We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brunelleschi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Brunelleschi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Brunelleschi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #21 of 461 hotels in Florence
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Hotel Brunneleschi is an amazing choice in the center of Firenze! The hotel is an important historic place, since its tower are among the most ancients buildings in the city. The rooms are big, stylish and beatifully decorated, the bathroom is AMAZING, as well as toilettes amenities. The staff is not really warm, but is professional and efficient. The breakfast is execptional. I would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    855
    284
    73
    24
    21
See reviews for
207
709
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Other than a problem with the lift on the last day I can only praise this hotel. I got a very good deal through British Airways so it was excellent value for money. It could not have been more centrally located being just around the corner from the Duomo, easy walking distance from all the major sites and 10 minutes walk from the railway station.
Staff were unfailingly polite and always took the time to greet me. The room had all the facilities I needed and the fittings were extremely high quality. There was no bath and only a shower but this was not a problem for me personally. Water pressure was excellent and there was both an overhead and a hand held shower which was a nice touch.
Another nice touch was the turndown service in the evening including the TV (which had a music facility) being switched to play relaxing classical music. This was a very pleasant surprise after an evening out. The room I was in was probably one of the cheapest in the hotel but even so it was a reasonable size by italian standards. However the price meant that it faced onto the main shopping street so it was necessary to keep the window closed at night due to the noise. Florence was full of American teenagers during my visit and being teenagers they do like to party! There are quieter rooms but these are more expensive I believe.
The breakfast buffet (included in the price) was very high quality and there was a good range including some cooked items.
All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Brunelleschi and would definitely stay there again if in Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the Via dei Calzaioli are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We planned a return trip to florence to celebrate a special birthday for my wife.
We choose the Hotel Brunelleschi in Florance for that occasion.
We were not disappointed, great hotel, excellent position and the freindly staff made it a prefect break.
We had dinner in the hotel on the first evening, excellent food but the ice cream was to die for.
They have won many awards for the ice cream and it did not disappoint.
Will return at the earliest opportunity

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter, the hotel looks very nice and clean and some of the staff is very nice and helpful while some are not. The room and the bathroom was very small, and the lamp on the makeupmirror in the makeuproom turned itself on in the middle of the night! Very disturbing. And the cost of Wifi! 10€ for an hour and 18€ for 24 hours!!! Don't buy it, you can go down the street and get it for free in an internet cafe. How come an expensive hotel like this don't give you Wifi for free! Some of us has to work even when travelling and then Wifi is a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room and free Wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Hotel Brunelleschi was the perfect base for our trip to Florence. The staff was charmingly helpful, whatever the time of day or night. Their suggestions were great, and made our stay even better. The location is amazing, a block and a half from the Duomo. The rooms are very pretty, not huge but I loved the bathroom. The first day we had trouble finding our hotel, but learned to follow a tour group since they love to show off the hotel. We have been to Florence before, and this was our best stay. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We opted for quiet without a view, but that is personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in early April. The location was great, the breakfast second to none and the one evening meal that we had was superb, the waiters that served us that night are an absolute credit to the hotel, their customer service made the meal.

There is a discreet feeling of luxury to the hotel and the renovation has been carried out sympathetically. We saw many guided tours stop outside the hotel, however it although there are some great art books in the reception area, there is no information about the hotels history, perhaps something that the hotel could maybe think about including???

The only downside was the size of our room which was extreamley small, we had mentioned on checking in that we had just got married and so it would have been nice that had been taken into consideration.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is lovely! Fantastic location and very friendly and helpfull staff. We had our teenage son and they put in an extra bed and the room was still very spacious. The decor is modern and fresh and very comfortable and very clean. An excellent housekeeping staff!! Would highly recommend it. Our package included a dinner at their restaurant one evening. It was very good but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: If you will be sleeping late, after 8 a.m. ask for a room away from the housekeeping storerooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brunelleschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brunelleschi

Address: Piazza Santa Elisabetta 3 | Via De Calzaioli, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Florence
#15 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#19 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brunelleschi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Brunelleschi, in the heart of the Florence's historic center, is more than just one of the most beautiful luxury hotels in Italy. Its history, origins and location in the historic Pagliazza tower make it an absolutely charming location and the epitome of medieval Florence.It is a location of inestimable value chosen by an international literary master. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Brunelleschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunelleschi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brunelleschi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.