We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sweet Florence to your Saves list
Sweet Florence
via cassia 8, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #391 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Very professional and helpful check in by the owners, they even came out onto the main road to find us. Lovely quiet location 10 minutes walk from train station. Great local restuarant and bar next door..the owner of the bar Marcus was great and fantastic wine. The room was very comfortable, clean and a good size. Will be back again!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Firstly, the reservation process was a mess. I have made reservation for our stay in August 2014 through VENERE.COM. Three days prior to arrival in September 2014, I received email from VENERE.COM that confirmed the booking. So I thought everything was going to be ok. However when we arrived at the property, not only no one was there, we had to wait so long for the staff, and when the staff arrived he simply said that our reservation was cancelled. I showed him the reservation confirmation that I printed earlier, but he said that it was not valid and asked us to call VENERE.COM to sort it out, RUDELY. He literally did not bother about us and left us with no suggestion of alternative place to stay.

Secondly, the place is NOT as described in the website. It is situated in the opposite direction and very far from Firenze SMN train station, as well as the main attractions that you need to see in Florence. Besides that, you need to cross few busy roads before reaching the neighborhood that is not very safe. We found that there are plenty more properties that are close to the main attractions and cost LESS from this property.

Thirdly, I lodged a complaint to VENERE.COM regarding the sudden cancellation. But until now I have yet to receive any response with regards of the incident. I have made plenty online booking through Agoda/ booking.com for instance before, and never had any problem like this. VENERE.COM is not trustworthy and far from reliable.

My conclusion is, AVOID VENERE.COM and SWEET FLORENCE. I had horrible experience and will suggest others not to face similar trouble too.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetflorence, Direttore at Sweet Florence, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear customer, your booking has been canceled on the same day you've booked because your card is NOT VALID! ! ! as confirmed by Venere.com, so before you pass judgment on us, you MUST stay in our hotel !! A tip for next time: Learn to read the e-mail of cancellation of your booking and blame only yourself of your ignorance .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

So this place was HORRIBLE! DO NOT BOOK!!!! First off, it is a FAR walk through a very not safe neighborhood. The neighborhood is in the OPPOSITE direction of everything you want to see. In order to get there, you need to cross several very busy intersections, past some graffiti covered buildings and walls- NOT SAFE. Additionally, locals are not familiar with the road this B&B is on, so it is very hard to find. When we got there, we had to borrow someone's phone to call the hosts as they were not there- after 45 minutes they arrived with such an attitude. They were rude and unfriendly. The B&B does not serve breakfast. They charge you for vouchers for a shady place around the corner for a discount on breakfast. This place should only be called a Bed and Voucher for breakfast. Besides that, the bathrooms are gross. There was mold in the shower and you definitely did not want to walk around without shoes. They came to "clean" your room each day, which meant not giving you clean towels or changing your sheets. They pretty much pulled up the bed covers and left. They do not give you soap- so you have to go to the pharmacy and buy your own if you even want to try to feel clean in this dirty place. Overall it was horrible, the owners are not nice and the area is not safe. It is worth it to pay more. DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetflorence, Direttore at Sweet Florence, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear customer, your review is not exact, it seems that you have stayed in a concentration camp, unfortunately you are very good at writing but not reading, because if you read well your booking, the price you have chosen there was no breakfast included, so you only paid 49 euro per night to stay in Florence in summer, close to downtown and not as you said, maybe you confused with the Bronks or simply you missed, all the rest are just words a rude person who can not read and wants only to insult, remember that our customers need before you get to communicate their arrival time, as you did not, you're just a victim of your own ignorance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I made reservations for our stay at Sweet Florence. When we arrived there was no one there. I nice woman called the manager and he arrived with an attitude. He started screaming at me telling me I had no reservation and calling me a crazy lady and pushing me out the door even though I had the reservation confirmation in my hand. If this is the type of person you have managing your property you should fire his behind. He is a poor representation of your B & B. He was extremely rude and couldn't wait to get on his motorcycle and drive away leaving us with no suggestion as to what alternative we may have had. We are experienced travelers and we understand that there can be mix-ups but this person was the rudest person we have even encountered.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetflorence, Direttore at Sweet Florence, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear customer, you forgot to say one thing: your booking was May 31, 2015!! and you arrived May 31, 2014, you wanted your room that was not there, after we made you see that you had the wrong year, have continued to insist that you wanted your room to make you go away we had to call the police, and only after you run away, we saw people from all over the world, but no one had ever made a year before his booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sweet Florence is an EXCELLENT place to stay when visiting the lovely city of Florence. Not only were the accommodations spotless and spacious, but the hosts, Romana and Mirko were fantastic! They live off sight but were very professional and extremely helpful. Romana, who speaks excellent English explained everything to us and recommended places to eat, which were 'local and delicious, and low cost,' which was exactly what we were looking for in a city filled with tourist restaurants. She also gave us a great recommendation for gelato, which was the best we had in Florence, and also the second best in Italy! She was very sweet and made us feel at home.

The room was very clean when we arrived, decorated nicely, and cleaned every morning. We The bathroom, which was outside the room, was also VERY clean, as well. My husband and I were both very impressed with everything and we both give Sweet Florence the highest recommendation. We stayed a total of 5 nights.

Breakfast, (you receive daily breakfast tickets from Romana), which was served a local cafe just two minutes walk outside the flat, was in a delightful little spot, with several neighbourhood must trys... The owner of the cafe/bar, Marco, was super sweet and very friendly and talkative and his cafe machiattos were among the very best I've had in Italy! A fun place to hang out... we went back one night for drinks at 'happy hour' and it was a lot of fun! Sweet Florence is located in a quiet, clean and safe neighbourhood and is a short walk from the city's centre.

The price for the room was very reasonable, and the location was great! If you are looking for a place to stay... I would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

It's located about 20 minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella station. We stayed in the Micelangelo room which was clean and large. Wifi was provided free of charge. The owners met us on arrival and were efficient and business like although not very helpful in terms of information on transportation around town. Breakfast is typical Italian B&B fare...prepacked pastry, coffee/tea, biscuits, yogurt and juice in the room. The rooms are cleaned daily. The bathroom is shared with the other room but we didn't have any trouble since we did not meet any of the other guests. Hot water was a problem since it took ages for it to get warm and didn't last long and the water pump was quite noisy. I agree with the previous reviewer on their payment policy. My credit card was charged the full amount 1 day before we were scheduled to arrive. I have not seen this anywhere else. I understand the need for a deposit or a penalty for no show but being charged before using the services is debatable. I wanted to pay in cash but was not given the option. You should probably call them 1 day earlier to avoid the inconvenience. Overall I would recommend the place since it was worth the money and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a satisfactory stay. The air conditioning was satisfactory, the room was satisfactory, and the location was satisfactory. You will be sharing a bathroom with 2 other rooms, so it is frustrating having to use the shower or toilet after 3 to 4 people. There is no reception and the management is barely on site, so its hard to comment on service (more like lack of service). The manager immediately charges your card even before you arrive, which is somewhat inappropriate.

Hope your stay is as satisfactory as ours!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetflorence, Direttore at Sweet Florence, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear customer, I remind you that your stay was in a Bed&Breakfast and Not a HOTEL, and all of our services have been met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Florence

Address: via cassia 8, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sweet Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.