We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Fabulous location, Exceptional Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de La Ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de La Ville to your Saves list
Hotel de La Ville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Antinori 1 (Via Tornabuoni), 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Hotel, Fabulous location, Exceptional Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 5 nights at the Hotel De La Ville to celebrate a Birthday and Anniversary.
The Hotel is located on the classiest avenue in Florence, within an easy stroll to the main attractions, and surrounded by Designer shops and too many fabulous places to eat to mention.The Hotel just oozes Italian style and elegance which is only enhanced by the exceptional staff we encountered throughout the Hotel, although a special mention should be made about Simone Canessa, who went out of his way to ensure our stay was memorable. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    74
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
132
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I had 6 nights at this hotel. The first room we were given was beautiful but quite dark. When asked if we could change to a lighter room the lady behind the desk offered to move us the next day as they were fully booked. True to form, when we returned from our sightseeing the following day we were given an amazing room. The bathroom was about 24 feet long. The room outlook was overlooking a church. What we hadn't realised, that in Florence because of all the historical building being so close together, not much light can penetrate inside the buildings. In this hotel only the front of the building gets the daylight. There only 6/8 rooms overlooking the front.

The staff were so friendly and offered recommendations for restaurants. Also the hotel is just a 5 min walk from the railway and bus stations. Very convenient for all the churches and museums. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. The breakfast had a good variety of food.

In the square by Santa Maria church near the railway station, there are two free English speaking walking tours. They are at 11.00 and 2.00 each day. Excellent guides which you give a tip to at the end if you have enjoyed it. Don't buy ice creams in the main piazzas as they rip you off. We paid €19 for two two scoop ice creams, which away from the tourist traps we could buy for €1-€2 per scoop. The same goes for coffees.

Room Tip: Rooms 201/202. 301/302 501/502
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Responsabile reception at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,

it has been really a pleasure to have you and your husband as our nice guests; thanks for your excellent review which surely will make our reputation even better.

We are glad you have appreciated the Junior Suite Michelangelo overlooking Piazza Antinori and the magnificent baroque facade of San Gaetano and Michele church. Also thanks for the nice comments on our friendly staff and on the varied and well-stocked breakfast.

We would surely be grateful in case you will decide to be our special guests, once again, in a next future.

Sincerely

Simone Canessa
Front Office Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Hotel De La Ville was the best hotel during our trip to Spain and Italy in the Fall of 2014. It was classy and luxurious. The location was the best, centrally located and in the most elegant and quite area of Florence. The included breakfast buffet was also of high quality.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Responsabile reception at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your experience on the precious Tripadvisor community and for choosing our hotel as the best one during your long trip.
What better prize to our daily efforts to make the stay of all our guests memorable?

Thanks again and we are already waiting for your next visit to Florence at the Hotel De La Ville.

Sincerely

Simone Canessa
Front Office Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Would stay here again. Good price for the location. Staff generally were great although there were a few (breakfast buffet woman) that I would suggest get another job, not that she wasn't efficient - maybe too efficient! She fussed around the breakfast buffet so much that I felt like a nervous wreck by the time I had finished breakfast. Not a relaxing morning start - comical really.

Room Tip: If you spend any time in your room during the day make sure you ask for a room with a view. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Responsabile reception at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

first of all thanks for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence and for sharing your experience on the Tripadvisor community.

We are really glad that you liked your stay up to comeback in case of a new trip to Florence; at the same time we are so sorry that you had not a good start in the morning at the breakfast because of a bad behavior of one of our clercks. We surely take to heart your remarks and advice in order to prevent this kind of situation.

We look forward to having you back again soon.

Sincerely

Simone Canessa
Front Office Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have just returned from a family holiday to Florence with 8 members of my family.
I have to say first impressions of the hotel was outstanding, very helpful staff, excellent location and very nice amenities. Bar was a little pricey but they put out some lovely appetisers and you get 20% off your first drink after check in.
Check In was smooth although we did arrive a little early so had to leave our luggage and go out exploring (this was not an issue for us)
The room itself was very spacious compared to other European hotels I have stayed in, bed was very comfortable, bathroom was very nice and everything was very clean no complaints there!
Breakfast was good with a selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, yoghurts and hot food (eggs/bacon/sausages) and of course lovely Italian coffee.
Location was superb next to lots of shops, a local food and drink market, lots of restaurants and wine bars, and only a 10 minute walk to the Duomo and the main bus and train station.
I would recommend the red bus city sightseeing tour as well!
Overall fantastic family holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel and visiting Florence, fabulous family holiday!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Responsabile reception at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for finding the time to review the Hotel de La Ville with these details and the kindness that marked you from the very first time you entered in the hotel until the very last time you left it.

We are really happy and satisfied that your expectations weren't disappointed about the rooms and about the staff who truly loved serving you and going the extra-mile for your needs: it's our job, to make everyone feel like at home.

Definitely, we are looking forward to having you back with us.

Warmest regards from Florence

Simone Canessa
Front Office Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights in this nicely located hotel, which is near the SMN train station: First night despite being on the 5th floor it was very noisy as our room was at the rear of the hotel, however I found a switch on the wall which lowered external shutters which solved this problem: Breakfast was good and was in a nice room with attentive service: The decor in the hotel is good especially the bar area, and the bar tender Ahmed was a fine host: Only drawback was the price of drinks in the bar (22 euro for 2 G&Ts). Very well situated hotel and near most things of interest:

Room Tip: Highest floor if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a single room for a short notice overnight visit to Florence. I had stayed in Tournabuoni previously and knew that the location suited my needs. On arrival I was allocated room 512. I have never, even including my nurse training accommodation, seen such a tiny room and en suite.I felt almost insulted to be offered the room. Admittedly, when I asked if there was an alternative room available I was moved to a marginally larger room (opposite the lift, far more effective than an alarm call) but seriously, why was I given the broom cupboard in the first place if a larger room was available? The room wasn't cheap, £129 and the facilities were really only average. The staff were courteous and friendly and the communal areas were comfortable and the decor pleasant but I'm returning with my family next weekend and I will not be choosing Hotel Da La Ville.

Room Tip: Definatley not 512 and 505 only if you have ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HtlDeLaVille, Responsabile reception at Hotel de La Ville, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

thanks for finding the time to review your stay at the Hotel De La Ville.

We are pleased that you have appreciated the location and the elegant communal areas of the Hotel De La Ville. Also we thank you a lot for the nice words you spent to praise our staff.

At the same time we are really sorry for the inconvenience about the room; we have just few single rooms on the 68 rooms of the hotel and unfortunately we were fully booked and no possibilities to offer, whether upgrading or with fee, a different room category. At the same time we had the possibility of improving your accomodation, even among the single room class, with the largest and comfortable one. In spite of their dimension, the single rooms have all the four stars standard facilities (flat tv screen, minibar, free wi-fi, private bathroom with shower or buthtub, air conditioning, safe, hair dryer, desk) which make your definition - broom cupboard - difficult to understand and to accept.

We were happy to have you and your family as our special guests, next weekend, in one of our Family Suite; the occasion would also offer to us the possibility to regain your complete consideration.

Sincerely

Simone Canessa
Front Office Manager
Hotel De La Ville - Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de La Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de La Ville

Address: Piazza Antinori 1 (Via Tornabuoni), 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#75 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de La Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de La Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Ville Hotel
De La Ville Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de La Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.