We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Suitable for Outlet Shoppers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Executive Florence

Save Saved
You added Hotel Executive Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Executive Florence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Curtatone 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 459 hotels in Florence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Value Suitable for Outlet Shoppers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel Executive, What to Say? Where to Begin?
- Pleasant staff, attentive and auto-responsive
- Rooms are out-dated with egg shell cracks everywhere except the doors
- Paper-thin walls, windows, cieling and floors
- Extremely high content of chemicals in the water
- Poor television offering
- 07:00-22:00 room service
- Poor selection at the free-of-charge breakfast
- Poor ventilation and non-smoking room designation

The hotel management will not appreciate my review, but since we spent 2 weeks at the hotel recently, we were highly disappointed with the difference between the description and the actual fact. Granted, the opening line from Mr Riccardo was you have been upgraded prior to arrival. But sometimes I wished I had not prepaid my stay. I found out that I could afford to stay at the St Regis, The Westin and the Savoy near the end of my trip.

Our first night should have been the warning, we were choking on cigarette smoke and hearing our neighbours re-producing for 10 min bursts from the floor above and the adjacents. When a complaint was made, the automated response was: "but your room is non-smoking", yes, I know that is what I booked, but we could not sleep until people left the hotel in the morning to go sight-seeing. We might be overly-sensitive to cigarette smoke, but this is Florence not Kabul not Cairo.

In any case, this cigarette issue resolved itself every other day, which equates to people checking-in and out every couple of days, but also we found that when cars/skooters were started underneath our windows we could smell what type of fuel they were using. then there was the paper-thin walls, it was like staying for 2 weeks in a house of cards, we could hear the dining room staff walking with their high heels through the lobby at 7 am, we could hear the house keeping staff discussing politics at 9 am, and our neighbours romancing each other in theirs rooms, bathrooms, elevators, we could hear traffic of course, but also the university of fashion design students discussing course works between lectures upto 5pm, and drunky tourists walking around the area post midnight. on our last few nights we could hear people zipping and unzipping their bags. we adjusted our sleep cycle to grab 1-2 extra hours of sleep when everyone left the hotel.

Yes our rooms were clean, I have stayed in many boutique hotels around the world, having traveled to 66 countries around the globe. but I must mention that both my wife and myself had to get checked by our dermatologist this morning about this strange rash on our scalps, faces, bodies and extremeties. We could smell high chemical content from the water when in use, but also from the linen. which we only experienced when traveling to africa and central america.

Breakfast, MMMM, my favorite meal of the day. experienced it once at the hotel and the remainder elsewhere. the fact we had to sit on nice furniture in window-less room with flourecent lights reminded me of an airport interrogation room, with the massive offering of pork, ham, panchetta, and sausage, it limits the options for Jews, Muslims, Hindus and Vegans. other options factory mixed eggs, bread and jam.

I understand that it is being given out for free, but good food is a minimum for a 3 star plus hotel, with the executive in my opinion should remain unrated until the renovations are complete.

The positives, with such convenient location and value, we were able to spend several thousands of Euros at the factory outlets on the outskirts of Florence, keeping the wife's mind off the quality of the vacation and grabbing excellent christmas gifts for friends and family with the season approaching.

Cabs to and fro the Hotel depends on the honesty of the cab driver, sometimes 5 Euros sometimes 10 Euros, and if you drop a couple Italian words with an accurate accent and remain quiet until destination you will find no magical buttons are pressed to add 2-5 Euros.

To avoid the room, we used florence as our hub, having several half days in Tuscany, Rome, Milan, Torin, etc. which was quite interesting.

All in All, Riccardo was great, he made sure we felt taken care of and attended to when some of his colleagues looked at us suspiciously like we were insane for making a complaint, we stopped complaining after the first day to avoid automatic responses, we have seen it all in 7 star hotels in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Vegas, to unrated boutique hotels in Paris art district and Miami. luckily we know how to create opportunities to remain outdoors.

Great Value, Needs Patient Guests, Creates Room in the Wallet for Shopping.

All the best,

Room Tip: * Invest in Noise Cancelling Ear Phones * Find a Dermatologist upon Arrival to Florence Just in Cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr Alkhaja,
This is surely the longest review we never received, our answer will not be as long as your comment, but we think one thing is clear: we are a 4 stars hotel and not a Dubai 7 stars one.
First of all, we thank you for your positive comment about our Staff attitude and personally for the nice words you used for myself.
After your complaint, we were ready to show you different rooms for your very long stay (2 weeks which is unusual for Florence average lenght of stay) the day after your check in; your reply was that you would like to try to stay one more night in room 116 and avoid the room change. After that, we did not receive any other request from your side.
Regarding the noise, room 116 is not facing the main street but on a secondary street, not very noisy. If you are so noise sensitive, just asking us for a room on the back side would be enough to avoid any kind of problem. Every room has double windows.
The chemical smell of the water is not our problem (wealso have a water filter system), but the high percentage of chlorine used by Florence water company. How can we avoid it? And then, is it dangerous for the human health? It is same chemical used to clean swimming pools etc...
We inform you our linen comes from the best Tuscany laundry service, they have many certifications you can also find a copy in every room.
We offer 20 foreign language channels (2 of them are arabic BBC Arabic / France 24 Arabic), we do not think is a really poor offer.
Room service: we inform you that an Italian 4 stars has to guarantee at least a 12 hours room service (our time is 07:00 / 22:00 15 hours). Only 5 stars have to give a 24 hours service.
We understand you do not eat pork, but our breakfast also offers 3 different kind of cheese, 3 cornflakes / muesli, scrambled and boiled eggs (omelette on request without any extra charge), 4 different croissants, fresh fruit, canned fruit, fruit salad, fruit and white yoghurts, gluten-free food, jam, honey, butter, chocolate, bread, toast, cakes, coffe, milk, cappuccino, espresso, hot chocolate, american coffee, tea, infusions, fruit juices.
Absolutely nobody looked at you an insane, we are used to help our Guests requests and/or complaints at our best, but simply you never really asked us to change a room or have a better situation.
We really suggest you next time to make a booking in a deluxe 5 stars hotel as you mentioned, where probably you will find a different service (agreed for a 5 stars not for a 4 stars) at a 5 stars rate.
Best regards
Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    74
    36
    24
    15
See reviews for
22
97
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Weekend trip to Florence with my wife - hotel offered good value (£100 night), location (15 minute walk to city centre) and the staff were friendly but it was a little tired and dated. We were in room 213 which was small and in need of modernisation.

