We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Brunelleschi to your Saves list
Hotel Brunelleschi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ideally central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We visited Florence for the first time and stayed at the Brunelleschi having found it on the internet. Prior to our visit the hotel management were extremely prompt and helpful in answering my various questions.
Our room was very good and the beds very comfortable, unusual in lots of hotels! The food was outstanding in both the downstairs restaurant and the very special tower dining room where we tried out the special Truffle Celebration menu, superb!
The positioning of the hotel could not have been bettered, just a few steps from the Duomo and the heart of Florence. Everything accessible on foot and many wonderful bars and cafes for the fortifying coffee's and refreshing beer's.
To be highly recommended for all age groups

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    357
    80
    26
    23
See reviews for
269
920
46
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

While visiting Florence, it was recommended by our travel agent that we stay at the Brunelleschi as it was described as a lovely hotel. This is partially true. The rooms and the overall hotel are lovely. Despite encountering many hotel staffers, we had a positive response from just one; the young woman who checked us in and escorted us to our room. She was polite and sincere. The remaining encounters were cold, brusque and uncaring. The staff was not helpful or engaging - asking a question seemed to irritate them.

Although the rooms were nicely appointed, there is not adequate space to relax with friends or family in a group setting. To do so, we joined in one of the common areas in the hotel. We requested and were served a bottle of wine in the lounge. One guest had the unfortnuate experience of spilling some of the wine as the table it was on, began to topple. The next morning our daughter was told that she was to be charged a HUGE fee to clean the spill on the carpet. I have never heard such a rediculous request in my life. I have travelled extensively staying in hundreds of hotels in my life and have never been treated with such disrespect, lacking the core tennet of customer service in a hotel; hopsitality. This unpleasant conversation took place in the hotel lobby in front of a number of guests and we were all made to feel very embarassed. It was an accident and should have been handled in that manner. A gracious host would have assured us that all was well and take care of cleaning the area as part of the normal course of running a business where people eat and drink - this CAN NOT have been the first spill to have happened. Charging her credit card in excess of $600 is truly a scam.

Shame on you Hotel Brunelleschi and future customers BEWARE - do not have the audacity to spill anything on the floor at this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sirs,

I am in receipt of your review which had my best attention.
I have great respect for your comment even if you are not always reporting the fact but try to figure the reasons why our staff should have been rude and snobby (because you are Americans!).
I can only respond to this with facts that shows how important the US Clientele is for us as follows :
1. Our rooms have US electricity plugs with no need of adapters for electric devices
2. We are listed in the CNJ guide and been awarded as most excellent newcomer for 2013
We have thought, during our intensive refurbishment to the Usa plugs for not giving the trouble of the adapters; are you still thinking that we don’t care about our US Clients?

The carpet on which the wine was spilled is an antique one and in order to remove the red wine stains the entire carpet has to be washed with a special washing technique . Before your departure the front desk manager of the Hotel had already checked the price for the cleaning of a carpet of this value and the respective measurements and was quoted 500 Euro. This price was then confirmed as the price for the actual cleaning. The cleaner’s invoice is available to you upon request. If you had been willing to give us your e-mail address upon your departure instead of just your phone number we would have been able to communicate more efficiently and we could have sent you already a copy of the cleaner’s invoice of 500 Euro. We strongly reject your accusing us of ”scamming” our Clients. Our Hotel is operated in a professional and respectable manner where the Client comes first. If you came away with the impression that our front office manager, who is valuable long time employee of the Hotel, was “incredibly rude” it is probably due to the fact that it was him that relayed the unpleasant news of the Client’s responsibility to you.

I remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.

Claudio Catani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hotel brunelleschi was a beautiful experience overall!!! It was even better than we saw on the websites, the photos do not do it justice as it for me was breathtaking instantly on arrival!!!
We were made feel very welcome on arrival and even upgraded which was a lovely surprise as it was my birthday!!!
The hotels interior was outstanding , the attention to detail and mix of old and new is superb!!The only negitive which i could mention was that the hotel food and drinks prices were very overpriced, two bottles of water were €14!!!! We didnt let that ruin our break , we put that aside as we loved staying there, but going forward maybe this is somthing the hotel could look into as iv noticed other people mentioning the same!! Our only dissapointment was our last day we lost out due to early flight, we had to check out at 3 am , as we had already paid for a full night plus bed and breakfast my husband asked would it be possible to get 2 bottles of water and a pastry to take away as we had an hours transport to pisa airport with no cafes open there and a two and a half hour flight ahead of us,the guy at reception made a phone call to check it out and said it would only be possible if we paid ten euro each for it??? I have to say we were a little taken back, and we said gratiously no thank you!!! I think that for a hotel of its standard i could not believe my ears as it was already paid for! We already lost out with early check out and then asking us to pay again was a little harsh !!As we already said we loved the hotel but i think that is a little off putting!!!We are not blaming staff as its not their fault as they were all lovely and friendly but management should look at that policy !!!
We had other hotels in mind before we made our choice, although hotels had a lovely design ,the locations were not great being so close to train station!! So we were not dissapointed with the brunelleschi ....as we chose it because we fell in love with the facade of hotel, with the adjoining tower old exposed brick and stone full of character and in that tiny piazza, right in the heart of Firenze, i felt like one of the locals!!!! I would highly reccommend the hotel and hope to return again !!!! You really cant find any hotel with that same feel and design and you really just have to step outside the door and the beauty of florence surrounds you!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are going to Florence, stay ANYWHERE but here! This was, by far, the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Yes, it’s pretty. The rooms are nice and modern. It’s located right in the heart of Florence (which makes it near impossible to get to by car). Yet, under that very thin veneer, it becomes a completely different hotel.

