hotel Brunelleschi and had an unforgettable experience. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with the highest level of customer service by their friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. The rooms and facilities are spotless and extremely comfortable. The architecture is a perfect blend between old world charm and modern design. It is located in the heart of Florence, leaving everything in a convenient walking distance, while giving you the utmost privacy with its hidden entrance. The hotel's dining/lounge facilities are first rate with highly experienced staff and amazing food! We would return again just to eat if we couldn't stay the night. Their outdoor dining area is set perfectly in a quiet courtyard providing a wonderful ambiance for dining, while Florence's action is just around the corner. We cannot say enough about this hotel overall - an incredibly positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunelleschi, in the heart of the Florence's historic center, is more than just one of the most beautiful luxury hotels in Italy. Its history, origins and location in the historic Pagliazza tower make it an absolutely charming location and the epitome of medieval Florence.It is a location of inestimable value chosen by an international literary master. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunelleschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.