We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location / nice room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 459 hotels in Florence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“central location / nice room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We staid 4 days in the hotel & were fully satisfied with the spacious room, comfortable beds & central location. The room was very quite & we got a good sleep. The hotel is close to the dome & near to the train station. The breakfast is ok. The choice could be bigger & the service much faster ! But this is the only negative point. At the reception we got a map & a friendly introduction of the sightseeing spots.

Room Tip: We had a room to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    356
    124
    33
    8
See reviews for
155
456
54
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over Christmas holiday at this hotel. Had a very quiet room at the rear overlooking the San Lorenzo church and the roofs of Florence, nice view.
Pros: perfect location to visit the city on foot, close to the station and all major sites. We found the beds comfortable, the room clean, and we appreciated the quietness of the hotel. Outstanding service at the reception, all the staff was fluent in English and French and gave us great advice for restaurants, sightseeing, driving directions, etc.
Cons: breakfast could be improved with a better bread/pastry selection for people staying a few days. The rooms are dated and overdue for a renovation. We stayed at a discounted rate because of the time of year, which was ok, but the full price is not justified.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Further to your post and your recent stay at our MGallery Hotel Cerretani Firenze, let me express my most sincere appreciation for your time spent to review our property.
I wish to thank you for your feedback as I am confident that it will be an important mean for us to take the opportunity to improve the level of our service.
Let me also thank you for your positive comments about our location, the comfort of our beds, the quietness of our rooms although we are right in the heart of a busy touristic city and the services provided by our Front Desk, which I am glad you liked.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are staying at the Hotel Cerretani Firenze right now and must say we are quite disappointed. The location is excellent - one block away from the Duomo and a few blocks from main sights, such as Uffizzi and Ponte Vecchio. However, there is no open restaurant and the room service only offers some cold cuts and the dreaded panini. The rooms are quite clean and quiet, because there are soundproof windows.
But the point is, we will be staying here for Christmas and it seems we are having panini as our meal. I distinctively emailed the hotel when we made the reservation, asking them about Christmas plans, and the manager said that it was too early to talk about that, but that there would certainly be something for Christmas. Really???? Of course there are some restaurants in the neighborhood, but we really wanted to have a nice, warm meal at the hotel and not to leave the premises in the cold evening.
The staff is ok. Some are more attentive than others.
The cleaning on the first day was disappointing, but we explained the issues to the manager (they only brought one clean towel - we are in two-, the trash had not been taken and the water bottles were not replaced) and things are a little bit better now. However, the minibar is not being replaced (as from day one).
Nice drinks at the bar.
All in all, I'm not sure I would come back in the future, despite the location. It is really, really disappointing coming back to the hotel after walking all day and not having a place to dine. Really disappointing.

Room Tip: Spacious, quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mante69, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at our Hotel.
Although we firmly believe there has been a misunderstanding, it is not in our way of dealings with our Guests to run away from our responsabilities: if you are saying that you were not satisfied with the cleaning of your room of the first day we would like to apologize for that. After you reported your complain at the Front Desk, things were immediately addressed. We are glad that, however, in your remarks you wrote and noticed that our rooms are clean and quiet.

As we mentioned, we believe we had a misunderstanding about our restaurant and are sorry if the many and varied suggestions we offered around the hotel and just at a very short walk away were not of your complete satisfaction.
Our warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The only dissappointing experience was the breakfast on the first day of our stay: the vegetables were not fresh, fruit salad began to ferment. Maybe quite accidental and not worth mentioning however the place is expected to be flawless. I would also add a toaster as there was none to make a toast.
Otherwise more than just OK - see my ratings for the location etc. To elaborate a little bit: the bar in the lobby is comfortable; room cosy and quiet although overlooking the street; bed just fantastic; the staff merits the highest appraisal: Paolo and Fabio from Rome and others at the reception were extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection

Also Known As:
Cerretani Firenze Hotel Florence
Cerretani Firenze Hotel
Sofitel Hotel Florence
Sofitel Hotel Firenze
Sofitel Florence
Florence Sofitel
Address: Via de Cerretani 10, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly Cerretani Firenze)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Florence
#53 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#88 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the city's ideal vantage point at Sofitel Firenze - a contemporary-style downtown Florence hotel, set in a historical building from the XVII century - close to the Cathedral, Dante's House, and the main railway station. Adjacent to the elegant shopping district, Via Tornabuoni, Sofitel Firenze is regarded among the best Florence hotels. Our luxuriously furnished Florence hotel accommodations include 84 rooms and suites - all perfectly soundproofed, and equipped for high-level comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.