We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Florence Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Check in staff very pleasant and friendly.
The rooms were large and had tea and coffee making - no fresh milk but I am sure if we requested this we would have been given it.
The hotel restaurant was top class - limited menu but the food was excellent.
The beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable - if they could replace the mattresses to newer and softer this hotel would receive a higher rating - as we know it is all about a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

With reference to every single aspect of your review of your recent stay at our MGallery Cerretani Hotel in Florence, we are glad to read you enjoyed the attention received by our Front Desk staff. You correctly noticed that every room gladly allows tea and coffee facilities to all our Guests. Indeed fresh milk is not immediately available (it could not be fresh then) in our rooms; however, upon a simple call, as you easily guessed, our waiters are always glad to deliver it.
Our Restaurant offers a limited selection of dishes but the few we offer represent local tuscan specialities that we are glad you enjoyed.
I am a bit surprised to read your comment about our beds as the vast majority of our reviewers list the comfort of our beds as one of our best assets. Let me just remind all our on-line readers that our So-beds are a luxurious heritage of our Sofitel past where our Guests can find un unrivalled rest and relax after a long journey, a spending spree among the nearby fashion high streets shops or visiting the museums, churches, piazzas and all the historical beauty Florence can offer and that is all around our Hotel.
I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to review our Hotel in Florence and for choosing us for your stay in Tuscany. Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    444
    147
    40
    13
See reviews for
184
567
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Cerratani is a brilliant place to base yourself in Florence for a few days. It’s in a fantastic location, and it ticks all the other boxes nicely.

Accor’s central reservations booked us in for 2 nights on a flexible rate at 195e ($235) per night, room only. They were great with information about the hotel, particularly when it came to distances from the train station and main attractions. The hotel too was good in responding to my emails about tours. Although there was some inconsistencies in some of the replies, they booked us in for a walking tour of the city and offered sound advice for getting out to Pisa.

The location is the best feature of the Cerratani, just about 5-10 minutes walk to everything. From the train station, just go out the centre exit (past the ticket office) and you’ll see a big church to your half left (or it’ll be to your right if you go out the exit to the left of the platforms). Walk past the church on the left (north or shady side) and you’ll see the hotel on the left a few minutes later. If you hit the Duomo another 5 minutes on the same road, you’ve gone too far. We used the Duomo as the centre point of a clock face to navigate, with the Statue of David at the Accademia at 9 o’clock, the Uffizi at 3 o’clock, the Ponte Vecchio at 4 o’clock, and the hotel and train station at 6 o’clock. The streets around are just heaving with shops, gelato stands and restaurants, and there’s a reputable ATM in a bank vestibule about 2 minutes towards the Duomo.

The service at reception was friendly and helpful, giving us a map of the city, albeit a little thick with advertisements over some of the street names. Internet in the rooms wasn’t free, which would usually set me off on a rant, but to be fair, it was only 7e ($9) for the entire stay. And there was also a computer downstairs with free internet access and even a printer. We didn’t eat at the hotel, so I can’t comment on that, but as I said, there’s plenty of dining options nearby to suit all tastes and budgets. But it probably is worth noting that the room service menu is very sparse, and far from enticing.

Despite a tiny lift (with the one on the right a bit dodgy and in need of maintenance), the room was quite spacious. The bedroom and bathroom came off a small entry, which gives you a little extra privacy. The bed was comfortable, and the room itself was quiet, making for a good night’s sleep. The bathroom was on the pokey side, with an over tub shower, but perfectly fine and well cleaned. And as for the TV, a Fox movie channel and Fox television channel represented the English language options nicely.

