We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Morges, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

There are pros and cons to this property and I will definitely try to give an as objective review as possible, for the sake of other travelers as well as the hotel itself, as a bit of constructive criticism should be helpful.

First off, the good: the property is beautiful, large rooms (probably double the space you would get in Florence for the same price). The feeling you're in a castle, with one of the most amazing views. The friendly service, the beautiful breakfast terrace, the gardens and pool (wish we had the time to enjoy those more), the cute parrot in the Orangerie (adorable!). The feeling that you're away from everything when you come back in the evening and everything is really quiet. No problem at all with noise coming from the outside as you might experience in the city center.
I also must say that the hotel is spotless. While the furniture and walls may seem a bit dated, as they have been carefully preserved, everything is perfectly clean, the sheets and towels are very good quality and have been changed every day during our stay.
I was thrilled underground secure parking was available, as we could leave our car securely there throughout our stay without extra charges and knowing it was safe.

The cooking classes, although expensive, are delightful. There are many courses to be cooked but the whole experience is very friendly and lighthearted that you don't even know when the 4 hours have passed. Lovely if you want to learn how to make fresh pasta or a proper risotto and Ana is such a great person to be around, clearly passionate about her food, that we definitely enjoyed it all tremendously.

Now, the bad (though as said before, this property is unique and wonderful; my criticism is to be taken as constructive as I do think a few tweaks would actually make it truly perfect): first, its selling point is also its biggest disadvantage - the location. While the hotel website claims it's only a 10 minute walk to the city center, I can tell you it's only a 10 minute walk for someone fit and only when downhill. The footpath is not really maintained and it's narrow and steep. Walking back is a pain to be honest and we opted for a taxi. The day we didn't find one though, we arrived quite breathless at the top and we are not old, nor out of shape. Just a word of warning: should you use taxis back and forth, it will knock you back around 10 euros each time and while it seems insignificant, it does add up. That's not to say the wonderful view and gardens are not worth it but is a word of warning to someone who doesn't enjoy walking as much as we do.
The second negative I will point out is the food: of course, when in Italy, you are spoiled for choice. Lovely gelato at every corner, espresso and bomboloni for 5 euro, amazing fresh pasta and pizza for a tenner. Taking this into consideration, the 20 euro buffet (per person) is not worth it, though it is OK quality and quite varied. You can have espresso, freshly squeezed orange juice and a cornetto with crema in the Piazza di Duomo for 8 euros. Unfortunately neither the "light lunches" or the dinner are worth the money either. I did not like that there were no prices anywhere and we ended up with a hefty bill for our first dinner - what turned out to be 2 plates of reheated pasta (in the microwave!), one main, one salad and one dessert, as well as 2 glasses of the local wine - 75 euros. We had no idea how much all of it cost until check out. You can definitely do better elsewhere, even at the Trattoria where it all comes from, as it will cost at least 30% less and will be fresh (the food is good nonetheless but the reheating takes away a lot of its texture and flavour).
Please be aware there are no prices for any extra service or product in the hotel: the olive oil and wine both cost 20 euros a bottle which is not particularly cheap and again, this is not mentioned anywhere.
No internet in the room is also something I did not particularly enjoy, though it is nice to disconnect once in a while. However, I think ensuring wireless connection everywhere in the hotel would be a great great add on and lots of guests would appreciate it.
My last tiny negative, I promise: as I had told the owner by email before our stay, we were celebrating both my husband's 30th anniversary, as well as us getting married. While I did not expect any freebies, I was hoping at least to have the option to upgrade to a bigger room or have a bottle of champagne and fruit in the room, for example, for extra cost. Nothing of the sort was proposed so we ended up celebrating elsewhere in Florence. No biggie, obviously, but it would've been nice to have been asked.

