We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificant porperty but no five star comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Save Saved
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 459 hotels in Florence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Magnificant porperty but no five star comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

One of the finest places in Italy, but no restaurant within the compound nor in the near neighbourhood. You must expect closets with hangers almost two meters high, one mirror in the room, in a place without light etc.

If you don't mind that, you will enjoy the very nice staff and an exceptionally beautifully palace, with a breath taking view of Florence.

Given the shortcomings, the room fare is on the high side

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. If you decide to return we will make sure you are given a room suitable to your needs. I am sorry about your cupboard. It dates back to the Renaissance when they often did not pay the necessary attention to practical details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    60
    12
    14
    9
See reviews for
120
196
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have been coming to the Torre for over 20 years. It is still the most romantic, most comfortable, most inspiring location in all of Tuscany. The view of Firenze is unparalleled, the linens are luxurious, and you could not ask for a warmer or more charming host than Signor Franchetti. Graciousness naturally flows in his blood, just like the water features that flow through the exquisite gardens he designed. We make it a point to come back at least once a year for our "fix" of what Italy is truly about, beauty, passion, and love.

Room Tip: Foom number 5 is a perfect corner suite. Spacious, huge bathroom, and views all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
How can one answer a review like this? It warms the cockles of our heart to see you two return faithfully each year. May it last forever! We adore your company, your friendship and all those wonderful conversations which flow faster and more smoothly than the water you talk about. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We extended our stay here while visiting Florence, as this villa is absolutely stunning. From the fabulous view of the city to the charming magic of Bellosguardo our stay was perfect. The staff was truly outstanding as every need was taken care of and every request met with a smile. If you stay here you must spend time here, as the outside gardens and grounds are worth enjoying. We even passed on formal dining in Florence one evening to enjoy the gardens and watch the evening sun setting over Florence. Wine and cheese could have never been better. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a real pleasure and honour having you here and we hope you will decide to return one day. Thank you very much for all your positive and appreciative comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Torre di Bellosguardo is a charming villa and although built centuries ago with formal design, it is very warm and welcoming. The view of the city of Florence is absolutely beautiful and well worth being out of the city itself. The staff is helpful, personable and very pleasant - wanting to do anything & everything to make your stay perfect. Although the weather was delightful during out stay, the spacious rooms and common areas would be a great place to relax during inclement weather or for those looking for a quiet retreat. If you don't have enough time in Italy to visit both Florence AND Tuscany, I recommend that you stay here and enjoy the delightfulness of both at the Torre di Bellosguardo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
How right you are! So many tourists rush through treasures and do not find the time and above all the peace of mind to really absorb and enjoy what they see. Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a privilege having you here and hope you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for five days in this remarkable hotel overlooking Florence. A pampered experience. We loved the wonderful staff who took great care of us. They kindly left us to our own thoughts and made us feel welcome to explore this 12 and 15 century hotel. We spent hours walking and relaxing within the extensive grounds, swam in the pool, and had the opportunity to live as the nobles had in the past. The best view of Florence and a lovely unique space to stay. Bravo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for such kind and appreciative words. We loved having you here and all the stimulating conversations. Do return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed five nights in this remarkable hotel and felt we had moved back in time and could almost enjoy the wonders of Florence without leaving our Torre. But of course we did explore, we hope, every corner of Florence on foot. The magnificent view of the city from our Room 9 was never the same, always sensational, weather notwithstanding. The hotel was not full and the unseasonable wet weather made outdoor activities at the hotel proper unavailable, but nonetheless all was wonderful, including our breakfast buffet (a treat) and the evening meals delivered by a local trattoria. Hotel Torre de Bellosguardo cannot but delight every visitor. As it did the poet Dante.

Room Tip: Room 9, Upper level, was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy that despite the unfavourable weather you felt at home here and enjoyed your stay in Bellosguardo. It was a privilege for us to have you here and hope you will return one day. Thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I don't know where to begin in praising this extraordinary establishment. As soon as you pass the front gate, you are faced with an exceptional view of Florence (the best of my trip to 'Firenze' to be honest). The historic part of florence is simply at your feet. This place is a a real museum: the reception hall contains wonderful frescoes of acts of charity painted by one of the Medici's favourites artists. Rooms are very spacious, charming and full equipped. The staff is more than friendly and keep my stay even more pleasant with a high level standard of service. Finally, I had the chance to meet the owner who is a wonderful person with a finest humour and style. I will be back for sure and definitely recommend this unforgettable place !! The swimming pool is also more than perfectly placed.. but I unfortunately not came at the best period to enjoy it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
How kind and generous of you to write such an enthusiastic review. It was most enjoyable talking to you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel
Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#41 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.