Room Tip: Not our room (213)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mr Peter,

We thank you for your review, we are pleassed to know you found our staff friendly and helpful.
Room 213 where you spent your weeek end in our hotel has a new bathroom, we are going to remoder all furnishing very soon.
We take the occasion also to remind that our most luxury accommodations are the deluxe double rooms and the suites.
We thank you again for your preference givven to us and hope to welcome you back to Florence.
Sincerely Yours
Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Five friends on a long weekend in Florence. It's a good hotel with nice service. As often is the case in Italy, the breakfast is standard. I thought the location was pleasant close to the river and walking distance to the centre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Mr Anders,

We thank you very much for your nice review and hope to welcome you back to the Executive soon!
With best regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I think your readers to to be aware the Hotel Executive are 2 different hoels in one.
Great front desk staff, nice breakfast, charming lobby and public spaces, then every
thing changes. I looked on line and saw a new and updatd web page with nice appointed rooms.
I also read some of the previous reviews about room types which led me to believe that
I need to ask for a better room. I booked with an Italian Agency that does alot of business
with this hotel and told them that I wanted good rooms, not tourist rooms and was assured by the agency I would be taken care of. I was taken care of all right. I had a terrible room as did the rest of my friends. Nothing like the website. I was told they were all Executive rooms on
the web sight and I was booked in a standard. The standrard rooms are small, tired , dirty and warn.They have seen better days, about 15 years ago by the looks of it. It is a 2 star rateing. One lady had a 2 foot shower cubical that had a broken door so they put up a shower curtain in front of the missing door. Could hear your neghbors going to the bath room. They need to update this part of the hotel is dragging the rest of the hotel down. It is a little to far to walk
for some to the center of town.( 10E cab ride )
Lin Keep on travelin

Room Tip: Book and Exective room not a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Direttore at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ms Lin,

I thank you for your review. I remember we had an occasion to talk about the rooms your agency booked (standard rooms). For sure they are different from the deluxe ones, as well as the prices.
Your room n° 118 has a new bathroom as room n° 119 (we changed room n° 111 the one with the smaller bathroom and the curtain); the rest of the room is not brand new but not absolutely dirty as you wrote.
I understand you had a different expectation as the agency told you you were having superior rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

It is a beautifully old world hotel with statues and painted ceilings huge vaulted ceilings massive old style doors it is like walking in to a story
If you are looking for 21st century type rooms ( not sure why your in Florence then) it won't be to your liking
It is an18th century building and well worth staying here staff a friendly and helpfully the room I stayed in was spotless clean
There is noise from the road BUT it is a city centre hotel!!!!!!!!!!

Value charm and old world class
Truly brilliant

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr John,

Many thanks for your very nice words. In fact our most exclusive palace "Il terrazzino reale" is really a part of Florence 18th century history.
Look forward to welcoming you back in our House.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights on a trip round the top of Italy. Granted the hotel may be past its best but i thought it was great. Our room was large and spacious- and even had our own veranda! Breakfast was fine and the staff really helpful. Well placed to go exploring as no more than 10 mins from sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your 5 stars review! We really hope you will come back to Florence soon, giving you the same room with your private terrace.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riding Mill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The executive is a medium sized hotel within a 15 minute walk of all the city's major attractions and 100 metres from the Arno. If arriving by train, it's a 15 minute walk or a 10 euro taxi ride.
We noted the comments of other reviewers about noise and asked for quiet rooms. These were located at the rear of the hotel and were very quiet but there was a downside to the arrangement. Rooms at the back of the hotel are very tired. Ours was large with a big, double bed but lacking in any character and the bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment We toyed with asking for an alternative but it was hot and we were tired and we contented ourselves with letting the reception staff know of our disappointment. On the plus side, we slept really well, the rooms were kept scrupulously clean and everything worked. Free WiFi was available throughout the building.
Breakfasts were OK with a choice of hot or cold buffet. The bread was particularly good.
The hotel has a bar but we never saw it staffed. This was a blessing in disguise because we were forced to drink locally and found the Il Trip Per Tre bar just around the corner. (See our review)
Our stay was a success and we were well looked after by the staff. We would stay there again because we managed a cheap deal, its convenient situation and the Il Trip Per Tre bar! In addition, the hop on, hop off our bus passes the door.

Room Tip: Check out the Il Per Trip bar whether you are 19 or 90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr John,

I thank you for your review. It is true, some of our bathrooms are going to be refurbished very soon (most of them have already been renovated). I am pleased to know you found all our staff particularly helpful, a good sleepness quality and a great cleanliness.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Executive Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Executive Florence

Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Florence
Address: Via Curtatone 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Executive Florence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Hotel Executive Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Executive Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.