We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I' Mangiarino

I' Mangiarino
Via Dello Studio 5R | Via dello Studio, 5/r, 50122 Florence, Italy
0039 055 216208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,948 restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We found this place by chance on our last day in Florence. The Slow Food sign tempted us in and we were very glad that it did! The food was just excellent. The ham and cheese boards were superb and the wild boar pasta... I have no words... it was that good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    162
    88
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guimaraes, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real typical italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Positive: food quality, very nice ambient, familly business, decoration with typical italian products, central (near the Duomo).
Negative: staff could be more kind, small place.
Note: 25€/pax (2 people: 1 brushetta, 1 ribolitta, 1 pasta with boar sauce, 1 desert, 1 bottle of chianti). Kitchen open untill 10pm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value and simply delicious food with great Riballita.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a huge salad (it was supposedly for one but fed both of us), beans which again was enough for two and riballita pots each followed by pannacotta with a couple of glasses of white wine each. It came in under €50 and our hosts gave us a glass of lemon grappa complimentary each before we staggered out the door into the cool evening. Great atmosphere and whilst language was a little bit of barrier the food and atmosphere more than made up for any difficulties. Grappa can speak a million languages we found with our endearing hosts. Great value and great food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST PASTA IN FLORENCE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I have been here for 6 months and have finaly found a good quality fresh pasta restaurant!!! Fresh amazing pasta beautiful cheese plater and I would reccomend the wild boar pasta dish simply amazing!!! Also the tartufo formaggio!! ( mushroom cheese) just beautiful!! Can't understand any complaints about this place is 100% fresh pasta we even asked before ordering :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Microwave pasta meals!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were attracted by the cute looking family run restaurant and also by the fact they advertise themselves as Slow Food, so we thought we would get some lovely local produce and authentic Italian meals. The bruschetta was lovely and the cheeses and cured meats looked ok, but we were totally shocked when we noticed the pasta meals being ripped out of their plastic containers and shoved in the microwave! They certainly tasted nothing more than microwave meals too.
Goes to show just because you are in italy, in an italian family restaurant, don't expect a traditional italian meal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I' Mangiarino also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to I' Mangiarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I' Mangiarino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.