We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room - but not always hot water...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Art Atelier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Art Atelier to your Saves list
Hotel Art Atelier
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dell'Amorino, 20, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 460 Hotels in Florence
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good location and room - but not always hot water...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was in a good location, walkable from the train station and close to the Duomo, Santa Maria Novella etc. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was nice and kept clean. The one thing I was particularly unhappy about was that our hot water cut out several times. We were in room 100 and the room had a separate boiler. This reset itself several times and each time the only fix was to get someone from reception to do this. To be fair when we complained they sorted it within 10-15 minutes but sometimes this was at inconvenient times when we wanted to leave the room soon. As it was 37 outside having a cold shower at 5pm when you get back from a days sight seeing a cold shower is a relief - in the morning before you go out less so!

When your paying over £100 pounds a night I do not expect to have any problems with having a hot shower and do not expect to have to complain about this more than once.

Apart from this the stay was pleasant and everything else was OK, breakfast was just above average.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 100, beware if you do too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    28
    4
    8
See reviews for
27
127
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Esat Grinstead
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here recently for a long weekend. I'd go back tomorrow. Reasonable price and very central. 5 minute walk from Duomo etc. About 10 - 15 minute walk from main rail station. Bar prices cheap too! ( 3 euro for a small Morretti). friendly , helpful front desk and our room even had a small patio ! Room was on the small side but only used for sleep anyway....tooo much to go see ! Use with confidence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while passing through Florence. It was probably the nicest hotel we stayed at in Europe. The hotel itself was attractively updated. The room was a good size with a good layout. The hotel had air conditioning and an elevator. The location was convenient - a close walk to the train station and major attractions such as the Duomo and Gallerie L'Academie. Our only complaint is that the breakfast was subpar. The coffee was dispensed from a machine and it didn't taste very good. Every other place we went to in Italy had excellent coffee prepared freshly. The juice was also dispensed from a machine, while other hotels offered fresh juice. The selection of items was limited - mostly meat and cheese. There was no bread for toast or any cereals.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Found choosing a hotel in Florence (4 nights with adult daughter) over-whelming but ended up here. Larger than expected room with nice furnishings. Multi-lingual and very helpful desk staff. Beautiful buffet breakfast. Location was perfect - walk to train station and almost everything else we wanted to see. Many little cafes and restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance or less. The 1 small problem - on 3 of 4 AMs we had no hot water. Day 1 I discussed this with desk staff - they said perhaps it was too many people taking showers in AM. Day 2 - the desk person was more sympathetic and said she would look into it. In the afternoon there was plenty of relaly hot water - so perhaps the system was over-whelmed. Day 3 - still no AM hot water (around 8:30). Desk person seemed seriously concerned - and promised to have it resolved immediately. We were gone for the day, but returned to lots of hot water. During that night there was a new heating-system type sound in the pipes, and Day 4 AM lots of hot water. Our room was in a slilghly different part of the hotel and my guess is that it has a different hot water system that may be under-sized. Anyway, these things happen, it eventually got resolved - and everything else about the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to Florence by chance making decision at last second. We didn't book any hotels. In the evening we start looking for a place to stay. Most of the hotels were packed and full. So we were quite unsure how we will end up. So after another unlucky call we saw very modest door and welcome sign. That was Hotel Art Atelier. We went inside and asked for a room. They only had a single room and they showed it to us. It was very pretty with light green painted wall, very nice bathroom and bed. It was small, but perfect for one night. We loved it immediately. The manager was kind and understandable lady and she apologised that she doesn't have any other rooms available. But we were happy. It was beautiful weekend. We loved Florence. We enjoyed our stay at the place and the breakfast was really really nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our trip to Italy this year was for a friend’s 50th birthday. We love to fly into Europe and walk around the area where we want to stay and just "find" a great hotel to spend a few days! European hotel rooms are usually much smaller than US hotels. This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed, the rooms were very large and the price was amazing for what we got! This family owned hotel was so accommodating to all of our needs! We spent a great amount of time just talking to Frederica, one of the family members who owns the hotel. She was so sweet and gave us many tips about Florence. Thank you for making our trip so wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Art Atelier is a wonderful find amongst the hotel choked streets of central Florence. The property is family owned and staffed. The deceptively modest façade opens into a warm and unique registration area. The rooms are all custom and different, some with balconies and other amenities. The real treasure is the staff. We dealt with three people, one of which was a young woman named Frederica, who turned out to be the owner’s daughter. I thought that it was refreshing to be met by someone who really did have a stake in the quality of your experience. We had a pleasant and comfortable stay in the absolute center of the city. Small shops dot the street. A bottle of wine, cured meats and cheeses from a shop across the street, and the intimacy of this hotel made for a memorable stay. I want to go back!

Room Tip: Ask about the different ammenities of the rooms - balcony, patio, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Art Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Atelier

Address: Via dell'Amorino, 20, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art Atelier 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Art Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Art Atelier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.