We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TORRE DI BELLOSGUARO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TORRE DI BELLOSGUARO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

HOTEL TORRE DI BELLOSGUARDO
Florence. Italy

Hello every one of you that is thinking of going to Italy this year. I have really found that magical castle to stay in. Yes, in Florence in Tuscany, or rather looking down at the beautiful city from the top of a hill on its south side.

Torre di Bellosguardo was, and indeed still is, a family villa and the family still live in a house in the grounds and will take the greatest care of you. From this splendid house you can wander down through the olive grove to the Ponte Vecchio, the most famous bridge in the world and across it to the magnificent Uffizi gallery.

If you want to play Kate and William on honeymoon this is your place. The bedrooms are royal in size and luxury with their adjoining idyllic pretty bathrooms. Every bedroom is in a completely different style; maybe because the rooms are all so perfect you should stay at least a week or two and try them all.

The reception rooms are seriously wonderful and from another age, grand, very grand, the furniture is soft and welcoming and the drinks strong.

The garden is big and, apart from stretching all the way to the river Arno, has a large swimming pool and lots of lying around and sun bathing space.

The thing I love best about Bellosguardo is being in a country house with its peace and quiet and only minutes later being in the heart of one of the world’s most perfect cities.

Oh yes, the staff are delightful and if you ask nicely will even book you tickets to the Uffizi so you can avoid all those horrendous queues.

Give yourselves a holiday here. I promise you wont regret it. I can’t wait to go back for my next break.

Buon Viaggio!

Maryann Stockwell. London

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    80
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
147
270
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Any journey to Florence should be accompanied by a stay in the Torre Di Bellosguardo. A family-owned and run palazzo on a hill just a stroll-through-a- vineyard's walk away from the gates of Florence, this is my favourite hotel in all the world. The view of the city is just as Brunelleschi would have seen. The rooms clad with their ancient panelled triptychs and the exquisite courtyards where delightful Florentines bring you delightful florentines are - in my experience - unparalleled.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Over the past week, I had the pleasure to stay at the Hotel Torre Di Bellosguardo. This stay was by far the most interesting and wonderful of all my trips to Italy. December is the time to come as the weather was fantastic, clear, crisp skies and even snow on the day I went to the Christmas market. For the first time in Florence, I could go to the museums and churches with no queues, pure bliss! I have stayed at many 4 star hotels in numerous cities and have never found a more unique warm and friendly stay. Bellosguardo is more like being in a 14th century palace with all the amenities of a modern boutique hotel. The wonderful spaces include rooms with frescoes on the ceiling and a huge glass sunroom. The grounds also include a solarium hothouse filled with plants like my home in Hawaii including Banana trees, frangipane and a collection of chili pepper plants. I also enjoyed the gardens and walking through the olive groves. The personnel at the front desk were fantastic, offering suggestions including local and genuine trattatoria’s and hidden spots in the city only those who live in Florence would know. Each room is unique and when I arrived the staff allowed me to view those that were available. I chose room #5 which was so wonderful, perfect views of the city and grounds even from the bathroom. The history of Bellosguardo is fantastic, a 13th century tower restored with such taste as I have never seen in a hotel. Everywhere you see extraordinary tile work and masonry, the likes only found in a historic monument. Each morning I would listen for the church bells ringing below, have breakfast, and then set out for adventures in Florence. When I was through, I would come back and relax in a setting so quiet I could forget that I was in the city. In all regards, my stay was extraordinary. If you are interested in being a part of Florence, I recommend staying at Bellosguardo. I am glad I found their website which presents the hotel and all the features.

Sincerely,

Thomas W. Christ Ph.D
University of Hawaii

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This is such a unique and exquisite place, that my husband and I would thoroughly recommend it. Perhaps it is not for everyone, as it is not right in the center of town and it does not feel like your average hotel. For us, the genuine antique feel of this magnificent villa, with original frescoes, high ceilings, and old world furnishings, all create a special journey back in time while visiting. We have been staying at this hotel for many years, and especially enjoy a stroll in the gorgeous gardens and by the outdoor fountains, or a dip in the outdoor pool overlooking the panoramic view of Florence. We look forward to our morning walk down through the olive groves and past the farm animals into Florence for our day of museums and churches.

We have especially benefited from helpful travel tips from the owner and staff and have found many art treasures off the beaten track through them.

Let go of all of your typical expectations of a hotel, and enjoy this exceptionally unique and elegant, tranquil and beautiful place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is a unique place to get away from it all. The Torre di Bellosguardo is something completely different. It dates from the 14th century. There are only 16 rooms, all of them different, and large, so it does not really feel like a hotel. Each one contains genuine antique furniture, comfortable beds, and good en suite bathrooms. All have a stunning view. Staff are unobtrusive, but you can have a light lunch by the pool in Summer (with produce from the vegetable garden) or in the Bar at other times.
The hotel does not have a restaurant so you have to go out to eat in the evenings, but there is an excellent restaurant at the bottom of the hill, or the hotel staff will recommend places to go in town.
The peace and quiet is really special as the hotel is set in extensive grounds of its own, and looks down on the whole of the city of Florence. The gardens are beautiful, carefully and skilfully landscaped and tended so that there is always something of interest, or in flower, whatever the time of year.
To get into Florence during the day you can take the ten minute walk down through the gardens - passing the hotel's lily ponds, hens, goats, and donkeys - to the Porta Romana, and either continue walking into the centre or catch a bus.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The views from the property of florence are really impressing. The gardens are large, so you can have beautifull walks. There are a lot of cute animals (donkeys, cats, rabbits, a parrot...). Atmosphere in the villa is very private, you can go everywhere, touch everything. It's like a museum without guards. The staff was very nice. The parking was free!

Not so good:
We explicitly booked a room with a view. And the room with metal-grilled windows had definitely no view. It was a side view into some green bushes.

During our stay there was a wedding party. All rooms except ours were occupied by wedding guests. So we felt the whole time a bit like uninvited guests. And at the wedding day the possibilities to use the amenities (pool, winter garden etc.) where limited.
It would be wise of the staff, to inform guests about weddings before arrival. So we would have had the chance to change our plans.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel offers a truly unique experience. The views of the city are superb, the hotel itself is a gorgeous historic residence, and the surrounding gardens are impeccably maintained and very private. If you walk in expecting that this is going to be another international luxury hotel with all the associated amenities, you may not "get" what it has to offer. That is, understand that upgrading, painting, renovating every fixture and surface would not add to the experience, it would take away from the experience. The facility is hundreds of years old, and that is exactly what sets it apart.

You will have a clean room appointed with a variety of antiques. The assistant at the front desk is helpful and courteous. Bear in mind that this is not a restaurant, and although they offer some food and beverage you should really plan to choose from one of the dozens of outstanding restaurants in Florence. And pick up some cheese and Chianti for light snacking. While it's easy to wish that the hotel provide full meals, that would also push up the cost of the rooms.

My wife and I would walk to town from the hotel (down a paved road shared with light traffic, or a dirt path in the back of the hotel) and cab it back to the hotel at the end of the touring day. Then we would usually do the same in the evening to go to dinner. So I think we were going through 25 euro a day on cab fare, but that helped us make the most of the day.

The pool was refreshing after a day of walking. Though I didn't visit other rooms I can say that the view from our room (Suite #6) was incredible. When i had jetlag and woke too early, I opened the shutters and watched the sunrise over Florence. Looking back on it now, the stay at the hotel was as much fun as touring the city, and my favorite photos are from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#83 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.