We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albani Firenze

Save Saved
You added Hotel Albani Firenze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Albani Firenze
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 12, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 461 hotels in Florence
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is quite a difficult review to write as our experience at this hotel was very mixed. Firstly, the check in was great and our room was fantastic - large, well decorated and clean. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything, and has some of the cheaper restaurants etc in the surrounding streets. The staff were pleasant and everything was going fine for us...

After we checked in I was showering and my wife was in the bedroom. Someone (we assume cleaning staff) opened the door without knocking, then quickly closed it when they realised someone was in the room. I understand mistakes happen, but this left us feeling very insecure as it is standard practice to at least knock before entering a room. We looked out in hall and could see the cleaning trolley, but were unable to work out who it was - we assume they'd entered another room.

The wifi throughout the hotel is not good. It didn't work at all in our room, and seemed to only really work near the lift and in the downstairs bar. No problem, I am happy to sit in the bar while I use the net - the only problem with that being the bar is never staffed, so you have to bother reception, who in turn call someone else, who arrives 15 minutes later, then disappears so ordering a second drink is impossible.

After 2 days we checked out, having had a great time in Florence and wishing the hotel had been a bit better. 3 days after that I receive an email from the hotel stating that I did not settle the mini bar bill, and requesting authorisation to do so from our credit card. As we hadn't drunk anything from the mini bar at all, and we'd been forced to use the substandard bar downstairs in order to access the wifi connection, this was the final straw. Fortunately the hotel agreed not to charge us for this, but it was the final annoyance from what should have been a great hotel.

Nice hotel, good location - perhaps our experience was just a one off?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
We took good note of your comments and we will pay more attention to the quality of our our service.
For the wi-fi signal we already infomed our IT department and they will fix it as soon as possible.
Thank you and best regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    218
    42
    11
    9
See reviews for
129
195
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with attentive and great helpful staff. It has a quality feel of a much larger hotel. As its off the main streets its quiet which is nice. It's in a very good position only 5 minute walk from the main centre attractions and close to the railway station. Restaurants are close by and an easy walk. We grabbed a taxi from Florence airport 10-15 minutes in the quiet hours, but there is a shuttle bus service which stops near the hotel.

Our room was a good size with lovely marble bathroom. Nice lounge area. Breakfast was served to 10.30am and served a selection of cold and warm buffet food, cakes and pastries. The room was cleaned each day and not too early to allow a nice long sleep.

We would definitely return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thak you so much for you beautiful comments,
We are pleased that you liked Florence and our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for three nights. Lovely hotel, definitely value for money. Situated within a 10 minute walk to the Duomo but on one of the quieter streets so no noise at night. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast only in the hotel but have no complaints lots of choice. Generally a great hotel and would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your very nice review.
Since you write that you will return, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
My warmest regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Albani Firenze 12 years ago and had a great experience. So, when we planned our trip to Italy for September 2012, we made sure to include a 3-night stay at the Albani once again. This time, however, our room wasn't in the main hotel, but in the annex right next door. That wasn't bad tho. Our room, however, wasn't a good deal for the price ($185 euro/nite avg.) The lights were so dim we couldn't read anything, particularly maps. Our window opened up to a view of the brick wall across a narrow alleyway. I guess the good part about that was, no foot or car traffic.
The folks that worked there, however, were absolutely wonderful. Helpful and very, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your nice comments.
I am so pleased that you liked our staff, for your next visit we will reserve you a room on the main building.
Warmest regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our experience at the Albani does not match other reviews. We were given a room filled with mosquitos and bug spray. We kindly informed them of our dismay, the woman at the front desk thought about moving us at first but, her male co-worker in front of us said "No!" and with a head shake. We then had to demand to be moved to another room which was mosquito and spray free. We asked nicely and was given a straight "No!". If you are at a "4 star" hotel you would expect better service that is why you pay higher prices.

Also, on their website they state "sound proof rooms"... Not sure if hearing the people above us urinate and flush the toliet qualify under "sound proof rooms". There was also constant pounding throughout the night.

Our other complaint was when we went out it was raining and we asked for an umbrella, the same male staff member gave us one umbrella for two people. Before we could ask for another he turned and walked away.

We would not recommend this place to anyone paying those kinds of prices for 4 star service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Madame,

I am sorry for your comments.
I would like to point just a couple of facts: the receptionists changed your room immediately after your request, with a room which was mosquitos free; you heard one of the receptionst say "No" but it wasn't an answer to your question but an aswer to a previus collegue's question, but I understand that it could be misunderstood.
When it rains we have some free umbrellas for our guests, usually they are big enogh for two but if you wanted you could ask for a second one.
I am sorry that your experience do not correspond to the experience of lots of other guests, we will do our best to make better and better.
Thank you and best regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights in this utterly delightful hotel.
We had just completed 5 nights in a large beautiful hotel in Rome and were not sure what to expect.
We need not have worried.
This is a well run, well maintained, impeccably clean, beautiful old town home turned hotel.
The front desk staff were most attentive and helpful and we loved our top floor room with its small balcony with bistro table and chairs.
The breakfast was served in the basement dining room and offered all the basics of an elegant European breakfast.
We loved the location, walking distance to the main shopping areas, supermarket and lovely cafes.
We loved Florence so much and staying at the Hotel Albani was just a treat.

Room Tip: Some Europeans travel with their pets and so we asked for a pet free room. This meant we had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your beautiful review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards.

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Albani in Florence for three nights, as part of our fifteen day honeymoon in several cities throughout Italy. This hotel was spotless, beautiful, located conveniently near the train station and within walking distance to most parts of Florence. But most importantly, the staff was extremely helpful and incredibly nice. One example, which sums up our entire stay here, was when the night concierge, Stefano, made dinner reservations for us at a restaurant he thought would be appropriate for us to celebrate our honeymoon. Not only was the food wonderful, and the restaurant staff very nice and eager to please, but Stefano had reserved the best table for us which overlooked the entire city of Florence. It was one of the most memorable nights of our honeymoon. When we returned to the Hotel later that night, we shared our experience with Stefano and thanked him for doing such a great job. The three of us hung out in the hotel lobby for the next hour and a half, into the wee hours of the morning, talking about life, laughing, and sharing stories about our respective countries. What a wonderful man who represented the best that Hotel Albani has to offer. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAlbaniFirenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Albani Firenze, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for you wonderful review.
We are very happy that you liked our hotel, but especially that you appreciated the service of our staff that is the best compliment that a General Manager can receive.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back soon!
My warmest regards

Andrea Vagniluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Albani Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albani Firenze

Address: Via Fiume 12, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#49 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albani Firenze 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 102 rooms are decorated with bright colours and enriched with brass accessories, picasso prints and reined carpets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Albani Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albani Firenze Hotel
Albani Firenze Florence
Albani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albani Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.