We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just checked in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Croce di Malta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Croce di Malta Hotel to your Saves list
Croce di Malta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Just checked in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Just checked in, hotel seems nice, but do not book a family room. I did and upon arrival they casually told me the family rooms are overbooked, so they split us into 2 rooms. Very disappointing, wife and daughter in a room, and father and daughter in seperate room. Let's hope stop in Florence and this hotel get better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Sir,
We would like to apologize regarding your room assignment, in effect instead of a family room we divided you in a triple and a double room next to each other, obviously keeping the same price, we considered that a sort of upgrade but unfortunately we didn’t know that your children were so young.
We also regret you didn’t report your dissatisfaction upon arrival instead of writing a comment on Tripadvisor, we could have found a better accommodation for your family.
We have available 15 family rooms and other connecting rooms so for this reason we usually don’t have problem to accommodate family, so once again we are very sorry to not have satisfied your needs.
Apart this inconvenience we hope to have you again as our guest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    128
    93
    50
    50
See reviews for
70
141
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We (fam with 2 kids) stayed in this hotel for a week end July.

The location is excellent, on the border of the center, close to the main train station.
This also means as a tourist you cannot park your car there; the hotel offers a valet service, but this is quite pricey at 28 euro a day (I have been told however that pasrking at the main train station is even more expensive).
The hotel is lovely with very friendly and helpful staff.
Breakfast with adequate, with fresh rolls, croisants, fruits, cheese and cold meats and some hot dishes (scrambled eggs, sausages and sometimes bacon). Coffee from the machines was ok as well; juices were just ok.
The main attraction of the hotel was of course the pool! My kids really enjoyed that.
The hotel also has a rooftop bar, open for a couple of hours at night, if the weather is ok. Definitely worth a visit; the views are very nice.
We had a two rooms connected by a small staircase: two beds downstairs and two upstairs.
When my stepson arrived later the hotel did not have any problems setting up an extra bed downstairs: they didn't even charge us for that (just a bit extra for the extra breakfast).
Directly opposite the hotel there is a small supermarket run by a very nice (originally Indian) guy, who speaks English and will do his best to help you. The shop is open from 09:30 to 23:30, every day. Very handy!

All in all: a very nice place, great location, nice peoplea and of course: a pool (you won't see that much in Florence center!)
Oh: before I forget: Wifi reception in the room was excellent!

Room Tip: We were in room 127: Just one window overlooking the pool.... and the neighbor's balcony, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londolozi Private Game Reserve, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Florence teems with visitors during the summer period. But right in the centre of this busy city, a mere five minutes walk from the main train station, is a little gem. You receive the warmest of welcomes from Silvia and her front of house team. They really cannot do enough for you. At the back, there is a small shady garden with a fountain playing in the centre where you can relax under the trees with a drink after your journey. Then you can take a dip in a beautifully clean swimming pool before proceeding to a really comfortable room with en suite bathroom. Your evening cocktail is taken on the roof terrace with glorious views of Florence. Breakfast can be indoors or out. You really do not need to look for anything else in Florence. This is a wonderful hotel. I would go back any day.

Room Tip: There seem to be rooms with private terraces. I would go for one of those although I did not see one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I had a very nice 2 night stay. Asked for a nice room with a view and definitely got that with a private terrace. More than I would have expected, a very nice surprise. The location was perfect right around the corner from the train station and Plaza Santa Maria Novella. Easy walk everywhere. The staff were nice and helpful. The decor and finishes could be updated but overall pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel's location is great. The hotel itself is a bit worn and old fashion, but some have already been restored, I hope the renovation will continue. The elevator was completely covered with a brown carpet, a little strange. The apartment was in a big family apartment, carpet is not the best option at the hotel, I recommend the hardwood floor. Too little drawer for a large group, but cabinets there is enough. The apartment was lighted weakly. Safetybox broke down several times and did not function properly. The staff is a bit distant, but polite. Swimming pool brought great recreation for long walks after.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I will start out by saying, the hotel staff is very professional, knowledgeable and superbly friendly. Without a doubt, I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I had a very comfortable and well appointed room. My room had a balcony with a great pictorial view of Florence. I really liked the versatile dinning settings that the hotel offers an (indooor/outdoor dinning experience) with very good views. I would also strongly recommend the roof top bar. I personallly, do not consume alcoholic drinks but you wont be at a lost. The bar offers non-alcoholic beverages as well. From the loftly roof top you can take beautifully landscaped photos in picturesque fashion.
Michelangelo's "David" isn't to far away via taxi or walking and there are very good places for eating and shopping along the way.

Room Tip: just make the request for a room with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked a last minute break to Florence and picked this hotel for location. Wasn't disappointed - all the main sites within walking distance. Wasn't expecting much of the hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. We arrived early so i asked if we could leave luggage and they said we could check in early - a bonus. When we got to the room i couldn't believe it. We had a duplex suite overlooking the pool courtyard, absolutely fantastic.
We had B&B tariff and breakfasts we good. On the 2nd evening they opened up the rooftop bar with superb views across Florence. Staff were very helpful Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croce di Malta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.