We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected from Mercure hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Slovenia
1 review
“Not what I expected from Mercure hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

Stayed there with my husband for three nights.
+ excellent location, free water in mini-bar
- room was VERY small; they had quite some problems with water - pressure in tap, several times water turned brown; cleanness of bathroom was not the best
I have expected much more from Merucre hotel, since I already stayed in Mercure in Munich and can say there is NO comparison between this two hotels...I guess it really depends on country in which you are staying and not hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, Capo Ricevimento at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 16, 2010
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your visit at our Cerretani Firenze Hotel.

With reference to your comments we apologise for the problems with the water, in fact in this case the plant of the water has gone to block, therefore when has been turned-on the water was brown.

We really assure you that we will take the measures to improve the cleaness of the room.

We really hope to welcoming back you in Florence to demonstrate you that your stay will be perfect.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    443
    146
    40
    13
See reviews for
184
561
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Agree with all the positive comments about this hotel. Managed to get a 3 for 2 nights deal off Accor, which brought the rate down to EUR110 per night. The fact that the rate included breakfast for two made it even better. The only complaints is that the room (which was non-smoking) reeks of smoke coming from the air-conditioner. Not so much of a problem last week when we could open the window to let the cool air in. But in the summer, this would be a problem if you can't stand the smell. When you come to Italy, I guess you've got to tolerate some second hand smoke.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, Marco de Pin, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all we would like to thank you for the comments received on our hotel. This will help us to improve our service in the future. We can ensure you that we took already action reguarding the smell of the smoke coming out of the air conditioning.

Good to hear that you enjoyed the package 'Enjoy three nights, pay for two' which also includes the breakfast.

Hope we can welcome you back in the future in our hotel!

Best regards,

Marco de Pin
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We were relieved to have such a nice place - and not too terribly pricey for a Sofitel - and close to the train station- literally a few blocks - and very nice rooms, service and great beds - the restaurant had a nice breakfast - we got it included with our room - which was a good deal.
Only weird thing is that there is a bit of a bad smell near the front door - smells a bit like a sewer and trials inside near the front desk - but once you pass the front desk - no problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

What more can you ask for than a great location, clean rooms and staff that goes above and beyond. I was in Florence for a wedding and this hotel was better than where the bride and groom stayed or the family. When I travel, location is key. This hotel was worth every penny! You are just minutes from the Duomo, San Lorenzo, bus stop for the Hop On Hop Off Bus, and much more. You would think being on a busy street, you'd here lots of noise, but the rooms were so quite!!! The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms spotless. For a Eurpean hotel, this exceeded most. Very spacious rooms and bathrooms. My only complaint is I would have liked breakfast included, but in my experience higher priced hotels like this one never include it. FYI - Skip the little cafe next door. They had terrible food.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, capo ricevimento at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2009
Dear Sirs,

we are in receipt of your kind message regarding your stay at our Hotel Sofitel Firenze.

We are pleased to understand that your stay with us has been satisfied your expectations.

For that, we assure you that we will share your comments with our team.

We really hope to welcoming back in Florence.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I had stayed here a few years ago, seems like rooms were much nicer now. You can't beat the location just blocks from the Duomo. AC worked great, even with temps in the 90's. Room was large for Italy and everything was very nice. I was surprised how quiet it was for being downtown, but my room faced the fire exit. Service at front desk was good, breakfast was ok, but we were told it was included at check-in, then they charged us for it at check-out. Bartenders were very fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, caporicevimento at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations with us following your stay in our hotel.

It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Florence. We are sorry for the fact that we informed you badly about the breakfast that was not included, we will try to pay more attention to this in the future.

It will be our pleasure to welcoming you maybe again in Florence here with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Unfortunately, like many hotels in Florence cars must be in the garage, for 35EUR a night you car will be picked up and valet for whenever you need it. As our car was rented I didn't want anyone else to drive it, so I chose to walk everyday to a car park nearby. I thought this was a little hassle, but I didn't mind it. Again, this was the norm in Florence, I can't blame Sofitel. Apart from that, our double room was surprisingly very spacious, with its own sitting area. The room looks and feels a little tired, needs minor refurbishment. The sofas were old. However, we really enjoyed our stay, the service was great, so was the location, which was perfect. Yes I would not mind coming back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, caporicevimento at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you comments regarding your stay here with us in Florence. This will help us to improve our service.

Unfortunately Florence doesn't allow cars from non-residents in the city centre in order to keep as many cars out of the historical center. Unfortunately the price of the garage doesn't depends on us; they gave us already a special price for our guests.

It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and therefore we hope to welcoming you back another time here with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I have stayed at Sofitels in Montreal , New York and Paris and this was not the service I expected from a Sofitel. Location is good but our room was small,dark and very shabby with worn carpets and dirty mats ( hiding the stained carpet ). Our room was at the front of the hotel on a busy road and the room shook when heavy traffic passed. Service pleasant but not with a smile and as mentioned breakfast was very expensive (as normal ) and not worth the cost ( which isn't) . There are better cheaper hotels in Florence - you are not getting the "Sofitel experience " by staying here. No internet in lobby only in your room which you had to pay for.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAGGINO, Collaboratore at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations with us following your stay in our hotel.

The hotel management, who expresses its apologies, has taken note of your comments regarding the carpet, the breakfast and the staff not smiling. Regarding the noises is very strange because all our rooms are soundprouf with double mirrors.

Anyway, Should you come back to Florence, we do hope you will choose our hotel. In this case, the hotel Manager will be very pleased to welcome you with a VIP treatment.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Address: Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
#57 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#101 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#109 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city's ideal vantage point at Sofitel Firenze - a contemporary-style downtown Florence hotel, set in a historical building from the XVII century - close to the Cathedral, Dante's House, and the main railway station. Adjacent to the elegant shopping district, Via Tornabuoni, Sofitel Firenze is regarded among the best Florence hotels. Our luxuriously furnished Florence hotel accommodations include 84 rooms and suites - all perfectly soundproofed, and equipped for high-level comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerretani Firenze Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Firenze
Sofitel Florence
Florence Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.