We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch the ceiling frescos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore

Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore
Via della Canonica, 1 | Piazza del Duomo, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 2302885
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #14 of 221 Attractions in Florence
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Designed by Arnolfo di Cambio at the end of the 13th century, the Cathedral's trademark dome is now the symbol of Florence.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Touch the ceiling frescos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

More than 450 steps, but well worth the lung-capacity to see the cathederal from such a height and tovirtually touch the ceiling frescos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,263
    1,281
    288
    59
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

A quick visit, couldn't stand under the dome as it was roped off but it's a pretty amazing building when you first see it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Duomo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Marvellous architecture although busy when we went and only April! Many other lovely churches as well.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to get to the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

There was a little bit of a line the day we went to the Duomo but we waited the 45 minutes or so and made it to the entrance. We bought our tickets (can't remember the price but they only accept cash only, no credit cards) and we were on our way. The stairways were steep at times and some were a little tight because people exiting the top would be coming back down but it was worth the effort. The view is amazing even when the weather wasn't great. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stopped in early evening during Holy week. Flowers and candles were lit. From the outside one has no clue as to how impressive it is inside. Soaring ceiling, I wished we could have gone back in the next day but it was closed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo - Cathedral of Santa Maria dei Fiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.