We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok once you find it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Corte dei Principi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Corte dei Principi to your Saves list
La Corte dei Principi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via il Prato 66, Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's ok once you find it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My first (and last time) in Florence. I spent a good hour walking up and down the street looking for the place. It turns out the only sign they have at the front is a small 2cm x 5cm gold plaque (clearly you need optimum vision to see that from the streets).

Once you find the place it's not bad, and it's very clean. The 2 guys who run the place are friendly but use the excuse "it's an old building...that's why we haven't got any signs". If you read other reviews they've been using that excuse for a long time...fix it up fellas...

They should also invest in shower screens or curtains because it's all open space. Plus the bathroom doesn't drain properly...you have to have showers in 1minute intervals to allow water to drain.

Oh and If you don't mind the smell of raw sewerage then Florence is the place for you. Every street you walk down stinks. The good thing about Florence is the train station or airport is only a short trip from wherever you're staying so you can have a quick getaway!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    26
    22
    13
See reviews for
33
101
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were happy with our stay at La Corte dei Principi. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was clean - this was one of the better showers I took while traveling in Italy (which is a welcome treat after a long hot day in Florence). The staff is welcoming and we felt comfortable that our bags were safe and well looked after while we left them there for the day. A pretty good value for Florence. It's too bad it can not be more visibly marked from the street because I can see this as a potential drawback. Other than that, a good value and a perfectly nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Misled by reviews my wife and I booked this place during a recent trip to Florence. First, the taxi driver could not find the hotel since there are not signs posted. Finally, following the address, we found a small inscription on the intercom panel: "La Corte dei Principe". It happens to be be a very old building which has one floor converted into a "Residenza", by no means a hotel. Upon entering the premises we encounter this cavernous empty hall very poorly iluminated without any indications where to go. After several minutes of yelling "Hello..Hello!" a tenant from an upper floor shows up and indicates that the "Hotel" is in the second floor and point us in the direction of an ancient minuscule elevator which hardly fits two persons with luggage.

The attendant showed us the room which happens to be adjacent to the "Front Desk". I asked him to turn the lights on, he replied "The lights are on" pointing to the ceiling where there is chandelier with what appears to have10 watts light bulbs. Being tired and without a chance to get our money back we decided to stay.

Taking a shower was another ordeal. The shower, located in a corner of the bathroom had no curtain and its floor was flush with the bathroom floor causing the water to run all over and making it slippery.

Althought the room decor was extremelly depressing, the bed was clean and confortable.

We spent two nights and swore never to return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principi1, Proprietario at La Corte dei Principi, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
I'm sorry that you have judged a negative vote with our hotel, I can say that, as you noticed above the front door, written in Roman numerals, the building is 1800, hence it is called historical residence, also the furniture is all created by the classic style and bought by companies who make only hotel furniture. I can I can say that the room is a beauty, and has a charm, also if the light is low, so to avoid wasting enregia, and causing problems to our land. I apologize for these cold words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

we stayed at the corte dei principi hotel in may 2011,we arrived late at night but were made extreamly welcome by the two guys who run this wonderful establishment ,hot coffee and whisky
were supplied free of charge on there small terrace, and did we need it!!!
breakfast consists of poached eggs ,hot toast ,cheese,cold meats ,jam,cakes,biscuits,and
cereal lots of hot coffee any way you want it.
Our room was 106 a realy nice large room which has a bathroom fully tiled.
Only have one small complaint which we should have mentioned but did not,so it cant be put right unless you say!! anyway every time we had a shower the bathroom flooded as the shower curtain was to small and could"nt cope with the amount of water running down
this made the tiled floor very slippy.
over all we loved florence and will go back soon, would we stay here again "YES"!!!!!
they were so helpful guys and told us were to go and what to see,nothing was to much trouble for them even when we flew back to the uk and i had left cloths in the wardrobe by accident they were wrapped up and posted on to me.
you dont get that kind of service in a lot of five star hotels!!!!!!
well worth the money we paid and so relaxing we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms are all fine but check the shower curtain as floors are slippy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A very confortable B&B with helpful and friendly staff, always at your disposal.
No minibar in the room,but it is possible to store your drinks in the fridge in the breakfast area.
Centrally located a stone throw from the rail station and the city centre.
Rooms very tidy and spacious. Air conditioning was a bliss.
....
The buffet-breakfast was served in a very nice room or on the balcony.
Best value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Corte dei Principi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Corte dei Principi

Address: Via il Prato 66, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Corte dei Principi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Florence, in a palazzo of 1800 is Residenza D'epoca La Corte Dei Principi. In a unique environment in the world, walking distance from central station and from the most characteristic monuments of the city, offers its guests rooms with all comforts: tv, air conditioning, soft drinks and water, we also have the dependance, always rooms with private bathrooms, quiet rooms, in our residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your La Corte dei Principi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Corte Dei Principi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Corte dei Principi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.