All in all? A great stay. Even with a few faults, it did make our stay in Florence really memorable and I must praise the personnel for always being polite and helpful. The hotel has a fascinating history and it is quite unique so I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had room 9 - amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very much for taking the time to write such a long and fair review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the good points of our hotel.
Regarding the criticisms we have taken note and will make every effort to improve. We are investigating the possibility of installing WiFi in all the rooms, not an easy or cheap matter considering the thickness of the renaissance walls, but we think it will be done. We think the price for the extensive buffet breakfast is fair. It should not be compared to a cafe downtown, but rather to other hotels. For instance we visited a 5 star one, noted that their breakfast was practically the same as ours and cost Euro 35 per person. We serve dinners here (clients are told that we do not cook the food) only to help clients who are too tired in the evenings to return to the city. It is not a profit-making operation, just an extra service.
The important thing, I think, is to understand that this is a labour of love only to save what is a unique property in Florence. Such a big building with such horrendous maintenance costs can never bring profit.Each year we carry out major improvements, yet never changing the atmosphere which we feel is the key to our success. We have maintained the same prices for over ten years, trying to provide free services such as the underground garage etc. I say all this not as an excuse (we are in the hotel business and must provide professional service) but only to make you understand our situation. Finally I understand your walking remarks. We do write to all clients that it is a 10/15 minute walk downhill.....
I am delighted you enjoyed my cooking class. So did I.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    84
    16
    15
    9
See reviews for
162
304
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you are going to Florence to be in Florence, don't stay here. The view was great, but this is not a hotel. Very creepy. Dark, deserted, and service-less. The rooms are outdated, the locks on the doors are outdated and not secure, no wifi in the rooms, bed was lumpy and uncomfortable, and and no restaurant in the building. We had a 5-day cancellation clause so we could not get out of the room. We paid for 2 nights and checked out after one. Scam. Do not stay here. This is not a 4-star hotel. We recommend something in Florence so you can fully enjoy the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
This is a very suspicious review. In the past months we have had no guests checking out early because they were unsatisfied. If this is not a hotel I would like to know what it is. One has only to read all the other reviews to form a true opinion of what we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is an experience not to be missed. My husband and I have stayed at a lot of nice hotels, but this one takes the cake. Do you know the scene in A Room With a View where Lucy (or was it Charlotte?) opens the window and looks out over the Arno? Well that’s nothing compared to the view from our room. The whole city of Florence was at our feet with the beautiful gardens of the hotel in the foreground. The hotel grounds are magnificent and we spent hours strolling around them. I felt like a guest at a private, tasteful 16th century villa rather than a patron of a hotel. The staff did everything possible to be helpful, pleasant and accommodating. A ten minute walk along a path to the city takes you through more gardens, fields with wildflowers (yes, red poppies), olive groves, vineyards and even a donkey. I will never forget it and I hope someday we are able to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guestr
A million heartfelt thanks for such nice words of appreciation. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here and so look forward to your return here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

what to say more than our staying here has been perfect? the property is unique: starting with the villa, with its 16 different rooms and suites, each perfectly furnished; the common spaces which preserve the real atmosphere of a 15 century's house; the garden so flowered and botanically rich, and - last but not least - the service, friendly and professional at the same time
Location is perfect , too: out of the crowdy town, one can benefit from the breathtaking view of Florence, both from the rooms, or the terrace, or the garden, or the swimming pool
Nothing more to say than go and try yourself. it's really worth!

Room Tip: all rooms are good because each has a particular atmosphere and personality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,
I cannot find the words to thank you. There is nothing more satisfying for us than a client who enjoys their stay here, who drinks in the beauty and silence of this place and who unwinds (difficult to do downtown). We hope to be able to welcome you back one day with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the villa which exceeded our expectations. We were very happy that we stayed up on the hill instead of in Florence itself which was very noisy and crowded. We had our breakfast every morning on the terrace overlooking the hills of Florence. It's a quick taxi ride to the sights, and it is even possible to walk. The view is spectacular, the gardens amazing. The villa itself has an amazing history.
The staff and owner are extremely helpful. We would definitely return here and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so happy all went well with your stay and that you enjoyed the peace and silence of Bellosguardo. We hope to be able to welcome you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this hotel/ apartment for a 10 day stay in Florence because it was on the edge of the city, part of but apart from the bustle, and because they had a small apartment suitable for a family that likes to fend and cook for itself.

Many of the experiences of the hotel and apartment exceeded our expectations: the view, the garden, the helpfulness of the staff, the great walks into town either through the fields or down the road.

The rustic charm and size of Casa Rosa suited our family well and Amerigo and his staff went out of their way to assist us.

Some surprises along the way for consideration are: that beautiful gardens and ponds have mosquitoes and although Casa Rosa was well screened ( singularly unusual for Italy), enjoyment of the fabulous south facing deck meant that proper preparations were required to avoid being bitten. No different to home but come or be prepared.

Also found that satnav had great trouble, not in locating the Hotel, but in providing a sensible route to and from it. Be warned and be ready for some interesting narrow road diversions. The good thing about the precipitous entry road is that the Hotel will never be considered for any tour group requiring a bus.

A tip for alternatives to walking up and down the hill to Florence ( which is highly recommended but sometimes you need a rest) is using a Taxi which is fast and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your kind words are most appreciated. Thank you. Yes, mosquitoes are annoying. Inside the hotel and in Casa Rosa one is protected as well as at the swimming pool where we have installed a mist system which keeps them away. Obviously we cannot do this on the entire hill...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second time at Torres Di Bellosguardo.
It is a wonderful place and the staff are very kind and helpful. It feels like visiting a family member in their castle. The grounds are beautiful and the views unmatched. What a beautiful and peaceful place from which to explore Florence.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - we were in room 3 which is off a room that connects to the lobby - it was lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was most satisfying to see you return to us and we hope it will one of many visits. Thank you so much for your kind and appreciative words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Cora
#6 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#15 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#19 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#9 Family Hotel in Florence
#11 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#94 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.