We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but not a great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Well located, but not a great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Can't fault the location (though a bit awkward with a car though), but this isn't a 5-star hotel (probably not even 4). Rooms were OK, but a bit tired and not like the website photos (maybe some rooms are - but ours wasn't)

I guess ultimately you are in Florence to take in the sites, rather than the room, so if location is your key, this is probably OK - but for the money, suspect you can find better

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your time spent reviewing your recent stay at the MGallery Cerretani Hotel in Florence. It always gives us the opportunity to improve where we need to.
I will share your comments with our team and Management. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to improve the quality of our services.
A last note: we never stated, wrote or indicated we are a 5-star hotel and we do not even have the presumption to be as such. Maybe your information about our Hotel was not totally correct. Indeed, we are a good 4-star Hotel.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    467
    158
    40
    14
See reviews for
194
602
63
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We staid 4 days in the hotel & were fully satisfied with the spacious room, comfortable beds & central location. The room was very quite & we got a good sleep. The hotel is close to the dome & near to the train station. The breakfast is ok. The choice could be bigger & the service much faster ! But this is the only negative point. At the reception we got a map & a friendly introduction of the sightseeing spots.

Room Tip: We had a room to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas holiday at this hotel. Had a very quiet room at the rear overlooking the San Lorenzo church and the roofs of Florence, nice view.
Pros: perfect location to visit the city on foot, close to the station and all major sites. We found the beds comfortable, the room clean, and we appreciated the quietness of the hotel. Outstanding service at the reception, all the staff was fluent in English and French and gave us great advice for restaurants, sightseeing, driving directions, etc.
Cons: breakfast could be improved with a better bread/pastry selection for people staying a few days. The rooms are dated and overdue for a renovation. We stayed at a discounted rate because of the time of year, which was ok, but the full price is not justified.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Further to your post and your recent stay at our MGallery Hotel Cerretani Firenze, let me express my most sincere appreciation for your time spent to review our property.
I wish to thank you for your feedback as I am confident that it will be an important mean for us to take the opportunity to improve the level of our service.
Let me also thank you for your positive comments about our location, the comfort of our beds, the quietness of our rooms although we are right in the heart of a busy touristic city and the services provided by our Front Desk, which I am glad you liked.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are staying at the Hotel Cerretani Firenze right now and must say we are quite disappointed. The location is excellent - one block away from the Duomo and a few blocks from main sights, such as Uffizzi and Ponte Vecchio. However, there is no open restaurant and the room service only offers some cold cuts and the dreaded panini. The rooms are quite clean and quiet, because there are soundproof windows.
But the point is, we will be staying here for Christmas and it seems we are having panini as our meal. I distinctively emailed the hotel when we made the reservation, asking them about Christmas plans, and the manager said that it was too early to talk about that, but that there would certainly be something for Christmas. Really???? Of course there are some restaurants in the neighborhood, but we really wanted to have a nice, warm meal at the hotel and not to leave the premises in the cold evening.
The staff is ok. Some are more attentive than others.
The cleaning on the first day was disappointing, but we explained the issues to the manager (they only brought one clean towel - we are in two-, the trash had not been taken and the water bottles were not replaced) and things are a little bit better now. However, the minibar is not being replaced (as from day one).
Nice drinks at the bar.
All in all, I'm not sure I would come back in the future, despite the location. It is really, really disappointing coming back to the hotel after walking all day and not having a place to dine. Really disappointing.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Although we firmly believe there has been a misunderstanding, it is not in our way of dealings with our Guests to run away from our responsabilities: if you are saying that you were not satisfied with the cleaning of your room of the first day we would like to apologize for that. After you reported your complain at the Front Desk, things were immediately addressed. We are glad that, however, in your remarks you wrote and noticed that our rooms are clean and quiet.

As we mentioned, we believe we had a misunderstanding about our restaurant and are sorry if the many and varied suggestions we offered around the hotel and just at a very short walk away were not of your complete satisfaction.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Address: Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#92 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#127 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city's ideal vantage point at Sofitel Firenze - a contemporary-style downtown Florence hotel, set in a historical building from the XVII century - close to the Cathedral, Dante's House, and the main railway station. Adjacent to the elegant shopping district, Via Tornabuoni, Sofitel Firenze is regarded among the best Florence hotels. Our luxuriously furnished Florence hotel accommodations include 84 rooms and suites - all perfectly soundproofed, and equipped for high-level comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerretani Firenze Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Firenze
Sofitel Florence
Florence Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.