We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views, old world charm, rip-off breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great views, old world charm, rip-off breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Torre Bellosguardo is a privately owned, beautiful Medieval Villa operating as a discreet hotel. Don't come here if you expect in your face, 5 star service though.

Ambience wise, you feel like you are the weekend guest at a very special arisocratic home. There are very few staff around, and at times you feel like you own the place. The uniqueness and beauty of the surroundings will charm most people.

The biggest let down was breakfast. It is not included in the cost of the room and at 25 euro, is grossly overpriced. You could expect a better breakfast at a two star hotel and you probably wouldn't have to pay for it!!

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — breakfast too expensive and not good enough
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    78
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
142
260
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Bellosguardo - what a stunning location. This was let down by the overpriced rooms, most of which seemed as is they hadnt been invested in for years; and the unhelpful staff.

To pay 350 euros for a room I wouldnt then expect to be charged extra for a bottle of water left at the bedside, nor would I expect to have to pay extra in order to use the indoor swimming pool. Breakfast (at an additional cost I hasten to add) is comparable to what you would expect at a 2 / 3 star hotel - pastries and fruit in a basket. Staff made us feel as if we were an inconvenience (with the exception of the chambermaids who were delightful). The place also has a really nasty mosquito population.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

You feel like you have a castle all to yourself as it is very quiet and you hardly encounter other guests in this massive estate. The building is huge, filled with antiques and amazing architectural details. We had a large corner room with panoramic views of the entire city of Florence. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was typically European--a tub with a shower head, but not the typical wall shower Americans are used to. Breakfast was a nice spread of assorted pastries and jams. The tranquil gardens were immaculate and beautiful. Two minor drawbacks: a run-in with a scorpion in the bathroom (no one was hurt, and management sent someone to inspect the room afterwards) and a lackluster dinner in the bar. You will probably need a taxi to go from the city to the hotel (especially in hot weather), but the walk down to the city can be a pleasant 20-minute foray. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Liked — historic site, quiet, beautiful gardens, atmosphere
  • Disliked — dinner
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

From the moment we arrived on the property we experienced the breathtaking view of Florence below and before us was the grandeur of the hotel, serene outdoor pool and the beautiful grounds. There was a pleasant quiet which we knew would be relaxing in the evenings after long days of sightseeing. The hotel desk clerk greeted us immediately and showed us to the apartment.

The apartment is nestled in the villa sharing the hotel grounds. A lovely garden led us to the door. The apartment is bright and comfortable and offers a lovely terrace that doubles the living space. The kitchen was adequately equipped, the two bedrooms and two baths were very nice and the shared walk-in closet more than accommodated clothing of four women.

If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy after hours of touring Florence or surrounding cities, this is the place to stay. You can spend quality time in the gardens walking, reading, having an espresso or drinking wine…all of which we took full advantage. There are many places to enjoy on the property and beauty at ever turn. . The whole setting is idyllic. It is the perfect way to slow yourself down and appreciate your surroundings. Whether you are staying in the apartment or Torre di Bellosguardo, I can’t imagine any other place in Florence offering so much outdoor living space.

The hotel and tower are rich in history and the staff was more than happy to share the stories. We took a tour of the hotel and a couple of vacant rooms. Everything about the hotel was beautiful, the fresco on the lobby ceiling, the architecture, the grand doors…you feel as though you stepped back in time. There are many additional modern amenities for those who had need, but did not distract from the elegance of the hotel or grounds.

The hotel staff was more than accommodating in calling a taxi on days that we needed one, but most days we took the pathway on the property to Porta Romano to enter into the city. At the beginning of the path were miniature ponies and goats to greet us. The pathway, lined with olive trees, was quaint. And though the path was a bit steep, added to the adventure of exploring new territory. It was a 10-15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and adjacent Uffizi. With a map of the city, you will be ready to explore the history that surrounds you.

We truly felt the apartment was home. We loved going to the markets for necessities, wine and food. The local produce was wonderful and we couldn’t get our fill. When we were tired from sightseeing, we would hit the markets we passed during the day on our stroll home. We enjoyed every morning having an espresso on the terrace and almost every evening having dinner and wine there. Even the chores of doing dishes, taking out trash and recycling seemed less tedious in such beautiful surroundings. Everything about the apartment and the grounds made our experience in Florence the best it could have been.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery that surrounds Torre di Bellosguardo
  • Disliked — Can't say
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend with our twin sons and booked directly with the hotel. We were allocated a suite on the top floor overlooking Florence. (Room 14.) We didn't have the high ceilings of the first floor but we had the peace and quiet, being at the top of the hotel. The boys had their own beds made-up in the sitting room, so we all slept so well.

The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the city with absolutely glorious views of Florence, including the Duomo. The gardens and location are just superb and the palazzo itself is magical.

All the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful.

It has to be one of my favourite hotels in the world; I have travelled a lot and am also quite particular.

The bedrooms and reception rooms are full of lovely old pieces of furniture but don't expect perfection. The sheets are cotton and there was plenty of hot water but if you mind about creeking floorboards and the odd spider web - you would be missing a magical experience but would be happier in a five star in the centre.

Finally, if you do not have your own car, you will need to be prepared to pay for taxis. The drive into the centre is about 10 mins. (The walk down to the centre is not particularly special and totally exhausting walking back up!)

  • Liked — The view is sensational.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

This is an extraordinary experience, not a normal tourist hotel. Bellosguardo is an historic mansion on a hill overlooking Florence, which has been lovingly restored and furnished with period antiques. Our suite had an amazing view of Florence. The room was large and beautiful, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was luxurious. Breakfast was large and delicious (although not included in the daily rate).

Most days we walked into Florence. It takes about half an hour to get to the city center. In the evenings for dinner we would usually call a cab.

The castle has beautiful gardens, and our kids enjoyed exploring and discovering the cats, chickens, donkey etc.

We were there in winter so didn't try the pool, but noticed that it is spectacular.

Bellosguardo is a destination in its own right, a historic place which clearly reflects the love of its charming owners. It is all about atmosphere, and does not resemble a typical luxury hotel. If there was one conventional luxury we missed, it was an internet connection.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and view
  • Disliked — pricey
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

we have stayed in Florence over the years several times always in the centre of town and always just before or after the summer to avoid the great heat and crowds. Two years ago we were recommended this hotel by friends who are long time customers. The most obvious bonus of the hotel is the view which by our experience is by far the best over the city. The grounds also are very special, a calm oasis of tranquillity to return to after a whole day of plodding round town. We were probably expecting more luxury in the typical sense, with lots of staff and trendy details. Bellosguardo is not that. But if one can do without that and understand the spirit of the place then its a great stay. We hope our advice can be useful to those wanting to stay there. If you are looking for the hip and contemporary then it's not for you. But if you like the bucolic, old english country home charm, then coupled with the view and the impressive rooms, it is abosilutely the place for you! Prices by Italian standards are more than adequate.

  • Liked — the fact that you are in an authentic, historical set up, a real home as opposed to fake glitz
  • Disliked — stff can be gruff and offhand
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#68 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.