We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Happy in Florence” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Executive Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Executive Florence to your Saves list
Hotel Executive Florence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Curtatone 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 461 Hotels in Florence
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not Happy in Florence”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I think your readers to to be aware the Hotel Executive are 2 different hoels in one.
Great front desk staff, nice breakfast, charming lobby and public spaces, then every
thing changes. I looked on line and saw a new and updatd web page with nice appointed rooms.
I also read some of the previous reviews about room types which led me to believe that
I need to ask for a better room. I booked with an Italian Agency that does alot of business
with this hotel and told them that I wanted good rooms, not tourist rooms and was assured by the agency I would be taken care of. I was taken care of all right. I had a terrible room as did the rest of my friends. Nothing like the website. I was told they were all Executive rooms on
the web sight and I was booked in a standard. The standrard rooms are small, tired , dirty and warn.They have seen better days, about 15 years ago by the looks of it. It is a 2 star rateing. One lady had a 2 foot shower cubical that had a broken door so they put up a shower curtain in front of the missing door. Could hear your neghbors going to the bath room. They need to update this part of the hotel is dragging the rest of the hotel down. It is a little to far to walk
for some to the center of town.( 10E cab ride )
Lin Keep on travelin

Room Tip: Book and Exective room not a standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Direttore at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ms Lin,

I thank you for your review. I remember we had an occasion to talk about the rooms your agency booked (standard rooms). For sure they are different from the deluxe ones, as well as the prices.
Your room n° 118 has a new bathroom as room n° 119 (we changed room n° 111 the one with the smaller bathroom and the curtain); the rest of the room is not brand new but not absolutely dirty as you wrote.
I understand you had a different expectation as the agency told you you were having superior rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    94
    42
    24
    16
See reviews for
28
117
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

It is a beautifully old world hotel with statues and painted ceilings huge vaulted ceilings massive old style doors it is like walking in to a story
If you are looking for 21st century type rooms ( not sure why your in Florence then) it won't be to your liking
It is an18th century building and well worth staying here staff a friendly and helpfully the room I stayed in was spotless clean
There is noise from the road BUT it is a city centre hotel!!!!!!!!!!

Value charm and old world class
Truly brilliant

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr John,

Many thanks for your very nice words. In fact our most exclusive palace "Il terrazzino reale" is really a part of Florence 18th century history.
Look forward to welcoming you back in our House.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights on a trip round the top of Italy. Granted the hotel may be past its best but i thought it was great. Our room was large and spacious- and even had our own veranda! Breakfast was fine and the staff really helpful. Well placed to go exploring as no more than 10 mins from sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your 5 stars review! We really hope you will come back to Florence soon, giving you the same room with your private terrace.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riding Mill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The executive is a medium sized hotel within a 15 minute walk of all the city's major attractions and 100 metres from the Arno. If arriving by train, it's a 15 minute walk or a 10 euro taxi ride.
We noted the comments of other reviewers about noise and asked for quiet rooms. These were located at the rear of the hotel and were very quiet but there was a downside to the arrangement. Rooms at the back of the hotel are very tired. Ours was large with a big, double bed but lacking in any character and the bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment We toyed with asking for an alternative but it was hot and we were tired and we contented ourselves with letting the reception staff know of our disappointment. On the plus side, we slept really well, the rooms were kept scrupulously clean and everything worked. Free WiFi was available throughout the building.
Breakfasts were OK with a choice of hot or cold buffet. The bread was particularly good.
The hotel has a bar but we never saw it staffed. This was a blessing in disguise because we were forced to drink locally and found the Il Trip Per Tre bar just around the corner. (See our review)
Our stay was a success and we were well looked after by the staff. We would stay there again because we managed a cheap deal, its convenient situation and the Il Trip Per Tre bar! In addition, the hop on, hop off our bus passes the door.

Room Tip: Check out the Il Per Trip bar whether you are 19 or 90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Mr John,

I thank you for your review. It is true, some of our bathrooms are going to be refurbished very soon (most of them have already been renovated). I am pleased to know you found all our staff particularly helpful, a good sleepness quality and a great cleanliness.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I along with our grand-daughters ages 9 and 11 spent 4 nights at the hotel. We had a very large two room suit. The girls loved the old world charm of the rooms. The ceilings were 25 foot tall with huge windows. The bathroom was also very large. The suit was seperated from the hotel and was more like a private villa. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The breakfast would have been better with more selections of fruit and pastry. The hotel is small with only 40 rooms, but this is the type of hotel we prefer. Good central location. A good choice if traveling with children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to know you enjoyed our Suite del Granduca. We will be pleased to welcome you back soon!
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

While the location was good, I was not impressed at all with any aspect of this hotel. The room was nice looking, but incredibly loud at night and the bed was like sleeping on a piece of plywood. I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I try to find some positive aspects in your review, which is negative for our hotel.
You wrote that did not like any aspect of our hotel, but you say the room was nice and clean (4stars on 5). Quite honestly we had some noise problems in august, as the bar across our street has organised some music eventss without informing us in advance, with lots of people more than usual. More of 60% of our rooms are on a back street.
Regarding our bedding quality, our Clients use to find it very comfortable; I can guarantee we never had any Guests claim after yourss.
Sincerely Yours

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reda, Poland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is perfectly situated to visit Florence. In a short time you can From there it does not take much time to reach the most essential monuments of this beautiful city. The hotel is located on a quiet street. About 300 metres from the hotel in Via Borgo Ognissanti there are offices of the most well-known car rentals and thanks to this fact this hotel can be a suitable place from where you can start your journey around Tuscany. Besides, the hotel offers spacious and clean rooms with big and comfortable bathrooms. The efficient air conditioning ensures good cooling during hot days. We were only a little bit disappointed with breakfast: a small selection of warm dishes and cold meats. The hotel staff was very kind and helped us to contact with the airport about our lost luggage. To sum up, it is a appropriate hotel to walk around Florence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccardo_Cacioli, Manager at Hotel Executive Florence, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to know you found our quality convenient, and hope to see you really soon.
The air conditioning has been completely renovated this year, your positive comment is a proof the new system is working properly.
Kindest regards

Riccardo Cacioli, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Executive Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Executive Florence

Address: Via Curtatone 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Executive Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Executive Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Executive Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.