We’ll probably opt for an apartment the next time we come to Florence, but if you’re in town for less than a week, the Cerratani Firenze is a fantastic little bolt hole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Can't fault the location (though a bit awkward with a car though), but this isn't a 5-star hotel (probably not even 4). Rooms were OK, but a bit tired and not like the website photos (maybe some rooms are - but ours wasn't)

I guess ultimately you are in Florence to take in the sites, rather than the room, so if location is your key, this is probably OK - but for the money, suspect you can find better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your time spent reviewing your recent stay at the MGallery Cerretani Hotel in Florence. It always gives us the opportunity to improve where we need to.
I will share your comments with our team and Management. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to improve the quality of our services.
A last note: we never stated, wrote or indicated we are a 5-star hotel and we do not even have the presumption to be as such. Maybe your information about our Hotel was not totally correct. Indeed, we are a good 4-star Hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We staid 4 days in the hotel & were fully satisfied with the spacious room, comfortable beds & central location. The room was very quite & we got a good sleep. The hotel is close to the dome & near to the train station. The breakfast is ok. The choice could be bigger & the service much faster ! But this is the only negative point. At the reception we got a map & a friendly introduction of the sightseeing spots.

Room Tip: We had a room to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas holiday at this hotel. Had a very quiet room at the rear overlooking the San Lorenzo church and the roofs of Florence, nice view.
Pros: perfect location to visit the city on foot, close to the station and all major sites. We found the beds comfortable, the room clean, and we appreciated the quietness of the hotel. Outstanding service at the reception, all the staff was fluent in English and French and gave us great advice for restaurants, sightseeing, driving directions, etc.
Cons: breakfast could be improved with a better bread/pastry selection for people staying a few days. The rooms are dated and overdue for a renovation. We stayed at a discounted rate because of the time of year, which was ok, but the full price is not justified.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Further to your post and your recent stay at our MGallery Hotel Cerretani Firenze, let me express my most sincere appreciation for your time spent to review our property.
I wish to thank you for your feedback as I am confident that it will be an important mean for us to take the opportunity to improve the level of our service.
Let me also thank you for your positive comments about our location, the comfort of our beds, the quietness of our rooms although we are right in the heart of a busy touristic city and the services provided by our Front Desk, which I am glad you liked.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are staying at the Hotel Cerretani Firenze right now and must say we are quite disappointed. The location is excellent - one block away from the Duomo and a few blocks from main sights, such as Uffizzi and Ponte Vecchio. However, there is no open restaurant and the room service only offers some cold cuts and the dreaded panini. The rooms are quite clean and quiet, because there are soundproof windows.
But the point is, we will be staying here for Christmas and it seems we are having panini as our meal. I distinctively emailed the hotel when we made the reservation, asking them about Christmas plans, and the manager said that it was too early to talk about that, but that there would certainly be something for Christmas. Really???? Of course there are some restaurants in the neighborhood, but we really wanted to have a nice, warm meal at the hotel and not to leave the premises in the cold evening.
The staff is ok. Some are more attentive than others.
The cleaning on the first day was disappointing, but we explained the issues to the manager (they only brought one clean towel - we are in two-, the trash had not been taken and the water bottles were not replaced) and things are a little bit better now. However, the minibar is not being replaced (as from day one).
Nice drinks at the bar.
All in all, I'm not sure I would come back in the future, despite the location. It is really, really disappointing coming back to the hotel after walking all day and not having a place to dine. Really disappointing.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Although we firmly believe there has been a misunderstanding, it is not in our way of dealings with our Guests to run away from our responsabilities: if you are saying that you were not satisfied with the cleaning of your room of the first day we would like to apologize for that. After you reported your complain at the Front Desk, things were immediately addressed. We are glad that, however, in your remarks you wrote and noticed that our rooms are clean and quiet.

As we mentioned, we believe we had a misunderstanding about our restaurant and are sorry if the many and varied suggestions we offered around the hotel and just at a very short walk away were not of your complete satisfaction.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Address: Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
#98 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#113 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city's ideal vantage point at Sofitel Firenze - a contemporary-style downtown Florence hotel, set in a historical building from the XVII century - close to the Cathedral, Dante's House, and the main railway station. Adjacent to the elegant shopping district, Via Tornabuoni, Sofitel Firenze is regarded among the best Florence hotels. Our luxuriously furnished Florence hotel accommodations include 84 rooms and suites - all perfectly soundproofed, and equipped for high-level comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerretani Firenze Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Firenze
Sofitel Florence
Florence Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.