We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not get a better location in Florence!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo View B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Duomo View B&B to your Saves list
Duomo View B&B
1.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Piazza San Giovanni 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You will not get a better location in Florence!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Duomo View for 2 nights. The hotel is located in the Piazza San Giovanni, which is where the Duomo is located. You are minutes walking distance from pretty much all major sites and it is about 30 mins walk (but there is a bus that runs, but you will still have to climb the steep slope of steps to get to the top) to Piazzale Michelangelo which will give you a stunning panoramic view of the city.

The hotel itself is very quaint, but the room we had was massive!! There were what appeared to be smaller rooms, but I can only judge based on the one we had. It was decorated fairly modernly.

Service was wonderful and the gentlemen who runs the hotel was very friendly. Breakfast is included and is served to you in your room (which we found wonderful). It is typical European style breakfast - hot fresh pastries, rusks, juice, and your choice of coffee, tea or chocolate milk and various jams. However, it is one man serving 5 rooms breakfast (one morning all guests wanted breakfast at 8:30 a.m.). If you are in a hurry you may want to ensure a 5-10 mins leeway in order to get breakfast in time. But really, who is in a hurry in Florence! Breakfast is only available between 8:30 and 10:30 (maybe 11, not sure 100% positive).

Our stay was wonderful and we really enjoyed the hotel. Great location with a great value!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    51
    18
    5
    11
See reviews for
19
105
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

My other half and I just got back from a trip to Florence and we stayed at the Duomo View. We flew to Pisa and then got the train to Florence - which really couldn't have been easier, even for one non-Italian speaker and one thinks-he-can-but-actually-can't- Italian speaker. We decided we would walk to the hotel to stretch our legs and see what we could see on the way. Found the Duomo easily, but we did struggle to find the hotel. It wasnt signed very clearly from the outside, but there were lots of helpful vendors around and one even rang the hotel for us to get directions, which was very kind indeed. When we found the hotel, we were rather impressed (nb, lots of steps or a rickety looking lift to the 3rd floor of the building!). The gentleman on the desk was lovely, very helpful and friendly. We were shown to our room which, sadly, didnt have a view of the Duomo, but it did have a small balcony. Room was clean and bright, even having to my great relief a hair dryer. We went straight out for food and more exploring, and when we got back we fell into bed and because the room was at the back of the hotel, it was quiet and we slept soundly. I neednt have worried about sleeping too long though, I somehow didnt consider the huge cathedral and bell tower right beside the hotel which woke us nicely at 8am! We both had a shower, the shower room beside our room was adequate, but the one near reception was much better. Breakfast was great, brought to our room and lots of choice, rice cakes, croissant, pain au chocolat, crisp bread etc etc and coffee, well worth the extra 10 euros we paid. We were glad we were up early enough to be in the shared shower room first however,as it did look at bit manky as we were leaving after lots of use. It had a fabulous location, (as suggested in the name). Overall, great little b and b and a fantastic price! Would deifinately stay again! :)

Room Tip: Amazing location, suberb price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I love the the design of the B&B, it feel like home. Though at the first time we found some difficulty in finding out the place. Also, though situated in the central of Florence, it's quite up there while you could enjoy the vacation atmosphere once got down. Very nice B&B and in cheap price. Will come again if got chance!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Located right in front of the Duomo, this is one of the best location to stay in Florence. Other major attractions are only within walking distance.
Staff is extremely helpful, he offered to serve us breakfast as early as 6.45am(which is normally served after 8am) so we able to catch the train at 7.45am. P/S: I can still remember his sleepy look! many thanks :)
Will surely stay in the same B&B if I happen to go back to Florence again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Booked 3 night stay at Duomo View, and it was the best, simple, unpretentious, relaxing and welcoming place i stayed for quite a long time (i am use to travel around the world in business and leisure quite often).
Decided to expend a quite, cultural weekend in Pisa/Florence/Siena, and in Florence we wanted to stay somewhere where we felt more like a local (last time i was in Florence, i stayed at Helvetia & Bristol), and Duomo View was just that. A home in Florence for 4 days right in the heart of town. After a troubled arrival (with diverted flights and train strikes over Italy) we were welcomed by Filippo (owner) which was the dearest host you can get. He checked in us in a fantastic spaced room, simply furniture (with no much fuss decor, but a simplicity of white shades) overlooking Piazza del Duomo, and when we opened our window WOW!!! Duomo right in front of us!!! Simply amazing!!!
The stay was so great. We visited the town and we manage to get a rest back to the room without never being disturbed.
Filippo was always very helpful and nothing was to much to request, organized our advanced tickets for museums and breakfast was delivered to the room right on the dot of the time requested.
Definitely we do recommend to everyone, if you like to feel a local in Florence.... and Filippo we will recommend the place and will come back definitely again..
Ciao
M and J

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

There could not be a better location in Florence. Rooms are all on the top floor of the building: open the curtains and you're met not only with a magnificent view of the Duomo, but also envious looks from tourists down below in the piazza who clearly can't believe that people actually live there! The Duomo itself is situated in the heart of the old town, surrounded by beautiful architecture in every direction, not to mention a plethora of great restaurants, bars, cafes, gelaterias....

