We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Croce di Malta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croce di Malta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Croce di Malta Hotel to your Saves list
Croce di Malta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Croce di Malta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Great location close to railway station and all the main areas. Breakfast was adequate but beware if you eat outside as the pigeons are ready to steal it if you go back to the buffet. Friendly, helpful staff. The roof top bar is a lovely bonus for seeing the rooftops of Florence and the sun setting in the distance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    125
    88
    50
    50
See reviews for
69
136
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

You'll stay at this hotel for its central location, but probably not much else. Like other reviews you may note hereabouts I booked a family room only to discover on arrival we'd been 'upgraded' to two adjacent rooms. Great I thought - until the one room transpired to be the family room (nobody would get a decent nights sleep on the pull out chairs) whilst the other was really quite grotty. Whilst both rooms were dark and would have benefitted from a touch of TLC one was of decent size, with modern TV and a selection of channels, the second room very small, with an entertainment system comprising a very small TV monitor, hardly any channels and no remote control. Bathrooms were adequate at best.
Pool area is a nice to have and was welcome, though late afternoon evening dips will see the pool itself in shade, so is a tad chilly. Beware also breakfast taken adjacent the pool as no effort has been made to control the flocks of pigeons who'll eyeball you as if in a scene from Hitchcock's 'The Birds'. They'll not hesitate to swoop should you dare avert your gaze.
Warning too if you're arriving, as we were, by car. I'd arranged to drop the car in Firenze to take the train onward and didn't realise until on the doorstep that the hotel's policy failed to facilitate my dropping the family and baggage off before returning the car to the hire company. Apparently they'd only cancel the fine for accessing the restricted area if I overnighted the car in an international garage inside the zone (hire companies are just outside the restricted area.) Would have been nice if they'd highlighted this when making the booking.

Room Tip: I assume rooms overlooking the pool with be much quieter than those overlooking the main road (as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is the second time that we stayed at the Croce Di Malta hotel. The hotel is located in the center of Florence, within a walking distance from all great attractions of the Renaissance. A few minutes walk from the train station. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff greater us like an old friends and kindly helped us with the ticket reservations to Uffizi gallery and Brancacci Chapel. The restaurant at the hotel is the delight. There is a bar at the roof top; you can see the whole city from there. Go there right before the sunset and you will be amazed at the color palette and the majestic view of the Duomo. We will stay in this hotel again if we find ourselves in Florence.

Room Tip: The second floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A quaint hotel close to the centre of Florence and major tourist attractions and shops are within easy walking distance. We had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony and a great view. Furniture reflects the historical nature of this area of Florence whilst providing modern facilities. Staff were very helpful. The rooftop bar gave a 360degree of Florence rooftops - amazing! Breakfast was good and meal eaten in was great. However there are numerous restaurants and ice cream shops just outside the front door. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try for fourth floor with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Just checked in, hotel seems nice, but do not book a family room. I did and upon arrival they casually told me the family rooms are overbooked, so they split us into 2 rooms. Very disappointing, wife and daughter in a room, and father and daughter in seperate room. Let's hope stop in Florence and this hotel get better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
We would like to apologize regarding your room assignment, in effect instead of a family room we divided you in a triple and a double room next to each other, obviously keeping the same price, we considered that a sort of upgrade but unfortunately we didn’t know that your children were so young.
We also regret you didn’t report your dissatisfaction upon arrival instead of writing a comment on Tripadvisor, we could have found a better accommodation for your family.
We have available 15 family rooms and other connecting rooms so for this reason we usually don’t have problem to accommodate family, so once again we are very sorry to not have satisfied your needs.
Apart this inconvenience we hope to have you again as our guest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We (fam with 2 kids) stayed in this hotel for a week end July.

The location is excellent, on the border of the center, close to the main train station.
This also means as a tourist you cannot park your car there; the hotel offers a valet service, but this is quite pricey at 28 euro a day (I have been told however that pasrking at the main train station is even more expensive).
The hotel is lovely with very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast with adequate, with fresh rolls, croisants, fruits, cheese and cold meats and some hot dishes (scrambled eggs, sausages and sometimes bacon). Coffee from the machines was ok as well; juices were just ok.
The main attraction of the hotel was of course the pool! My kids really enjoyed that.
The hotel also has a rooftop bar, open for a couple of hours at night, if the weather is ok. Definitely worth a visit; the views are very nice.
We had a two rooms connected by a small staircase: two beds downstairs and two upstairs.
When my stepson arrived later the hotel did not have any problems setting up an extra bed downstairs: they didn't even charge us for that (just a bit extra for the extra breakfast).
Directly opposite the hotel there is a small supermarket run by a very nice (originally Indian) guy, who speaks English and will do his best to help you. The shop is open from 09:30 to 23:30, every day. Very handy!

All in all: a very nice place, great location, nice peoplea and of course: a pool (you won't see that much in Florence center!)
Oh: before I forget: Wifi reception in the room was excellent!

Room Tip: We were in room 127: Just one window overlooking the pool.... and the neighbor's balcony, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londolozi Private Game Reserve, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Florence teems with visitors during the summer period. But right in the centre of this busy city, a mere five minutes walk from the main train station, is a little gem. You receive the warmest of welcomes from Silvia and her front of house team. They really cannot do enough for you. At the back, there is a small shady garden with a fountain playing in the centre where you can relax under the trees with a drink after your journey. Then you can take a dip in a beautifully clean swimming pool before proceeding to a really comfortable room with en suite bathroom. Your evening cocktail is taken on the roof terrace with glorious views of Florence. Breakfast can be indoors or out. You really do not need to look for anything else in Florence. This is a wonderful hotel. I would go back any day.

Room Tip: There seem to be rooms with private terraces. I would go for one of those although I did not see one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croce di Malta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.