We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Base for Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 68, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze) (San Lorenzo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast offer
Ranked #130 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Base for Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Cerratani is a brilliant place to base yourself in Florence for a few days. It’s in a fantastic location, and it ticks all the other boxes nicely.

Accor’s central reservations booked us in for 2 nights on a flexible rate at 195e ($235) per night, room only. They were great with information about the hotel, particularly when it came to distances from the train station and main attractions. The hotel too was good in responding to my emails about tours. Although there was some inconsistencies in some of the replies, they booked us in for a walking tour of the city and offered sound advice for getting out to Pisa.

The location is the best feature of the Cerratani, just about 5-10 minutes walk to everything. From the train station, just go out the centre exit (past the ticket office) and you’ll see a big church to your half left (or it’ll be to your right if you go out the exit to the left of the platforms). Walk past the church on the left (north or shady side) and you’ll see the hotel on the left a few minutes later. If you hit the Duomo another 5 minutes on the same road, you’ve gone too far. We used the Duomo as the centre point of a clock face to navigate, with the Statue of David at the Accademia at 9 o’clock, the Uffizi at 3 o’clock, the Ponte Vecchio at 4 o’clock, and the hotel and train station at 6 o’clock. The streets around are just heaving with shops, gelato stands and restaurants, and there’s a reputable ATM in a bank vestibule about 2 minutes towards the Duomo.

The service at reception was friendly and helpful, giving us a map of the city, albeit a little thick with advertisements over some of the street names. Internet in the rooms wasn’t free, which would usually set me off on a rant, but to be fair, it was only 7e ($9) for the entire stay. And there was also a computer downstairs with free internet access and even a printer. We didn’t eat at the hotel, so I can’t comment on that, but as I said, there’s plenty of dining options nearby to suit all tastes and budgets. But it probably is worth noting that the room service menu is very sparse, and far from enticing.

Despite a tiny lift (with the one on the right a bit dodgy and in need of maintenance), the room was quite spacious. The bedroom and bathroom came off a small entry, which gives you a little extra privacy. The bed was comfortable, and the room itself was quiet, making for a good night’s sleep. The bathroom was on the pokey side, with an over tub shower, but perfectly fine and well cleaned. And as for the TV, a Fox movie channel and Fox television channel represented the English language options nicely.

We’ll probably opt for an apartment the next time we come to Florence, but if you’re in town for less than a week, the Cerratani Firenze is a fantastic little bolt hole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    518
    179
    41
    16
See reviews for
214
672
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Can't fault the location (though a bit awkward with a car though), but this isn't a 5-star hotel (probably not even 4). Rooms were OK, but a bit tired and not like the website photos (maybe some rooms are - but ours wasn't)

I guess ultimately you are in Florence to take in the sites, rather than the room, so if location is your key, this is probably OK - but for the money, suspect you can find better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your time spent reviewing your recent stay at the MGallery Cerretani Hotel in Florence. It always gives us the opportunity to improve where we need to.
I will share your comments with our team and Management. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to improve the quality of our services.
A last note: we never stated, wrote or indicated we are a 5-star hotel and we do not even have the presumption to be as such. Maybe your information about our Hotel was not totally correct. Indeed, we are a good 4-star Hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We staid 4 days in the hotel & were fully satisfied with the spacious room, comfortable beds & central location. The room was very quite & we got a good sleep. The hotel is close to the dome & near to the train station. The breakfast is ok. The choice could be bigger & the service much faster ! But this is the only negative point. At the reception we got a map & a friendly introduction of the sightseeing spots.

Room Tip: We had a room to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas holiday at this hotel. Had a very quiet room at the rear overlooking the San Lorenzo church and the roofs of Florence, nice view.
Pros: perfect location to visit the city on foot, close to the station and all major sites. We found the beds comfortable, the room clean, and we appreciated the quietness of the hotel. Outstanding service at the reception, all the staff was fluent in English and French and gave us great advice for restaurants, sightseeing, driving directions, etc.
Cons: breakfast could be improved with a better bread/pastry selection for people staying a few days. The rooms are dated and overdue for a renovation. We stayed at a discounted rate because of the time of year, which was ok, but the full price is not justified.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Further to your post and your recent stay at our MGallery Hotel Cerretani Firenze, let me express my most sincere appreciation for your time spent to review our property.
I wish to thank you for your feedback as I am confident that it will be an important mean for us to take the opportunity to improve the level of our service.
Let me also thank you for your positive comments about our location, the comfort of our beds, the quietness of our rooms although we are right in the heart of a busy touristic city and the services provided by our Front Desk, which I am glad you liked.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are staying at the Hotel Cerretani Firenze right now and must say we are quite disappointed. The location is excellent - one block away from the Duomo and a few blocks from main sights, such as Uffizzi and Ponte Vecchio. However, there is no open restaurant and the room service only offers some cold cuts and the dreaded panini. The rooms are quite clean and quiet, because there are soundproof windows.
But the point is, we will be staying here for Christmas and it seems we are having panini as our meal. I distinctively emailed the hotel when we made the reservation, asking them about Christmas plans, and the manager said that it was too early to talk about that, but that there would certainly be something for Christmas. Really???? Of course there are some restaurants in the neighborhood, but we really wanted to have a nice, warm meal at the hotel and not to leave the premises in the cold evening.
The staff is ok. Some are more attentive than others.
The cleaning on the first day was disappointing, but we explained the issues to the manager (they only brought one clean towel - we are in two-, the trash had not been taken and the water bottles were not replaced) and things are a little bit better now. However, the minibar is not being replaced (as from day one).
Nice drinks at the bar.
All in all, I'm not sure I would come back in the future, despite the location. It is really, really disappointing coming back to the hotel after walking all day and not having a place to dine. Really disappointing.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Although we firmly believe there has been a misunderstanding, it is not in our way of dealings with our Guests to run away from our responsabilities: if you are saying that you were not satisfied with the cleaning of your room of the first day we would like to apologize for that. After you reported your complain at the Front Desk, things were immediately addressed. We are glad that, however, in your remarks you wrote and noticed that our rooms are clean and quiet.

As we mentioned, we believe we had a misunderstanding about our restaurant and are sorry if the many and varied suggestions we offered around the hotel and just at a very short walk away were not of your complete satisfaction.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Mercure Firenze Centro
Mercure Firenze Centro
#129 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#80 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel de La Ville
Hotel de La Ville
#58 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Duomo
Calzaiuoli Hotel
Calzaiuoli Hotel
#88 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#107 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Address: Via de Cerretani 68, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#124 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Florence, between the Cathedral and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, it is the prestigious Hotel Cerretani, ideal starting point to discover the wonders of the city. Cerretani Firenze is the perfect base for a cultural trip in the beautiful country in the footsteps of Donatello, Botticelli, Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. Located near the Duomo, the Medici Chapels and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, this hotel, which boasts 500 years of history, it will take a leisurely stroll to the Ponte Vecchio and the Boboli gardens. The palace of the XVI century, was born as a former home of a wealthy Florentine family, the Family Carnesecchi, still offers its unchanged facade chamfered in the architectural style of the time and the beautiful staircase in Liberty style, enriched with precious mirrors of a more recent past; tangible evidence of the historicity of the place. The Bar 'Michelangelo', intimate and welcoming environment, is ideal to taste the famous wines produced in the Tuscan territory accompanied by delicious meats and delightful cheeses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerretani Firenze Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Firenze
Sofitel Florence
Florence Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.