On arrival we were given keys to enter the building directly via the old wooden doors right on the Piazza del Duomo. Since there is no sign outside the entrance is very discreet, so it feels more like you're heading home to your own apartment than a hotel.

There are two shared bathrooms but only five rooms in total so access is generally not a problem. I would not recommend the Duomo View for those with mobility problems as there is a reasonably lengthy flight of stairs before you reach the lift. Equally, very light sleepers may wish to think twice, but then it is located right on one of the busiest piazzas so this is only to be expected!

However, this is place is perfect for couples or those travelling in smaller groups, not least as it is astonishing value for money. Filippo (the manager) was fantastic - happy to answer all our questions and help where ever possible, even personally delivering breakfast to our room in the mornings.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel - incredible value, location and service. If we return to Florence we'd be back at the Duomo View in a flash!

Thanks Filippo!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed in the Duomo for 2 nights and we had a good experience. I think we got the one room that didn't have a view of the Duomo, however, we were the closest to the bathroom. The location of the B&B is absolutely perfect. Right across from a beautiful square and we could walk to anything we wanted to see. We would stay again. They are doing great for the amount of time in business. Breakfast in bed was 5€ a person, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duomo View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duomo View B&B

Address: Piazza San Giovanni 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Duomo View B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located, overlooking the most beautiful side of Piazza San Giovanni, the Duomo View B & B is the ideal place to stay in Florence.Located in the beautiful new pedestrian area of ​​Piazza Duomo, B & B is located less than 15 minutes from the train station Santa Maria Novella and from the bus terminal and Terravision, the airport is reachable by taxi or with our private transfer in about 20 minutes.Also the main monuments and historical sites of the beautiful Florence, are less than 20 minutes' walk away in no one can, in fact, reach the Uffizi, the Accademia Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti.A 'contemporary atmosphere surrounds guests in the large rooms, most of which have views of the facade of the Duomo of Florence, with its precious marbles, Brunelleschi's Dome and the Baptistery of San Giovanni. Weekly in the summer season, guests will have exclusive access to one of the most unique terraces of the city during the manager's cocktail.The whole room is decorated with contemporary art exhibitions of photography or hosting young talent from Tuscany, all on their first solo exhibition. The property, in fact, want to offer a space for all those young talents who do not always have the opportunity to be able to show their works to the public.The B & B CATHEDRAL VIEW is also the only one to offer premium services at low cost prices.For travelers, a new concept of exclusivity[Nggallery id = 1]Its history dates back to the end of the fifteenth century.The building was part of the archbishop's palace, in fact the front of it was demolished to make room for the view of the Baptistery. Then later became part of the building work of St. John, who is the former parsonage of the opposite Baptistery of St. John, in fact, stillToday you can see on the inside of the rough and the courtyard that retains the characteristics of the fifteenth century.The environments in his time were important part of the reception of models ecclesiastical canons of his time.Located in the beautiful new pedestrian area of ​​Piazza Duomo, B & B is located less than 15 minutes from the train station Santa Maria Novella and from the bus terminal and Terravision, the airport is reachable by taxi or with our private transfer in about 20 minutes.Also the main monuments and historical sites of the beautiful Florence, are less than 20 minutes' walk away in no one can, in fact, reach the Uffizi, the Accademia Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio and Palazzo Pitti.A 'contemporary atmosphere surrounds guests in the large rooms, most of which have views of the facade of the Duomo of Florence, with its precious marbles, Brunelleschi's Dome and the Baptistery of San Giovanni. Weekly in the summer season, guests will have exclusive access to one of the most unique terraces of the city during the manager's cocktail.The whole room is decorated with contemporary art exhibitions of photography or hosting young talent from Tuscany, all on their first solo exhibition. The property, in fact, want to offer a space for all those young talents who do not always have the opportunity to be able to show their works to the public.The B&B Duomo VIEW is also the only one to offer premium services at low cost prices.For travelers, a new concept of exclusivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Duomo View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo View Bed And Breakfast
Duomo View Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.