We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Scala 33, I-50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #101 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“June 2014 stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Lovely hotel, good location, close to main train and bus stations, and the centre of town. Rooms were lovely, ours overlooked the courtyard garden and the hot tub. We loved the hot tub and sitting in the courtyard for a drink after a long day sightseeing. Breakfast outside in a lovely courtyard too. Very helpful, friendly people, very good service throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was second floor overlooked the courtyard at the back with a juliet balcony which was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    356
    103
    26
    16
See reviews for
183
427
25
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My Mom and I stayed at the hotel Rivoli during my first trip to Italy during the end of May, beginning of June. Overall, I would recommend the Hotel Rivoli. Here's why:

Positives:
1. Room was large and comfortable. Very nice fixtures in the bathroom.
2. Location was excellent. Walking distance from train station, Plaza de Repubblica, and more
3. Bartender was very friendly, restaurant was nice for breakfast

Negatives:
1. Front desk staff was somewhat quiet, cold and reserved. I wasn't impressed.
2. Building next door to our room was undergoing construction and was very noisy overnight and early in the morning. The hotel itself was quiet, but our neighbors woke us up in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

In Tuscany with 3 teenage boys, decided to stay in Florence overnight to see fireworks over Arno- which were brilliant. Booked 4 person room- I know there aren't a lot of these in romantic Florence- and the room they took us to was like a two storey cupboard. Told reception it was not what I had been hoping for and they very quickly found us a suite at no extra cost, and with no fuss. The following morning one of my teenagers discovered he had lost his phone after we checked out- they let him back into room with porter to move all furniture and went through hotel laundry baskets to search for it- no phone but very helpful

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel upon our arrival to Florence, Italy. It was tastefully decorated and the rooms were large. The bathroom was long and clean, but much warmer than the separated bedroom. We were close to the pool and courtyard and enjoyed both. Breakfast was included and served in the garden or restaurant and a good way to start the day. The receptionist was helpful and provided us with maps to nearby restaurants, attractions, and bus routes. This hotel is situated near the Santa Maria Novella square and a good start to walking to attractions. We would return to this hotel because of the many advantages provided.

Room Tip: The rooms with large terraces provided a lovely sitting area overlooking the pool and courtyard. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

BW Hotel Rivoli was conveniently located near the Florence train station and all of the top attractions were between a 5-20 minute walk. The hotel lobby had an old-world feel and the rooms were very nice. We loved the beautiful, romantic balcony and large bathroom. We did not have any issues with noise like many reviews mentioned but we were disappointed that there was not free wi-fi. The breakfast was good and had a variety to choose from.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As we arrived by train from Milan the location just few minutes from the train station was great. Also all the historical views are 10-15 minutes away and we could walk everywhere. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good, not the best of the world but also nothing wrong with it ( it was included in the rate. Internet was really slow and we got disconnected all the time. The room size was ok a little outdated but that's more a question of taste. It was very clean and the bathroom was ok too. The reason that I rate the hotel only average is that is was very noisy du to the staff. Our room was overlooking the courtyard and on top a a "storage" room closed with a heave metallic door, till very late in the evening and from very early in the morning the staff would access the storage and slam the door very loudly, every single time you would wake up. That was really annoying and definitely did' allow for a nice rest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at this hotel after a cruise. It's a convenient hotel with helpful and friendly staff. However, the room was smelly (something like sewage) on the first night. Luckily, it subsided on the next two days. Room is a bit small and over-priced. It is also noisy as you can hear people talking in the corridor and lift going up.

Other good points of this hotel were internet access at reasonable price and the spacious lobby which I spent hours waiting the train on the last day after checked out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Address: Via Della Scala 33, I-50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#57 Business Hotel in Florence
#81 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#100 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Hotel Rivoli guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.