We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short walk from train station~Huge Rooms for Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Scala 33, I-50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #96 of 461 hotels in Florence
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Short walk from train station~Huge Rooms for Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great Hotel in the center of it all. Short walk from the train station. Very friendly staff. Free Wi~Fi , just ask the front desk for a code. Decorated nicely. Rooms were huge. When booking ask for the room with the balcony. We were surprised to see that we were the only room with one. Many nice sitting areas to relax in. Hotel had a bar and breakfast was really great. The neighborhood had great little restaurants and some grocery stores to buy soft drinks, chocolate, wine etc. We were able to walk everywhere. Saved money on public transportation. Bathrooms were also awesome for Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony~there is only one. If you are traveling with others, get the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    313
    93
    23
    15
See reviews for
168
387
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This our second time back to Florence so we knew our way around. So we wanted to be near the train station along with the sights. Perfect place as it is just a walk around the block and you are here. Last time we stayed in a larger hotel and enjoyed this much better. Staff very friendly and helpful. The common areas very well adorned and comfortable. We had that great room with a balcony overlooking the spa. Breakfast was good and with attentive service. Will be back for trip 3 and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location full points, 200 meters from station and very very close to duomo. No need for taking city buses since hotel is walking distance from all sites. Breakfast was nice with lots of variety. Rooms comfortable and spacious. Hotel staff friendly, for dinner there is a pizzeria on the street offering good pasta pizza.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What else can we say except this hotel does not deserve any bad ratings, the staff were so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. From printing off train time tables, to the daily weather. You were always greeted with a smile. The rooms and bed were firm which was wonderful for someone with a bad back and other bad joint problems. There is a lift so you do not have to walk up the stairs etc, great for people with disabilities.
The room was large for a European country. Bathroom large, Everything is really clean.
*The Breakfast was really good with fresh coffee made to order and a good selection of cereals, eggs, bacon, juices, yoghurt, fruits etc
The price for the room was amazing considering what you get in London for triple the price, we got more here for so much less!
The hotel is close to everything, the train station, buses etc connecting you to other cities. It is a walk able distance from everything, the streets are cobbled so if you are disabled like myself where sensible shoes.
Florence is just a beautiful city, the people are so friendly, you are made to feel so welcome. There are police everywhere, you feel safe and welcome.
Recommendation re Food there is Pizzeria called Pizzeria Tirabaralia across the road- The menus in English, food is so nice and the staff great esp the waitress Sylvia, we went there every night for the four nights, pizza's, wild boar spaghetti, omelettes etc were great, wine is cheap and really nice to, free local Tuscan bread with your meal as well. Good price they also do £8.00 meal deals. Its opened early to late so you do not have to wait to 7pm for dinner.
I only wish we could of stayed longer!! Thanks BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli for giving us a great four days stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirezioneRivoli, Responsabile reception at BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comment! I'm really glad we match your expectations!!
From all the staff and form me again thank you and hope to welcome you again at the Rivoli !!
Best regards

Daniele Torrini
Ass. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We choose this hotel based on its reasonable rates and close distance to the train station. It is located on street; via Della Scala, a quiet street off the busy intersections that lead to the train station. Our room was a superior room overlooking the courtyard. I did see the regular size room and compared to the superior, it is much smaller and tight spaces all around. Room and Bathroom are clean and functional but a renovation is due especially in the hallways and elevator areas. Heat from the vents is very strong that we turn off the system during the night because the room temperature gets really hot. The noises that we heard were shower water draining sounds from other bathrooms coming from the vents. The water sounds felt very much that water was going to pour out from the ceiling vents at anytime.

Front Desk Staff and Restaurant Staff were attentive and helpful. Front Desk Staff assisted us in booking restaurant reservations and helping us with directions. For wi-fi connection, they sell $5€ access cards giving you a login and password codes. Once the codes are activated, it is good for 24 hours and we were able to use the codes for 2 devices. Connection was fast and had no problems.

Breakfast buffet is included. The variety is quite good with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, cured meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, and sweets. Wait staff was wonderful and attentive.
The location is great! There are plenty of restaurants on Via Della Scala but we found ourselves on Via del Porcellana, nearby side street. We ate at the popular Trattoria Sostanza, Trattoria 13 Gobbi, and Ostaria dei Centopoveri. Also, stop and shop at Santa Maria Novella Pharmacy, which is right next door across the street. This is a fancy shop selling soaps, lotions, perfumes, room diffusers, and candles. The packing on these products are very pretty and make great gifts. Finally, just walking distance from the train station, no more than a 10 mins walk.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Best Western Hotel Rivoli three times over several years, most recently in February, 2013.

The hotel is a renovated fifteenth century convent, conveniently located (no more than a five minute walk) to Santa Maria Novella Train Station. For visitors arriving by train or bus from Pisa, the hotel is an easy walk (a couple blocks). Historic sights like the Duomo or Campanile are about a ten minute walk, with the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio roughly fifteen minutes away.

The rooms are spotless with comfortable beds (I slept well) and there are even three choices of pillows to help sleep. Bathrooms are various sizes, some equipped with tubs and others equipped with showers. The heating in my rooms has always worked well.

On my three visits, my rooms have been quiet and on the latest visit, I was lucky enough to have a balcony with the view of the garden and jacuzzi. Rooms include a mini bar (although there are food kiosks on Via Della Scala which are much cheaper) as well as cable television.

Breakfast is included in the price with a buffet including eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, pastries, yogurt and cereal. While the restaurant staff is fluent in English, I enjoyed practicing my three lessons of Italian daily.

The restaurant itself, Benedicta Ristorante, is open for dinner and snacks are available throughout the afternoon (12 p.m. to 6 p.m.) at the bar. On one particularly cold and rainy day, I enjoyed a Caprese salad. Snack options include soups, salads, sandwiches and pasta.

In the evenings, a glass of house red wine at the bar hits the spot. For four euros, I could enjoy wine with potato chips, nuts or olives included.

The hotel can assist with train and bus schedules (the front desk helped me with information on Siena) and can book reservations for museums and shows.

The street, Via Della Scala, while a little out of the main tourist area, has some interesting shops including Santa Maria Novella Pharmacy (which has been in business since 1612) and a wonderful sweet shop called Dolceforte.

The only negative I can think of from my visits is the internet service costs five euros for an hour, with no access to a printer. The internet access was not particularly fast, but it did work.

Overall, the staff at this hotel are caring, friendly and helpful and make this hotel an enjoyable experience. I would easily stay here again.

Personal travel blog: http://donnaharshman.wordpress.com

Room Tip: I would make sure the room does not face Via Della Scala.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my worst experience in Florence. The room was really small, and incredibly noisy: we couldn't sleep all night: some guest were screaming, and you can ear every single noise. The breakfast was normal, and the Price pretty high. We had to move to another Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli

Address: Via Della Scala 33, I-50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Florence
#44 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#83 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#87 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the old town of Florence, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Hotel Rivoli guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rivoli
Best Western Florence
Florence Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Rivoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.