The staff is incredibly rude and snobby. My family and I were treated like we were lower than scum. Whether it was the fact that we were Americans, or the fact that we did not dress like we came from a lot of money, I am unsure. We were ignored at the bar in favor of other guests. The front desk staff’s unhelpful nature turned simple tasks, like changing money or getting directions, into long and very frustrating endeavors.

Our last night in the hotel we were being ignored, yet again, while sharing a bottle of wine in the lounge served to us by the bar staff. A glass of wine spilled onto a carpet when one of us nearly fell over because the carpet did not have a non-skid pad underneath it. The staff assured us while we helped them clean, that this was no big deal. At check out the next day we were interrupted by the Front Desk Manager who told me that I would be charged “anywhere up to 500 euro” ($670 US) to cover the cleaning of the carpet, once they got a quote from the cleaning company. He was incredibly rude and argumentative, and refused to listen to anything we had to say. Three days later, I received a phone call from the hotel stating that they got the quote back and it would be (surprise, surprise) EXACTLY 500 euro. Convenient. I wonder how many tourists they have scammed with erroneous charges like this…

This hotel was a massive dark stain on my two-week honeymoon in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHotelBrunelleschi, Direttore generale at Hotel Brunelleschi, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Sirs,

I am in receipt of your review which had my best attention.
I have great respect for your comment even if you are not always reporting the fact but try to figure the reasons why our staff should have been rude and snobby (because you are Americans!).
I can only respond to this with facts that shows how important the US Clientele is for us as follows :
1. Our rooms have US electricity plugs with no need of adapters for electric devices
2. We are listed in the CNJ guide and been awarded as most excellent newcomer for 2013
We have thought, during our intensive refurbishment to the Usa plugs for not giving the trouble of the adapters; are you still thinking that we don’t care about our US Clients?

The carpet on which the wine was spilled is an antique one and in order to remove the red wine stains the entire carpet has to be washed with a special washing technique . Before your departure the front desk manager of the Hotel had already checked the price for the cleaning of a carpet of this value and the respective measurements and was quoted 500 Euro. This price was then confirmed as the price for the actual cleaning. The cleaner’s invoice is available to you upon request. If you had been willing to give us your e-mail address upon your departure instead of just your phone number we would have been able to communicate more efficiently and we could have sent you already a copy of the cleaner’s invoice of 500 Euro. We strongly reject your accusing us of ”scamming” our Clients. Our Hotel is operated in a professional and respectable manner where the Client comes first. If you came away with the impression that our front office manager, who is valuable long time employee of the Hotel, was “incredibly rude” it is probably due to the fact that it was him that relayed the unpleasant news of the Client’s responsibility to you.

I remain at your disposal for any further information you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This amazing hotel is set only a few yards from the Duomo in the heart of Firenze.
It is a mix of original and contemporary styles, which compliment each other wonderfully.
The food is excellent and the staff extremely accommodating.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very swish hotel in the heart of Florence with high-class buffet breakfast and walking distance from the railway station, but take a taxi with luggage. Had a slight hiccup with allocation of single room instead of double but that was sorted out. Great choice of restaurants close by but on a cold, rainy night we made a bad choice by eating in. Bar prices were steep as was the E120 beef special for three which was too raw and fatty for consumption. There were apologies all round but no discount. Nevertheless, this did not distract from a hotel that offers so much in the way of modern comfort and convenience.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room without stairs leading to bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larchmont, new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

staff was m ost helpful in every way especially since we were in from ny and did not know the language. staff was most helpful in recommendations. front desk was outstanding and always with a smile. resturants in hotel met our every need and always with a most helpful staff. hotel was centrally located and coul not have been more perfect. specialty recommended shops were outstandin. need i say more?-----breakfast was wonderful

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking the square. lots of entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#12 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunelleschi, in the heart of the Florence's historic center, is more than just one of the most beautiful luxury hotels in Italy. Its history, origins and location in the historic Pagliazza tower make it an absolutely charming location and the epitome of medieval Florence.It is a location of inestimable value chosen by an international literary master. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunelleschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.