We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Croce di Malta Hotel

Save Saved
You added Croce di Malta Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Croce di Malta Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #253 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

On arrival this seemed like a really nice place and our room was a nice size, clean and a comfortable bed. The bathroom, although not very spacious was very clean. However there is no information in the room, other than the prices for the mini bar, there is nothing to say when breakfast is served or when the roof terrace is open, and more importantly there are no instructions should there be a fire. There seems to be no fire exits. The bar is very expensive and the breakfast is appalling. This must be the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. There are two breakfast rooms and one seems to have a better selection than the other plus it has a coffee machine that uses coffee beans, the other room had scramble eggs that looked like they had been there since yesterday and a very limited selection of rolls, meat and cheese, pastries and cereal and yoghurt. There was no toast for the eggs and the coffee machine produced something that tasted so bad I could not drink it. There were no mirrors in the room, only the bathroom, and there was no safe in the room. The wifi was free and I had no problems with it once I was on, there is a logon and password on the notice board in reception, again is don't understand why it is not in the room. I have given it average mainly because of the room size, comfortable bed and cleanliness, but the breakfast is at best a terrible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Sir
We are deeply sorry that your stay in our hotel was not so pleasant as you expected, we think that details can make the difference so we thank you to put in evidence few aspects that we should improve.
I regret to not have received complain from you during the stay otherwise I would have been very glad to help you.
All our rooms are equipped with safe inside the wardrobe, information book on the desk with all the information regarding our hotel and food and beverage service opening time, instead the fire information together with the hotel planimetry are hung behind the door , there are also 3 mirrors in the room one in the bathroom, one hung on the wall and another one inside the wardrobe.
Honesty we don’t understand why you couldn’t find any of these accessories, we are checking and verifying to comprehend what could have happened and whatever the reason is we apologize for the inconvenience.
Regarding breakfast to improve the service during these days we opened another room with the second buffet to avoid overcrowding that we had in the past, we are working on a new setting so maybe being the first days something did not work properly and thanks to your suggestions we are optimizing our service.
Finally I really hope to meet you here once again and thank you for your opinion
Kind regards
Silvia Martella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    124
    84
    50
    46
See reviews for
66
135
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

If you need to sleep 4 this is the hotel. We had a family room that was bi-level giving us two bathrooms and bedding for four. However, the oder is musty and breakfast is bad. I doubt I would stay again. We had to book within one week of going so it was last minute with few options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room 401 was tiny. My husband had to be careful each time he passed the window because the curtains and bedding nearly tripped him up. We had to leave our suitcases on the desk as there was no room to put them anywhere else.
The lift was next to the room pinging away every time the door opened.
We had no view as we were in the roof , our view was a wall and a hole in the roof outside the window. It was hot and airless, I wanted to take a photo of the sunset so went to the roof terrace, but it had been locked, the only way to see it was to leave the hotel.
Everyone complained of the breakfast crush, nowhere to sit and eat, no organisation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviale75, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Croce di Malta Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sir,
we are very sorry you didn't enjoy the stay in our hotel, unfortunately during your stay we were not informed about all these inconveniences otherwise we would have been glad to solve these problems.
We would like to inform you that our building is an historical one situated in the heart of Florence, we have 97 rooms different one from each other, lot of them facing our pool garden, other with view above the city, room 401 has a gambrel roof that many people like, so we regret that you didn't report this dissatisfaction to the front desk we could have proposed you another choice.
Regarding our roof bar it is open every day from 5.00pm to 9.00pm, the rest of the day the terrace is closed for security reason, but we can open it upon request at the reception.

We are very sorry for the disruption during breakfast unfortunately from the 14th to 17th of May we had two groups that for some misunderstanding had fixed breakfast at the same time, that's why there was that unusual crush.
We are strongly hope that you found our answers impressive and we hope to welcome you here again sure that you will enjoy totally your stay.
Kind regards
Silvia Martella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice and rooms are ok . Room 501 has a great private terrace over viewing the city!
Minus that you have to walk from 4th floor to 5th
On top there is a terrace open to all guests with a bar with 360 degrees view !

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed 3 nights during may 2014. Room adequately furnished for an old world hotel. Very noisy road to frontage, traffic and public disturbance all night.
Nice garden to the rear of hotel, quiet and secluded.
Breakfast was a problem every day, too many guests and not enough staff. Had to grab what was left while it was available.

Room Tip: Select a room at the rear if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Croce di Malta is very convenient to the Santa Maria Novella train station; that's why we chose it. We only stayed one night, as planned. The hotel ambiance is very pleasant; and the hotel is conveniently located close to the touristic center of Florence. There was no air conditioning; and opening the windows let in mosquitoes almost immediately. Mosquito repelling devices were available from the reception desk; but they didn't work so well. The breakfast area is totally inadequate for the number of guests. It's crowded; and nothing seemed to work sufficiently quick enough to handle the demand. The staff was quite kind; but over-worked. No complaints about any of the staff workers we encountered anywhere.

Room Tip: Try a room off the main street--in the inner court. Ours was on the street and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Croce di Malta Hotel is conveniently located near the train station and behind the Santa Maria Novella. It is ideally situated and within walking distance of all the great monuments and museums. There is just so much to see in Florence and suggest you take the time to relax and visit the Florence Market and admire the gardens of the Palazzo Pitti.

The Croce di Malta Hotel staff is most courteous and professional and have nothing but compliments to shower on them. The room was large and clean and gave right away on Via della Scala. Internet service was probably one of the best and fastest connections that I experienced during my trip in Italy. However, since I was on vacation, I was not too keen to check my emails frequently.

The only regret I have is that I did not have a chance to experience the roof top terrace and admire the view, as the terrace is only open during the summer. Perhaps next time...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Croce di Malta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croce di Malta Hotel

Address: Via della Scala 7, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Croce di Malta Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Croce di Malta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croce Di Malta Florence
Hotel Croce Di Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croce di Malta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.