We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average B&B” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Corte dei Principi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Corte dei Principi to your Saves list
La Corte dei Principi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via il Prato 66, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Sandusky, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average B&B”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is more a B & B than a hotel. It was difficult
to find...not signage on building. It is located at
66 il Prato; look for the name on the address
labels to get buzzed in. Not what I expected.
I expected a hotel and we got a B & B. I think
the price was a high for what we received.
Could have stayed at the Hotel Medici (a 5 star
hotel) a few doors down for a E100 more.
As a hotel I would only rate it a 2; as a B & B
I would rate it a 4.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    82
    25
    22
    13
See reviews for
33
100
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Not too far from the station and easy to walk in to the historic centre. I found the atmosphere very relaxed and the host very accommodating and knowledgeable about Florence.

Would recommend for short stays in town!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenza d'epo... l, Direttore at La Corte dei Principi, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
hi, we are glad that you have been very good to us

a greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Where do I begin. First we are a party of three women aged 60 years. We arrived by train to Florence from Venice getting in about 2100. Was not sure how far B & B hotel was, so took a cab getting to B & B about 2130. The door was locked, no name on front door, a very tiny name plate with a door bell was all we found. I was so glad I wrote the phone number down before we left home. The taxi driver was very helpful, as he called the B & B manager to come and open door to let us in. Waiting about 10 min outside with the taxi driver, the manager comes to open door. We go down a very dark hallway, but has motion lights that did turn on. End of hall was another huge door that he had to open. We go up the first flight of stairs to our room. Again, another key. The room was clean, not many towels for the three of us, no air conditioner, very loud as we had to open the windows and there was one fan we could use. There was no phone in the room in order to call for any "supplies", questions about the area, etc. The B & B was not manned all night. No one at desk. We stayed two nights. Since we got in about 2130, there was no restaurant close enough to get a bite to eat, therefore no dinner. The second day we got up for the breakfast but missed it as we had a tour booked, and the breakfast started at 0800. Was given three keys to take when we leave the premises. Again, in the evening we came back by taxi. The taxi driver waited for us as we were just going to drop our stuff and head out for dinner. The three keys were very hard to use. We could not open the second door for at least 20 min. Let the taxi leave. Finally got back in our room with great difficulty, and again no one at desk to ask for help. Again, was afraid we would not get in if we were any later, so again, no dinner. I would not advice this B & B . Not a place to stay. It was pretty sketchy.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
residenza d'epo... l, Direttore at La Corte dei Principi, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
sorry, that 3 women age so expert in jars over the world, they did not know to move in a city as beautiful as Florence, also, the difficulty that you ladies have had, it seems a bit exaggerated, because the dinner is was under our structure, the pizzeria, the classic Italian restaurant, Japanese restaurant, and so on, not to list them all, if not most do not finish.
For the reception, it seems to me that we are not a 3-star hotel to hold a safety officer to ensure that must watch over you, then, as you wrote, you had the keys to the main entrance, and the second is delal room, if usufruirle then you do not know, we can not DDouble a course how to use simple keys, as if they were your own home. Also, when you get past 10 in the evening, please advise, as has been said travel agencies, because, as we repeat, we are not a hotel but a B & B, then, we are not obliged to wait, that your arrival you submit the hours of night .... if you were well aware, potetvate, he writes, now you only use email. to express and discriminate, but the important things you ignore them ....

a greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed there 2 nights, with a special discount. It was incredibly difficult to find a free room during the we (!), so basically they decided for us.
It could be tricky to find, since there are no signs, ask for directions upon reservation. Room was fine, quite big, although a little smelly when we arrived. Bathroom was kind of small, but it was fine for 2 nights. Breakfast was ok too, nothing too fancy, but you'll get fresh coffee, cereals, yogurts, bread and jam or cheese.
The hotel is about a 15 minutes walk to the city center, there are some restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We wandered to the area with our map as others had said it was hard to find!
The manager came out to the streets and in a bizarre situation actually came across us and asked if we were looking for the (his hotel) we said yes and he said "Follow me"
We did and stayed two nights, really cool building we were both pleasantly surprised that it was an old apartment block, this made it unique and different from other 3x hotels.
The manager was helpful, gave us an adapter as wee had taken the wrong one and provided us with two extra pillows which were very much appreciated.
Great stay, nice manager and very comfortable bed.

Thank You

Room Tip: Just Google the location to help you find it and you will be ok, 10 minutes walk from the main train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here recently for 3 nights.
It is on a residential street about 5-10 minutes walk from the main train station. Previous reviewers have complained that it is hard to find but our directions from the hotel were spot on and we had no difficulty finding it. It is on the first floor of an old apartment block through a very atmospheric hallway which added to the charm.
Breakfast was good but the staff were a little unorganised.
The only issue we had were with the keys- one for the outside door and one for the room door- we had problems with both of them and were nearly locked out one day. As it's a guesthouse, the staff aren't always there.
However, in general, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel?? it's self is in an apartment block, with no signs outside, I spent 1 full hour walking up and down the street to try and find it, luckily a local shop keeper showed me where it was.
I found it a pleasant place to stay, It's only 10 minutes from the train station. The breakfast was really basic and I mean basic. Not badly located.

Room Tip: That is something I cannot do as where I was every room was on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Corte dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Corte dei Principi

Address: Via il Prato 66, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Corte dei Principi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, in a palazzo of 1800 is Residenza D'epoca La Corte Dei Principi. In a unique environment in the world, walking distance from central station and from the most characteristic monuments of the city, offers its guests rooms with all comforts: tv, air conditioning, soft drinks and water, we also have the dependance, always rooms with private bathrooms, quiet rooms, in our residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your La Corte dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Corte Dei Principi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Corte dei Principi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.