We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy but the food is wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina del Garga

La Cucina del Garga
Via San Zanobi, 33r, 50129 Florence, Italy
+39 055 475286
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
La Cucina del Garga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #86 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: “La Cucina del Garga” arrives in Florence with Alessandro Gargani’s return after eight years of experience in New York City. Alessandro decides to return to his native town to continue the family restaurant tradition born at the Trattoria in the old location of Via del Moro, an institution in the Florentine culinary scene renowned both locally and internationally since 1979 where his parents Sharon and Giuliano instilled in Alessandro their passion for cuisine.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Touristy but the food is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food was top notch and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. The service was generally good with the exception that they forgot to bring our expresso for a long time, but they were extremely apologetic about the delay once we brought it to their attention.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    153
    46
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“find this gem, its not hard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

best place ive eaten in Florence. staff, food , ambience are the best ive encountered in any other Florentine restaurant . others are excellent, don't get me wrong but garga was a cut above .
and for groppa lovers, have one of each.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Read the reviews and it was our last night in Florence. Wanted to walk through an area we hadn't quite seen yet, and this fit the bill. The location is a bit outside the busy museum area and was a 15 minute walk from our restaurant north of the Croce Piazza. Found the restaurant easily. The restaurant is beautifully decorated with unique albeit eclectic art surrounding each room. Certainly gives you something to discuss while you're waiting for your meal!

Corrado (sp?) was our waiter (and is the restaurant manager) and he is obviously the "face" of the restaurant. Very outgoing, knows the history behind the awards each dish or wine has accumulated, tells you his background, asks you about yours, fluent in English, etc. His recommendations were spot on.

You are greeted at the table with complimentary glasses of Prosecco - delish! This is followed by complimentary warm brushetta and a basket of toasted bread. Probably more bread than any person could ever eat - don't fill up! There's too much good food to follow.

We had the artichoke/pine nut/hearts of palm salad, which was light and delicate but tasty and unique. We definitely will try to re-create that at home! This was followed a Lemon fettucini (like a Lemon Alfredo sauce - relish!) and hubby had the "strozzapretti" with a pistachio pesto - both delicious! All prices were very reasonable.

We finished off with the glutten-free chocolate cake and vanilla ice cream - a bit like a very rich brownie with ice cream. Very rich but delicious. Ordered some decaf coffee to go with it but they did forget that order - no worries, we didn't really need it. Had the same difficulty trying to get the check and close out dinner that we have in most Italian restaurants we've eaten at - they don't seem to want you to leave! ;-)

Highly recommend this restaurant for a wonderful evening and a artsy, gourmet special meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Deliciously Artistic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Awww...am still at this restaurant abd already writing a review. So...where should I start? Its a restaurant that is full of art from local artists being exhibited. One can spend hours just looking at the different paintings and sculptures in the building.

Then comes the service. Two words: charming and excellent.

With regards to the food? Delicious and if here, this is where u should try a bistecca!

Negatives? This place can do woth some music? Edith Piaf...hmmm...fits perfectly well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Art filled meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This meal was definitely worth the short walk over & through the San Lorenzo Market area. The place is filled with art & their dishes are absolutely delicious! Such a wonderful find! From the atmosphere, the staff and most importantly the food!!!!!! Everyone should at least have 1 meal at the Cuicina del Garge during their Florence visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina del Garga also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cucina del Garga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina del Garga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.