We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With a View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Di Bellosguardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Di Bellosguardo to your Saves list
Torre Di Bellosguardo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Minnetonka
2 reviews
“A Room With a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is an experience not to be missed. My husband and I have stayed at a lot of nice hotels, but this one takes the cake. Do you know the scene in A Room With a View where Lucy (or was it Charlotte?) opens the window and looks out over the Arno? Well that’s nothing compared to the view from our room. The whole city of Florence was at our feet with the beautiful gardens of the hotel in the foreground. The hotel grounds are magnificent and we spent hours strolling around them. I felt like a guest at a private, tasteful 16th century villa rather than a patron of a hotel. The staff did everything possible to be helpful, pleasant and accommodating. A ten minute walk along a path to the city takes you through more gardens, fields with wildflowers (yes, red poppies), olive groves, vineyards and even a donkey. I will never forget it and I hope someday we are able to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guestr
A million heartfelt thanks for such nice words of appreciation. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here and so look forward to your return here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    78
    15
    14
    9
See reviews for
142
257
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

what to say more than our staying here has been perfect? the property is unique: starting with the villa, with its 16 different rooms and suites, each perfectly furnished; the common spaces which preserve the real atmosphere of a 15 century's house; the garden so flowered and botanically rich, and - last but not least - the service, friendly and professional at the same time
Location is perfect , too: out of the crowdy town, one can benefit from the breathtaking view of Florence, both from the rooms, or the terrace, or the garden, or the swimming pool
Nothing more to say than go and try yourself. it's really worth!

Room Tip: all rooms are good because each has a particular atmosphere and personality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,
I cannot find the words to thank you. There is nothing more satisfying for us than a client who enjoys their stay here, who drinks in the beauty and silence of this place and who unwinds (difficult to do downtown). We hope to be able to welcome you back one day with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the villa which exceeded our expectations. We were very happy that we stayed up on the hill instead of in Florence itself which was very noisy and crowded. We had our breakfast every morning on the terrace overlooking the hills of Florence. It's a quick taxi ride to the sights, and it is even possible to walk. The view is spectacular, the gardens amazing. The villa itself has an amazing history.
The staff and owner are extremely helpful. We would definitely return here and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so happy all went well with your stay and that you enjoyed the peace and silence of Bellosguardo. We hope to be able to welcome you back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We chose this hotel/ apartment for a 10 day stay in Florence because it was on the edge of the city, part of but apart from the bustle, and because they had a small apartment suitable for a family that likes to fend and cook for itself.

Many of the experiences of the hotel and apartment exceeded our expectations: the view, the garden, the helpfulness of the staff, the great walks into town either through the fields or down the road.

The rustic charm and size of Casa Rosa suited our family well and Amerigo and his staff went out of their way to assist us.

Some surprises along the way for consideration are: that beautiful gardens and ponds have mosquitoes and although Casa Rosa was well screened ( singularly unusual for Italy), enjoyment of the fabulous south facing deck meant that proper preparations were required to avoid being bitten. No different to home but come or be prepared.

Also found that satnav had great trouble, not in locating the Hotel, but in providing a sensible route to and from it. Be warned and be ready for some interesting narrow road diversions. The good thing about the precipitous entry road is that the Hotel will never be considered for any tour group requiring a bus.

A tip for alternatives to walking up and down the hill to Florence ( which is highly recommended but sometimes you need a rest) is using a Taxi which is fast and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Your kind words are most appreciated. Thank you. Yes, mosquitoes are annoying. Inside the hotel and in Casa Rosa one is protected as well as at the swimming pool where we have installed a mist system which keeps them away. Obviously we cannot do this on the entire hill...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our second time at Torres Di Bellosguardo.
It is a wonderful place and the staff are very kind and helpful. It feels like visiting a family member in their castle. The grounds are beautiful and the views unmatched. What a beautiful and peaceful place from which to explore Florence.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - we were in room 3 which is off a room that connects to the lobby - it was lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was most satisfying to see you return to us and we hope it will one of many visits. Thank you so much for your kind and appreciative words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I loved the way we stepped back in time whilst relaxing in total luxury in this beautiful 16th century estate on a hill overlooking Florence.
Our room looked out to the seemingly endless red rooftops and the beautiful pool below.
Antique lovers will enjoy the authentic treasures and architecture which abound the entire structure. You really feel like you have discovered something unique when you return from a busy day in the museums, as your cab winds around ancient cobblestone roads bringing you back to your "home". ( one can pretend!)
The service was very accommodating, except for a small dinner mix-up, that had us going back out for food.
We are still talking about our stay and the memory is one we shall cherish forever.
Do not hesitate to book this place if you want a truly unique experience in the city of art treasures.

Room Tip: The rooms are very large, even if you do not book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a great pleasure having you in our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please accept our apologies for the dinner mix-up. It will not happen next time you come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brummen Holland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a wonderfull time in Torro di bellosguardo. Spring is the best time to visit florence. And the view from the hotel is magnificent. Its a very old and characteristic scenery, and the hotel team makes you feel at home. We certainly will come back to this beautiful place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belflorence, Owner at Torre Di Bellosguardo, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. Above all we want our guests to feel at home...the greatest compliment of all. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Di Bellosguardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Di Bellosguardo

Address: 2 Via Roti Michelozzi, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#9 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre Di Bellosguardo 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13th.century historical tower with extraordinary view of Florence, a stone's throw from the city, yet a country haven of peace and silence. Each room, very large, has its own character with antique furniture. Modern bathrooms and facilities. Vast garden with outdoor swimming pool. Extremely friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Torre Di Bellosguardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Bellosguardo Hotel Florence
Torre Di Bellosguardo Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Di Bellosguardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.