We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Croce di Malta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Croce di Malta Hotel to your Saves list
Croce di Malta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Nice Hotel to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Croce Di Malta is one of the hotel that i can suggest during your stay in Florence specially it's located in the City . Staff are very generous and helpful. specially Mr. Jun who assist us during our stay with my family. Looking forward to come back in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    151
    106
    54
    51
See reviews for
83
159
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel was the worse experience we have had.Booked through Qantas that promoted the hotel as a 4 star hotel this was a real rip-off.......it should have been rated a minus 4 star,

The first room we were given smelt of sewerage and with 34 degree temperatures and an air conditioner not working we requested a new room.

The second room was a joke with the bedroom on a roughly setup mezzanine floor and and a crude staircase.Slight sewerage odour was present but it wasn't until we slept there and were woken by a truck outside the hotel at 5am in the morning pumping out the sewer in street that we discovered water dripping from the ceiling by the bed and outside the bathroom.

Down to breakfast next only to be greeted with the worst selection of continental food ever.

A request for another room change saw us moved to something half decent but still we'll below any 4 star rating.This hotel needs to be seriously re-rated as not only was it expensive it would not pass as a 2 star on a good day.

Look at other hotel options before you book into this one.......we certainly will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book into this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I read through a number of bad reviews but disagee. It seems the hotel takes in feedback well as the majority of complaints seem fixed. Great sized room on the 2nd floor with excellant service from the staff and its in the middle of everything florance. Enjoyed the trip and stay greatly

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

On arrival this seemed like a really nice place and our room was a nice size, clean and a comfortable bed. The bathroom, although not very spacious was very clean. However there is no information in the room, other than the prices for the mini bar, there is nothing to say when breakfast is served or when the roof terrace is open, and more importantly there are no instructions should there be a fire. There seems to be no fire exits. The bar is very expensive and the breakfast is appalling. This must be the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. There are two breakfast rooms and one seems to have a better selection than the other plus it has a coffee machine that uses coffee beans, the other room had scramble eggs that looked like they had been there since yesterday and a very limited selection of rolls, meat and cheese, pastries and cereal and yoghurt. There was no toast for the eggs and the coffee machine produced something that tasted so bad I could not drink it. There were no mirrors in the room, only the bathroom, and there was no safe in the room. The wifi was free and I had no problems with it once I was on, there is a logon and password on the notice board in reception, again is don't understand why it is not in the room. I have given it average mainly because of the room size, comfortable bed and cleanliness, but the breakfast is at best a terrible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sir
We are deeply sorry that your stay in our hotel was not so pleasant as you expected, we think that details can make the difference so we thank you to put in evidence few aspects that we should improve.
I regret to not have received complain from you during the stay otherwise I would have been very glad to help you.
All our rooms are equipped with safe inside the wardrobe, information book on the desk with all the information regarding our hotel and food and beverage service opening time, instead the fire information together with the hotel planimetry are hung behind the door , there are also 3 mirrors in the room one in the bathroom, one hung on the wall and another one inside the wardrobe.
Honesty we don’t understand why you couldn’t find any of these accessories, we are checking and verifying to comprehend what could have happened and whatever the reason is we apologize for the inconvenience.
Regarding breakfast to improve the service during these days we opened another room with the second buffet to avoid overcrowding that we had in the past, we are working on a new setting so maybe being the first days something did not work properly and thanks to your suggestions we are optimizing our service.
Finally I really hope to meet you here once again and thank you for your opinion
Kind regards
Silvia Martella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

If you need to sleep 4 this is the hotel. We had a family room that was bi-level giving us two bathrooms and bedding for four. However, the oder is musty and breakfast is bad. I doubt I would stay again. We had to book within one week of going so it was last minute with few options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room 401 was tiny. My husband had to be careful each time he passed the window because the curtains and bedding nearly tripped him up. We had to leave our suitcases on the desk as there was no room to put them anywhere else.
The lift was next to the room pinging away every time the door opened.
We had no view as we were in the roof , our view was a wall and a hole in the roof outside the window. It was hot and airless, I wanted to take a photo of the sunset so went to the roof terrace, but it had been locked, the only way to see it was to leave the hotel.
Everyone complained of the breakfast crush, nowhere to sit and eat, no organisation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sir,
we are very sorry you didn't enjoy the stay in our hotel, unfortunately during your stay we were not informed about all these inconveniences otherwise we would have been glad to solve these problems.
We would like to inform you that our building is an historical one situated in the heart of Florence, we have 97 rooms different one from each other, lot of them facing our pool garden, other with view above the city, room 401 has a gambrel roof that many people like, so we regret that you didn't report this dissatisfaction to the front desk we could have proposed you another choice.
Regarding our roof bar it is open every day from 5.00pm to 9.00pm, the rest of the day the terrace is closed for security reason, but we can open it upon request at the reception.

We are very sorry for the disruption during breakfast unfortunately from the 14th to 17th of May we had two groups that for some misunderstanding had fixed breakfast at the same time, that's why there was that unusual crush.
We are strongly hope that you found our answers impressive and we hope to welcome you here again sure that you will enjoy totally your stay.
Kind regards
Silvia Martella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice and rooms are ok . Room 501 has a great private terrace over viewing the city!
Minus that you have to walk from 4th floor to 5th
On top there is a terrace open to all guests with a bar with 360 degrees view !

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croce di Malta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.