We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the center, close to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Relais Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Conti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #65 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tirana, Albania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Right on the center, close to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel was really on the center (like its name) very close to Duomo, galeria Uffici, Ponte vecchio, Academia, piazza della signoria etc. If you are looking for a hotel that can rich all what mentioned above in walking distance this is the one. Room was comfortable, clean and the service was above average. Breakfast was limited but very tastefull. Ask the reception for their suggestions related to restorants, we did and resulted that we had perfect food in a very close tratoria. Elevator was really small and trafic signs on the wall really helps othewise you can loose, these were the only not positive things I can say for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    169
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
79
215
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were close to all of the main attractions. Very easy to stop by and refresh or drop off bags.

Rooms were large and clean. The staff could speak English well and were very helpful.

They had a "Happy Hour" each night. They put a sign up that said "Open Bar". I don't know if it got lost in translation but it was not an open bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was clean and staff very helpful! An excellent central location; one block from the Duomo. The Room has high ceilings and long windows that could open. The bathroom was remodeled and they had a wonderful breakfast that was included in the price. It's more of a traditional hotel versus modern. My only concern was the elevator - it's tiny! It can only fit two people at a time and not with luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My reservation was cancelled, they indicated there was an issue with payment. Unfortunately, they cancelled the reservation before I could fix the problem - after further review there was no problem with the reservation. Somehow either Hotel Centrale or their booking partner UniTravel dropped the ball. When I tried to redo the reservation they told me they were sold out. Both the hotel and UniTravel handled the matter poorly. Be certain you have a reservation confirmed if you plan to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robnor71, Direttore at Relais Hotel Centrale, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Sir, we are really sorry if your expectations were not satisfied, but we suppose you misunderstands something.
According to our policy at the moment of reservation, we request the credit card details as a guarantee of the reservation itself and we therefore verify the validity of the card as soon as we receive the reservation; this is only due to the fact that the card should eventually cover the penalty expenses in case of no-show as stated in the cancellation terms.

we DO NOT charge any amount at the moment of reservation, the whole amount has to be paid at check-out. In order to verify the card, we ask for a preauthorization of the first night penalty to the interbank services (As stated clearly in the cancellation policy that you found in the reservation page at the moment of reservation)

In case the transaction does not go through, we immediately advise the client sending a communication through the web-site of reservation UNITRAVEL , this is for us the only way to contact you directly because the reservation is done not directly with us and Unitravel should handle the situation by sending you an e-mail with our communication. This was obviously done as soon as we realize the problem with the credit card (we have already sent you a copy of our communication done on Unitravel the same day of your reservation). The problem was due to the fact that doing the preauthorisation on your credit card, THE INTERBANK SERVICES DENIED THE TRANSACTION, not the hotel. Since we have not receive any answer for many days, the reservation could not be accepted.

This is to clarify our behaviour, everything was done according to clear reservation and cancellation policy.


we are really sorry because our clients’ satisfaction is for us fundamental and we therefore work hard everyday to do the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took a chance never being to Florence before and were pleasantly surprised. The staff is friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and the rooms were roomy enough with large bathrooms, having all the amenities you need. It was quiet for sleeping. The included breakfasts were of a good variety and very tastey and you have plenty to eat. Great coffee/cappicino maker. Hotel is situated where you can get to everything - restaruants, train station, shopping, sites. 2 blocks from the Academia. We would stay there again in a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room to get more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I wanted a clean hotel centrally located in Florence for a good price. We were completely satisfied with the Hotel Centrale. The staff were all helpful and nice. The new lobby bar was a great place to hang out before or after outings. Rooms were clean and comfortable, The breakfast was fine/free. The free Wednesday Wine tour is a must! The hotel worked with Chianti Drivers to provide this wonderful experience. We toured Emma winery, watched the harvest and toured the grape's path through the destemming and skin removal to the juice containment system.

Room Tip: If you can see outside then people can see inside. Be mindful of your open window/shower time or ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We looked for a hotel that was nicely positioned in the center of the city, that was fairly priced, and we found it. Rooms had the feel of an Italian country home, rather unlike some of the cramped European style rooms that I have had elsewhere. AC was kept the room very comfortable, bathrooms were large, the staff was very polite, and the buffet breakfast although continental, was perfect...well stocked, and casual!

We drove into the Central city, and was pleased to learn that they have an arrangement with a nearby garage, that took our car and delivered it back to us, when we departed.

To start with...just for the room rate and the location of the property (4-5 blocks from the center of the city) the hotel is a great deal. When you add good internet, comfortable rooms with nice bedding, a good breakfast, we had a hotel experience that far exceeded the price paid!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Hotel Centrale

Address: Via dei Conti 3, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#57 Family Hotel in Florence
#57 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Florence Center Hotel is completely restructured and renovated. Situated in the heart of Florence, Florence Center Hotel is just a few steps away from the Duomo and the principal monuments of the City, a short distance from the central Train Station S. Maria Novella, from the Fortezza Da Basso (home of the most important trade shows) and the Palazzo Dei Congressi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Relais Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Dimora Storica Florence
Centrale Dimora Storica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.