We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but thin walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Machiavelli Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 10, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location but thin walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Overall: We enjoyed Florence very much, and this hotel with its great location and good price made that so. If you have well behaving neighbors and no lamp breaks, its a good place to stay.

The location of the hotel is perfect. A few minutes from the train station, not even a minute to the leather markets and 10 minutes to the Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral, with many restaurants surrounding it.
The breakfast was good, one of the better during our Italy trip.
Service at the desk was there, although not very friendly, with forced greetings. Wifi was available in our room.

A negative point then, in the room next to us stayed a couple of teenagers who stayed up until 4 am. This wouldn't bother us, if the walls weren't so thin that we could almost follow their conversations. After 5x of loud knocking and even shouting to be quiet we could resume our (short) night of sleep.
Also something seemed to be wrong with the electricity network, which made some of the lights flicker and one morning one of them broke. Because it was a mercury containing energy saving lamp I notified the staff. When we got back in the afternoon, they had cleaned the pieces off the floor, but the broken lamp was still in the socket. I had to remove it myself and put it in a bag to bring it downstairs.

Overall: We enjoyed Florence very much, and this hotel with its great location and good price made that so. If you have well behaving neighbors and no lamp breaks, its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    287
    199
    59
    42
See reviews for
124
300
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a lovely hotel that while being a little older in some ways, definitely made up for it in service. The staff were outstanding and couldn't do enough to help in anyway that they could. I had a lovely room on the 4th floor (411) that had an outstanding view from it's little terrace directly across to the Duomo - perfect for afternoon apertivo's! It was also in a great location - 300 metres from the main train station, and right on the corner of Via Faenza which has lots of little restaurants and bars and runs straight down to the Duomo. Also only one block from the markets. I was there for a conference but the patronage was a mix of business and pleasure and it worked well for both. Wifi was good and worked well in almost all areas of the hotel.
The breakfast was fairly basic but good - standard tinned fruit, processed cereals, fresh (unsliced) fruit, cheese, ham, cream cheese, plain croissants, white bread rolls, plain muffins, good variety of quality tea and coffee.
The rooms were really quiet and I was never aware of hearing other guests coming and going. The beds were rather firm and the pillows very 'slim', but despite these things being a bit of a point for me, I was fine with them for my six night stay. All in all I would definitely recommend the Machiavelli and would be staying there again on another visit to Florence.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a terrace - it makes all the difference - level 4 or 5 I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is located in a great place - a two minute walk from the train station (just pass mcDonald's and you are on national st. No taxi needed), a one minute walk from the San Lorenzo markets, five minutes from the Duomo area and less than ten from the rest...
Although located near the station, the room was totally isolated so no traffic was heard in the room!

The room was Ok although the bathroom was stuffy with not even a tiny shelf to put your utensils. WIFI only worked in the lobby and dining room. Breakfast was very basic with no eggs, one type of cheese and in-fresh fruit but Ok.

Room Tip: Since the room was isolated....no need for special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Chose this location due to proximity to Train Station and Points of Interest in Florence. We stayed here for 3 nights and as a party of 8 we required 3 rooms. A Quad and 2 double rooms.
We had breakfast included with our booking which was very nice. I especially liked the unlimited cappuccino from the fully automatic machine. (yes - really!)
It was very easy to drag luggage from train station to this hotel. Staff was friendly, helpful and always smiling.
Easy walk to Market, Duomo and other key points of interest.
There are dozens of other hotels in the area. This hotel was not dirty but certainly not the most updated either. I would likely choose an alternate hotel in the vicinity over this one if I had to choose again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

As a large family with five small children, we found this hotel to be wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were great as was the food. The location is perfect with parking close by. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, and we couldnt wait to check out. The hotel was dirty, and the staff were unfriendly, especially the woman. The men seemed to be nicer.
Our room was ok in size, but had no view at all. We could only open up our window to a stinky back ally of some sort, so we couldnt open up our window.
The bathroom was extremely small. Plus we had BEDBUGS in our room. talk about disgusting. I have never had bedbugs at any hotel Ive stayed in before.
The breakfast was ok, but they didnt serve it until 7 am, and told me I couldnt even get coffee when I went down at 6:30 am to get coffee.
The walls are very thin, and we could hear everything. Very hard to sleep at night with all the noise of people and doors shutting, and water running.
The location was ok. On a busy street with many people, but close to the train staion. All the museaums however were on the other side of town, so we ended up walking a lot.
I will never reccomend this place to anyone, especially with so many other hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Nice hotel and nicely situated but very loud roms and alot of noise from the street, messed up a good nights sleep. Although the staff is friendly ii wouldnt recomend it. If do ask for a room away from the street. And 6 euro for a botteld beer is a rip off

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Machiavelli Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Machiavelli Palace

Address: Via Nazionale 10, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Machiavelli Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Florence and built on a Templar church, just a few hundred metres from Santa Maria Novella train station and the Fortezza da Basso, the Hotel Machiavelli Palace is the ideal location from which to explore the city's secrets and reach all the major museums and monuments on foot in only a few minutes.Multilingual staff 24h.Rich buffet breakfast.Air conditioned.Exchang service.Wi-fi service and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Machiavelli Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Machiavelli Palace Florence
Machiavelli Palace Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Machiavelli Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.