We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Michelangelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Michelangelo to your Saves list
Starhotels Michelangelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Fratelli Rosselli 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for five nights in October . The hotel was a good walk from the centre of Florence but within a hundred yards from the hotel there is a tram which is just one stop to the main station . There is also a bus stop , the bus C3 takes you to the other side of the river which we used often and the C1 takes you to the middle of town . We found the location ideal for us as we like walking .
The hotel was of good standard and the staff were extremely helpful and always had time to help and advise us . Our room was large and really nice room 272 .
The breakfast was a little limited but ok .
All in all I would recommend this hotel and thank you for a nice stay .

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
thank you for the time dedicated to write a review on our property, it is a great pleasure to hear that your expectations were satisfied and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words make us very proud.
Hoping to welcome you soon in one of the Starhotels property,

Kind Regards
Gaetano Gatti - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    203
    63
    14
    4
See reviews for
96
131
9
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on business for a few nights in November, and having stayed in other hotels within Italy that are part of this group I wasn't overly excited prior to arrival.

The exterior of the hotel bares no relation to the immediate area, it stands out for all the wrong reasons however on entering it was a different story.

Check in was quick, polite and without hassle, my room was a pleasant surprise. Many rooms in Italy are small, dated and very basic, Have to say this was a decent size, well equipped with an excellent bathroom suite. The room facing the rear of the hotel also ensured the road noise was minimal.

Breakfast was varied with a good selection of options.

Room Tip: Made the fatal mistake of opening the windows for fresh air, even in November mosquitos were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for dedicating the time to convey your view on Starhotels Michelangelo .It is a great pleasure to hear that your experience with us was above your expectations.
Hoping to see you soon in our hotel and chain,
Kind Regards,

Gaetano Gatti - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I want say that I am very impressed with your hotel staff and their service. I received my Painting in its Tub in excellent condition and In less than a week after leaving it there by mistake. We were able to save our memories through this hand painted canvas. I highly recommend your hotel & staff anytime. Your professionalism is impressive, it made a huge difference on our vacation and memories.
Regards, Santia Pons

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
thank you for the time dedicated to write a review of your recent stay with us, we are really glad to realize that you have been impressed by our service.
We have shared your positive impressions with all hotel Staff, your kind words make us very proud.
Hoping to welcoming you again in Starhotels,
best regards,

Gaetano Gatti - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Well located hotel. Room is simple but a bit noisy due its proximity with the lift. Staff was polite and provided proper info about transport, landmarks and available for any request. There are 2 bus lines close to the hotel that connects to the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment regarding your stay in our Starhotels Michelangelo. We are sorry to know that the experienced was not positive at all, due to noise in the room. Your highlighting is important for us and will help in the improvement of our services.
We hope to welcome you again in Starhotels.

Best regards,

Gaetano Gatti – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Air conditioning is turned off starting Nov 1st- business policy. Zero air movement. Opening the window is wonderful except there are no screens! Mosquitos eat you alive! We asked for fans or a solution - none offered.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are deeply sorry to understand that your experience with us was unpleasant due to temperature and mosquitos in the room.
Unfortunately in the last 2-3 weeks the external temperature constantly changed, with an unusual trend for this mid-season. The AC was turned off at the end of October after a week of very cold weather when clients claimed heating. Even the presence of such a lot of mosquitos in November around us is an exceptional event , due to the sudden and unexpected increase of the outside temperature of these last days. We tried to solve the problem in the rooms using a bug spray, but the results we obtained were probably only partial.
Once again we want to apologize for the inconveniences and hope to have the chance to offer you a better stay in the future.

Best regards
Gaetano Gatti - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Globus tour. The room was fine, more spacious than we expected. Everything was very clean and the hotel staff was friendly a gave good advice on directions and possible places for dinner. Location was OK, walkable to Sante Croce and surrounding sites, but a rather long walk. It was an 8 Euro cab ride which wasn't bad. The only dissapointment was that the hotel staff was not prepared to deal with the volume of people lining up for breakfast. There were two tour groups trying to get off to early starts both days we ate breakfast there. While the selection of foods was ample, They quickly ran out of eggs, bacon, cold cuts, cheeses etc. Basically all the protein items while there were plenty of carbohydates (not good for a diebetic). It took them along time to refill the empty trays. Otherwise, this was a fine stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for the time spent on giving us a feedback. It is really a pleasure to hear that we met your expectations in terms of location, cleanness and service. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience occurred at breakfast time. When there are different groups in house our Front Desk Staff tries to organize breakfast morning access speaking directly with the Tour Leaders. Unfortunately most of times all our attempts are unsuccessfull, due to the restricted schedules of the Tour Manager, thefore we cannot avoid that differents groups had breakfast all together.
Hoping that you will come to visit Starhotels soon.

Kind Regards,
Gaetano Gatti - Starhotels Michelangelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

On a recent trip, I was simply looking for a quick place to crash before an early flight in the morning. I booked the Michelangelo not expecting much and was quite surprised by how good it was. I had a street-facing room and immediately worried about the late night noise, but needn't have. The room was quiet all night. In addition, the hotel is mere steps from a tram stop and 5 minutes later, you're at the central train station and a short walk from the heart of Florence.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are glad to hear that your stay here in our Starhotels Michelangelo was pleasant and better than your expectations in terms of location, room confort and service. We are proud of it and your comments are really important for us.
We thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and we hope to welcome you once again in Starhotels.

Best regards
Gaetano Gatti – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Michelangelo

Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Florence
#60 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#113 Family Hotel in Florence
#141 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Michelangelo 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Michelangelo, in Florence, enjoys an outstanding location in the heart of the city. We're just steps from the River Arno, where you can enjoy stunning views towards the Ponte Vecchio, a few steps from the major monumets and the city centre.Our 4 star hotel in Florence offers you everything you need with 119 rooms and suites, 7 meeting rooms for up to 220 people, wine bar, restaurant, garage and Fitness Room open 24/7.A hotel recently restyled in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Starhotels Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Michelangelo Florence
Starhotels Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Michelangelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.